Preview Changes vs Geelong

What I am getting most from all of this, is how inflexible our midfield group and and 1st choice rotations are.

We expect our talls at either end to play multiple roles, but ours mids are so easily pigeon holed in to inside, outside, runner, big body, clearance, tagger, semi tagger (run with)... That's the most disappointing and baffling part to me, why we don't or can't teach our boys to be effective on multiple roles.

Even Kane struggled so badly with it under Primus. Rightly or wrongly, he was asked to play a different role and struggled.

Exception: Robbie Gray, Wingard.
Two different body types guys carrying an extra 10 kilos across the shoulders aren't likely to be great on the spread repeat runs are are going to wear you down. Outside players not likely to be able to have the muscle in the arms or core strength to be useful close in. Then you get the guys that are in between can do a bit of both, bye and large they just get in the way. Boak and Brad being notable exceptions. Most of the time it's a better idea to work to a players strength and find a place in the structure for mine. Just avoid having them in no man's land.

Outside player out. Outside player in. Thats all it comes down to. Trying to keep the winning team together.

Im shocked Hoon has been named but will back him in.

Ditto

I don't think Moore is being punished for anything like the missed goal in the prelim or the umpire suspension, it just appears that he's fallen too far down the pecking order and will probably be assessing his options for 2016 and beyond.

Ok, I've calmed down now. From a long term perspective I'd much rather Colquhoun in the side than Mitchell and I sincerely hope he does really well.

Still picked us to win by 63 points in the podcast.

I don't think Moore is being punished for anything like the missed goal in the prelim or the umpire suspension, it just appears that he's fallen too far down the pecking order and will probably be assessing his options for 2016 and beyond.
The year is far from over though let's hope he doesn't drop his bundle as quick as some posters on here do.

If we lose this game it won't be because we picked Colquhoun over Moore, AhChee or Krakouer.

Let's also not underestimate how impressive Colquhoun was in his first year. The search for a Polec replacement in the second half of this year is very much on. Personally, I'd back the Krak in the most, but Hinkley may have other ideas.

From a team balance perspective, I think the positions up for grabs will be fought out as follows:
1. Small pressure-act forward-mid: Sam Gray vs Neade vs Mitchell
2. Sixth centre-square midfielder (favoured sub): Young vs AhChee vs Moore
3. Link-up wingman: Colquhoun vs Amon vs Krakouer - the latter allows flexibility with Pittard and Broadbent to move to the wing if he plays at HB

Then there's Clurey as the replacement for Trengove, and Stewart for Ryder.

Based on this, I'd be surprised if we see Young, AhChee and Moore in the same side unless we are missing one of the top 5 centre-square mids.

we must be the only supporter base that has a player come back from a 12 month knee injury only to be greeted with a sea of whinging.

Maybe cause we are the only supporter base that seen our team drop a fit player to bring in a guy who missed nearly 2 years of footy and seen his disastrous it went.

I am super excited to see Sammy back in the side! .... could be aa massive in if he finds his previous form.
He was coming along two years ago. But then had a long injury, and apparently indifferent form with the Maggies. This is really pushing what you can expect from previous form. I can't see how anyone can be super excited about this based on what th^e average fan knows.

Anyone who has seen how much paddy has been limping even this week would know he is nowhere near right to play - I highly doubt that he is back until after the bye at the very earliest!!

As for Jacko, he was sprinting around the boundary this morning and looked pretty good, but if the medicos haven't signed off on him fully then there is no way KH will risk him... He will play next week I reckon!!!
Saw Paddy walking around west lakes today holding his baby, didn't seem to be limping at all.

Preview Changes vs Geelong