Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

Fair enough...

But I'd like some evidence to back up your assertion that he is 'full of it'...please direct me to some scholarly/academic/evidence-based articles or essays that support your claim.

As far as I can tell his monograph, book chapters and journal articles seem to be backed up by pretty robust evidence.
I'm more than happy to debate this via PM, it'll probably get a little to controversial for here.. But for starters Waleeds guilty of re-imagining the past. when he stated 'most of the middle east problems started from how the west divided it up' is a gross misjudgment of the tribal nature of the region. personally I'm not sure if he doesn't understand the shifting nature of warring tribes, the realpolitik involved within this groups or wants to go back to the ottoman empire. either way it happened 100 years ago and is complete blame shifting away from internal problems.

I'd just like to make the point that I've said some pretty cranky things throughout this thread and if I've implied that any particular individual in here is a racist, that wasn't my intent.

This is obviously an issue that generates a lot of passion but I don't know any of you personally and it's not my place to make a judgement call on anyone.

I still vehemently disagree with some of you but I'm going to do my best to tone the hostility down a touch.

Why bother? They deserve your scorn.

I would love this .....

This would mean it stops forever .....

THIS NEEDS TO STOP ......THE CAPTAINS AGREE BEFORE THE GAME to stop it of it goes on ....

The players come together in the circle ......stand for five minutes .....do nothing

This would send the message .....it stops now

Better the crowd boos the Swans from the start as they come out.

Or the crowd does not even bother to turn up

Sorry but what other aboriginal player gets boo-ed?
Adam has been target by racist supporters because he has been outspoken on indigenous issues. That's why people are booing. They cannot handle an Indigenous man who is not afraid to speak up.

There are players accused of rape, and others with assault convictions that get a better reception than Adam. Why aren't they getting boo-ed?

A third cousin in aboriginal culture is the same as a brother

They were here for 16,000 years mate

Do you know what culture means ? Yes all aboriginal people are part of that culture .....

you know absolutely nothing and are embarrassing yourself.

And mate, they have been in Australia a lot longer than 16,000 years.

And who said apart from you he was standing up for anyone but Goodes?

Really you should log off an have a bit of a think about your silly posts.

Good point. Not a smart move antagonising the crowd. What if one or more drunken (or otherwise) peanuts decided to jump the fence and have a go? Or maybe throw stuff in response? This is why the AFL stuffed up in not sanctioning Goodes at the time.

This whole thing has just continued to roll downhill gathering speed and mass as it goes.

It has to.

Seriously AFL HQ, take your head out of your ass, if this happens in country footy someone could get murdered and AFL HQ would have blood on their hands

Yeah, Williams was a biatch who smacked players under the packs. It wasnt a secret. That was booing for a reason and it's clear what it was.

Of course. Williams was not just a bloody good player, he was a prick.

But there isn't a clear defining line as to whether you're allowed to be booed. Goodes has decided to enter the political arena, which surely he would know is going to piss some people off (particulary given he's made statements that are at least controversial). Are people allowed to disagree with him? Are people allowed to say 'screw you Gillon, you're not going to tell me I can't boo a particular player' and boo him then? How much staging does he need to do before it's OK to boo him? How many tribunal appearances?

If you're going to say stop booing, then you can't single Goodes out. If you do then it's only going to encourage people to boo him.

His people? So aborigines are one homogeneous mass?

His culture? So Desert Mob culture is the same as Qld or Vic mob culture, again one homogeneous mass.

Think you better talk to your indigeneous mates as you seem to be clueless

Nah the clueless ones are the Palm Island coppers who kill indigenous people in custody, Palm Islanders come from multiple tribes
but were put there by stupid governments and are told by the authorities to get along or else.

And guess what? He thinks you're a moron to continue booing Goodes.

If he can get over it maybe the redneck fans can stop sooking too.

WTF? You nimrod, I don't boo Goodes, never have, probably never will, although now I am sorely tempted to. It is squealing biatches like you that inflame the whole racist thing, firstly by accusing all those of booing as being racist and now by accusing people of booing Goodes when they haven't.

Firstly I'm offended by being labelled a redneck, secondly by being called a sook by a whiney sqealer who doesn't even bother looking for context when quoting.

Adam has been target by racist supporters because he has been outspoken on indigenous issues. That's why people are booing. They cannot handle an Indigenous man who is not afraid to speak up.

There are players accused of rape, and others with assault convictions that get a better reception than Adam. Why aren't they getting boo-ed?

You mean like how nobody ever called Steve Milne RAPIST every single game for ten years?

I see your point

If he does decided to retire this year, when he does his lap at the G on grand final day (assuming his not playing) I really hope he gets the applause he deserves. Would be very disappointed if he still got booed then, especially if my clubs supporters were doing it.

Not sure too many boo a player or team that has just had their pants pulled down by 10 goals a second year in a row so think we have no issues there ;)

Edit: Not sure too many pay much attention to the lap anyway for retired players, aint most in the toilet or bar or outside smoking?

A third cousin in aboriginal culture is the same as a brother

They were here for 16,000 years mate

Do you know what culture means ? Yes all aboriginal people are part of that culture .....

That's a vast simplification. More like 50000 one way or another.
They were across the country in something like 500 extended family groupings and about 200 language groups.
Typically one group could speak the language of the groups next to them but not generally any further out than that.

There were/are commonalities to their cultures in a broad sense, but to say they are all a part of one big culture is false.
I don't know how far out a cousin can be and still be considered a brother, but in some cultures at least your close cousins on your fathers side were considered as brothers, and any uncles on your fathers side were also your father.

He's been the only one booed with such vengeance and vigorously ....

Name someone close ......sorry it has racist overtones
Honestly I boo PAFC's Matty White every time he gets near the ball. Can't stand the bloke. I'll admit I even say things like 'karma' whenever he pings a hammy.

