Mega Thread Trade Targets 2014

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

After his mid season purple patch was down on form but showed glimpses of his ability without really asserting himself. Had missed nearly half the season so still building his tank and getting used to carrying all that extra muscle. Definitely worth looking at, specially if the Ryder deal happens. Will leave Port with one too many developing talls.
Regardless of... I would at least expect the club to make inquiries about a young tall forward. Considering the number of WA born players we have in our squad and our reputation for settling players in to Melbourne. We seem to have the fewest number of people who have suffered from homesickness ever. We also seem to be able to get players to stay with us despite having big cash thrown at them.

No offence, but I don't think a change in coach is what he needed. More a change in club.
when_i_hear_a_burn_in_someone_elses_conversation-15967.gif

If only Vossy was still there

True.

Imagine "The Recruits" on TV, they'd be like

"Mate you traded a your first round pick and Lachie Henderson for a 29 year old p1sshead, I'm not listening to you!"

They just interviewed Macca on 3AW all about their year, their list, players discontent etc and mentioned nothing about Jaksch.

I find it hard to believe they apparently reported it during their non-sports program during the day & not during their 2 hour nightly sport show.

Regardless of... I would at least expect the club to make inquiries about a young tall forward. Considering the number of WA born players we have in our squad and our reputation for settling players in to Melbourne. We seem to have the fewest number of people who have suffered from homesickness ever. We also seem to be able to get players to stay with us despite having big cash thrown at them.
Except for Jacobs and Betts.

Okay so lets play hypothetical for a moment… these are the facts:

• Dangerfield and Sanderson had a close relationship
  • Danger even went as far last year to say "as long as Sando's here, I'll stick around"
  • There has been speculation Danger may go back to VIC when his 2015 contract finishes
  • Sanderson has just been sacked
This may have caused discontent with Paddy, and there have been several cryptic hints by F2G about us trying to get a deal done for a Crows midfielder who is the 'Pride of SA' for some time, and has been multiple mentions of big things happening next year.

So if there's somehow a chance Paddy demands a trade following today's events… and we're chasing hard (which I'd imagine we would) - what would we have to cough up? On salary and potential needs basis… I'd suggest the following:

Warnock (2nd ruck), Robbo and our first 2 x picks (6, 26) for Danger, Lyons and their 3rd and 4th picks (44, 64)?

We would make out like bandits if that trade went through. Getting rid of 2 unwanted players and only giving up picks 7 and 26 and getting an AA midfielder in return plus more seems amazing.

Okay so lets play hypothetical for a moment… these are the facts:

• Dangerfield and Sanderson had a close relationship
  • Danger even went as far last year to say "as long as Sando's here, I'll stick around"
  • There has been speculation Danger may go back to VIC when his 2015 contract finishes
  • Sanderson has just been sacked
This may have caused discontent with Paddy, and there have been several cryptic hints by F2G about us trying to get a deal done for a Crows midfielder who is the 'Pride of SA' for some time, and has been multiple mentions of big things happening next year.

So if there's somehow a chance Paddy demands a trade following today's events… and we're chasing hard (which I'd imagine we would) - what would we have to cough up? On salary and potential needs basis… I'd suggest the following:

Danger is going nowhere.

gonna need Rockliff in a straight swap.
if only crazy vossy was around, reckon he would have jumped at it

Rumours ive read
Kreuzer to Collingwood? No Chance
Garlett to Collingwood? Mmmmm would rather keep tbh
Blease to Carlton? Oh please no
Tapscott to Carlton? Doubt it highly
Robinson to Brisbane? Mmmm dont think they will take the punt

Clint Jones? Dear God No!

The Swann/Lions rumour is interesting.

I doubt they'll be as generous with Robbo as they were with Docherty. We can ask for their 2nd rounder but I doubt it'd be forthcoming. So how about:

Robinson = pick 43 + Jack Crisp ?

Crisp is a 20yo 190cm utility from Myrtleford. He hasn't had much footy but played the last 6 matches, with an average of 18 disposals and 5 marks. 3 goals against Adelaide.

Great idea going for Danger but we not only need mids with class but we need a tall for and tall def.

The Swann/Lions rumour is interesting.

I doubt they'll be as generous with Robbo as they were with Docherty. We can ask for their 2nd rounder but I doubt it'd be forthcoming. So how about:

Robinson = pick 43 + Jack Crisp ?

Crisp is a 20yo 190cm utility from Myrtleford. He hasn't had much footy but played the last 6 matches, with an average of 18 disposals and 5 marks. 3 goals against Adelaide.
My Brisbane supporting mate reckons Crisp is going to the Bombers. How about Aish, so he's closer to home. Rumour is that that he wants out anyway.

I just read the article about Blease officially requesting a trade. Worded exactly like the statement when Laidler left last year.

Get him as a DFA. He's no chance of staying @ Melbourne.

My Brisbane supporting mate reckons Crisp is going to the Bombers. How about Aish, so he's closer to home. Rumour is that that he wants out anyway.

Don't mind Crisps but couldn't imagine Brisbane letting their youngsters go. Surely Aish will be tied up, if he hasn't already, long term? Brisbane won't be taking unders again to let younger players return home, and rightly so. Like the stance that Lethal has stated.