Universal Love The 2013/14 Pre-Season Training Megathread

• Thread starter Thread starter Crow-eater

Arusso without sounding pessimistic, dont all clubs at this time of the year win flags in Jan and Feb.

Im not saying your wrong with your comments, but I think the only time we can verify this is in R1.

I am sure the Crows were set for a flag in Jan 2013 too. ie. Burning in the stomach feeling from losing yet another prelim.

Probably for mine, there is three players I am most interested in Pods, Betts and Tex - that literally is a complete forward line makeup - ie reboot.

Obviously im not trying to pump anyone's tires up before round 1 and get ahead of myself too much. We've heard it all before with this player training well and that player smashing his PB's etc. At the end of they day players and reports can comment on however much they like, its the onfield performances that count.

However, at this stage of the year this is probably the best news you can receive. I was mainly impressed because of all the 45 players that Otten could have mentioned, 2 for me that really need big seasons. Not that they dont need to train hard and still put in the work, but you would half expect Grigg and Kerridge to improve through natural progression being very young still.

But Mackay and Wright, especially Mackay are hitting that middle ground now in-between youngster and senior player, and have been performing nowhere near their level. For me, all I want to hear is that they are moving heaven and earth to work themselves into decent form and deliver what so many of us expect from them. This is the 2nd time now Wright's name has been mentioned when asked about pre season training progress and can only be encouraging for supporters.

You guys are all forgetting that Poort are now the fitness kings of the AFL and a powerhouse of the competition! All hail Burgo! :oops:

Whilst I realise that you're post was just a crack at Port for the sake of it I believe that with our unexpected improvement last year that many clubs will have been monitoring and adopting many of Burgess' training methods and philosophies.

Clubs tend to shy away from copying a flash in the pan.

Hence why no one copied you lads after 2012 yea?

Do you really not have anything of substance to add?

I have no issues with Port posters coming in for discussion, if they add to the covo (See *PAF)

But you just come in with little jabs. Its boring. If i wanted Jabs, i'd read the Bay. Please add something to the convo, or stop posting

You guys are all forgetting that Poort are now the fitness kings of the AFL and a powerhouse of the competition! All hail Burgo! :oops:
Cast your blame Ricciuto's direction... I swear every single Port game he commentated on Foxtel he would say similar to this 5 times a quarter: "One thing about Port is Burgo has them super-fit..."!!!

Not meaning to blame Roo directly, but more the media in general, more than ever individuals/groups feel the need to find a tagline to sell to get people interested: Roo's catchphrase for 2013 seemed to be "super-fit", Brian Taylor "Woweee", Tom Harley "Try Swiss" ;)

Hence why no one copied you lads after 2012 yea?

I'm sorry, you seem to be a little confused. No Crows fans have ever suggested AFL clubs should copy us after one good season. Yet deluded Port Power fans are up in arms suggesting how everyone in the AFL *must* be copying them after that had such a good season finishing 6th.

Bahahahaha

AFC were mainly training outside when you were in Dubai & it was noted that Adelaide temperature was hotter than Dubai where you went for specialised heat training....

Noted where KMc... Advertiser/AdelaideNow? That might have seemed the case for the first couple of days, but is certainly wasn't:

- average maximum mean temperatures for the duration of the trip (Nov 25th to Dec 3rd): Adelaide 27.2 and Dubai 29.5

However, more often than not team train in the morning rather than the peak of the afternoon:

- average maximum mean temperatures at 9:30-10am: Adelaide 23.8 and Dubai 27.8

In conclusion Adelaide was not "hotter than Dubai" whilst Port was there. ;)

Roo was just trying to ensure he wasn't being seen as bias against you, so he over compensated by being TOO nice

He is a nice guy... a face for radio and a voice for slient cinema... but a nice guy none-the-less. :D

Goodness me Port plebs!!
Has your board been shut down???

Take it to the bay!!

Imagine if we brought this rubbish to your board. Cortina would have the yellow cards lined up!!

Edit - at least kaysee can be polite!!

I'm sorry, you seem to be a little confused. No Crows fans have ever suggested AFL clubs should copy us after one good season. Yet deluded Port Power fans are up in arms suggesting how everyone in the AFL *must* be copying them after that had such a good season finishing 6th.

Bahahahaha
We never said you should copy us either, we just said you were piss weak for getting out of the heat lol. You lot talked so much smack when we were in Dubai, yet when it actually heats up here you run for cover.

You are the ones that are suggesting that no one should copy us because it was a flash in the pan year. So I just thought I would remind you of 2012 and then the 2013 that followed for you :)

We never said you should copy us either, we just said you were piss weak for getting out of the heat lol. You lot talked so much smack when we were in Dubai, yet when it actually heats up here you run for cover.

You are the ones that are suggesting that no one should copy us because it was a flash in the pan year. So I just thought I would remind you of 2012 and then the 2013 that followed for you :)
You might want to remember which board you are posting on. People talk "smack" on Bay13. If they try it on the Port Board they are quite rightly shown the door in double quick time. Your posting in this thread would be much better suited to the Bay - it is completely inappropriate for you to be talking "smack" on the Adelaide Board.

Nah it's fine. Port poster talk crap on this board - it's let go. Say anything remotely cheeky on the Port board - instant red card. It only proves that the chip on the shoulder down at Port Power is as big as ever. And I love it!

Run for cover? Lol how was Port's session yesterday? Oh that's right they decided to call it off! Lol

And you're right, that Dubai 'heat' trip was such a good use of Port Power's very little money! Lol

And the irony of you suggesting 2013 is hilarious. Surely when Port have a charmed injury run and draw and can still only manage 6th on the ladder would indicate to a person of average intelligence that to climb to the top of Mt Everest proclaiming the brilliance of Port Power is ridiculous? Lol

Keep the lols coming mate! Lol

First time poster, long time reader. Just want to say that i love the preseason updates and pictures.

On another note FFS can this thread please get back on topic. F * ck!! Every thread i read it always goes completely off topic. Unfortunately i cant make it down to training so i rely on posters keeping us updated with there reports, which are great!

To the Port flogs, yes you had a great 2013, its 2014 now, let your season do the talking and be done with it. Go back to your own board and discuss with your own supporters, i really couldnt give two sh *ts if port was training in Dubai or Dublin. Good on your club for trying something different, maybe it works maybe it doesnt. I have to deal with enough port supporters when i talk to my mates about footy so leave me in peace and allow me to talk and read about my beloved crows