I can understand that others might feel that way about Goodes, he has done some awful staging, some of the worst acting I've seen on a footy field.

Not necessarily racist, media are a disgrace for suggesting so, but riling people up generates the clicks, so not unexpected from them.

His people? So aborigines are one homogeneous mass?

His culture? So Desert Mob culture is the same as Qld or Vic mob culture, again one homogeneous mass.

Think you better talk to your indigeneous mates as you seem to be clueless
Did you really just say that ?

Do you honestly believe you have a greater authority because you may have more aboriginal friends

Like I said before, slow down and stop jumping at shadows.

Yes because I talked to them ...I work with them also ....

I'm a drug and alcohol counsellor and I see racism all day ....I've even been abused for helping them when I sit in parks helping kids addicted to sniffing fuel.

So maybe just get out of your little white picket fence house and have a look ...

I have studied in the area also. I have 15 years experience working with aboriginal people from homeless shelters to drug and alcohol counselling. I coached an aboriginal basketball team and work closely with Clontarf in wa to help support young aboriginal males

I go on camps with David wirrpanda foundation youth and help counsel them

.....do I need to go ?

I have pretty sound knowledge of their culture and the effect it would be having on him.

You have no idea what it's like to be abused because if the colour of your skin and deep that cuts someone and you probably will never know.

I didn't call them racists ...however I feel many are doing an activity that has racist undertones to it

You can tell the difference between what he cops and say a player get booed because he hits one of your players .....

The tone, the length and anger in the booing is plainly obvious to see when Goodes gets the ball

It's interesting 150 years ago we thought it was ok to shoot aboriginal people dead if they looked at you funny
100 years ago we didn't employ them or pay them, and we took their land of them
70 years ago they still were not allowed to drink in a bar .....
60 years ago we stole their children Away from their mums and dads
50 years ago or so we didn't let them vote
And every January 26th we celebrate the day we came and started killing them on mass and developed the white Australia policy from that ...I call it invasion day

It then took us another 50 odd years to finally say sorry we did all these things to them ........howard couldn't do it

Don't you think we maybe just are in debt to them on the ledger side of things and just maybe we need to cut them slack a bit hey....like be nice to them considering Our people,literally tried their hardest to kill of their race

But no ......we somehow again try to seek power over them because their skin colour is different or they behave differently

No other white player had ever been booed like this ever .......Like every contest every week

And it's extremely sad to see and just maybe if you saw what I see everyday in my role helping these people then you would feel the same ....in our office of twenty people we all agree it's racist tones to the booing .....I'm not calling them racists fans ....their behaviour has racist overtones to it.

I will never understand why white people try to suppress aboriginal people ....I know why they do it .....

We fear people that look differently to us

Not sure why you went into that mate, by the way, my mother was born in Asia. So get of your high horse about white people to me.

If he does decided to retire this year, when he does his lap at the G on grand final day (assuming his not playing) I really hope he gets the applause he deserves

He will. Unlike many on here I believe that the majority of booers were not doing it to racially vilify Goodes. Now that the issue of his suffering has been made public those that booed him will get a severe reality check and correct the error of their ways, promptly sending him off in a way that is fitting of his champion status. Call me an optimist.

If he does decided to retire this year, when he does his lap at the G on grand final day (assuming his not playing) I really hope he gets the applause he deserves. Would be very disappointed if he still got booed then, especially if my clubs supporters were doing it.
Would be very bad. Now he's played the quit card, it's likely they'll have to use the PA system for a while until Goodes uses it again, then the player timeout.

It's not going to go away easily I think. Especially if Sydney starts winning.

Of course. Williams was not just a bloody good player, he was a prick.

But there isn't a clear defining line as to whether you're allowed to be booed. Goodes has decided to enter the political arena, which surely he would know is going to piss some people off (particulary given he's made statements that are at least controversial). Are people allowed to disagree with him? Are people allowed to say 'screw you Gillon, you're not going to tell me I can't boo a particular player' and boo him then? How much staging does he need to do before it's OK to boo him? How many tribunal appearances?

If you're going to say stop booing, then you can't single Goodes out. If you do then it's only going to encourage people to boo him.

The whole boo in defiance thing. It's something I don't understand. It's like saying I put all my beliefs and feelings into a boo and if someone says I can't do it it's like my whole reason for living has been restricted. Footy is not that important.

She looks pretty scared to be honest. Lucky Phil wasn't there, no telling what he would have said/done.
Probably something like ...

"Do you still throw spears at each other?" Said in 2002 to a Indigenous Australian businessman, as quoted in "Prince Philip's spear 'gaffe'" BBC News ( 1 March 2002)

Cyril has said he doesn't like it ....so your opposing the view of your own players

Are you replying to the right person mate, I hate booing as well. I can't stand it, go back to the West Coast game day thread and have a look at my posts BEFORE the Jetta incident. I just think it is a bit rough calling anyone who boos a racist.

You have no idea what it's like to be abused because if the colour of your skin and deep that cuts someone and you probably will never know.
Never been called a gringo or a gueilo then?

Yes because I talked to them ...I work with them also ....

I'm a drug and alcohol counsellor and I see racism all day ....I've even been abused for helping them when I sit in parks helping kids addicted to sniffing fuel.

So maybe just get out of your little white picket fence house and have a look ...

Then those people are ****ing assholes.

Are you replying to the right person mate, I hate booing as well. I can't stand it, go back to the West Coast game day thread and have a look at my post BEFORE the Jetta incident. I just think it is a bit rough calling anyone who boos a racist.

It has racist undertones ...are the people racist .....no ...maybe the odd few after beers which can disinhibit people

Milne was never booed?

Or does that not count because he's White and was booed.