Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

Hardly makes you Sherlock Holmes there mate.

Makes you MAAAAAAAAAD that someone would have the GALL to disagree with you hey , doesn't it ?

But no idea how you came up with THAT after the quoted post though.
Makes it seem like you have an agenda.

Some limp-wrister sooked yesterday to the mods that i was bringing politics into this thread and reported my posts so i'll respond in kind.

Calm blue ocean, calm blue ocean....Call Goodsey, he'll know what to do.;)

This video highlights how kids are taught from family values about black v white

It's an American video however if we did that here ...it would actually be worse

I use this video to educate people when I run drug and alcohol information nights and how racism is ingrained often by people's values from a very early age .....

Adam Goodes has experienced racism

Do you seriously think he would be missing games if he didn't feel it was racism .....

I have been deeply saddened by views of people in this country in the last week or so

We were uplifted by the outpouring of PHIL Walsh and how people supported him......

I have challenging though for you to think about ...if PHIL Walsh was black would we have seen the same emotion

I have said so many times I this forum Racism is our national shame

We have one in four men committing domestic violence .....so if one in four men are bloody angry with family and partners then what bloody chance do we stand when it comes to racism

We need to open our hearts and understand what racism is and it attacks to core of someone's world

Anyways watch this video

And have a think about why those kids are Pointing to the black dole or white dole

What the **** does Phil Walsh have to do with Adam Goodes.

It's a PR stunt by the clubs. Players probably don't even care.
No the players association has made a statement on behalf of the players and all 18 captains have made a similar statement. Independent of the clubs. The racists have lost. Its over. Go to the footy and just enjoy it.

Interpretative dance wasn't an option? You man the final imaginary straw in your fevered mind.
He is the one who decided to make indigenous round about him. He could've gotten all the aboriginal players together from his game before/after the game and done something but instead he insulted the fans

What the **** does Phil Walsh have to do with Adam Goodes.

Read the question ?

Close your eyes and imagine if Walsh was black would we have seen the same out pouring of emotion ?

Or I'll ask it this way

If Adam Goodes was white would we see the booing?

I think many know the answers but they are too scared to admit it .....

Don't pretend like it is some big political statement.

People are booing because they don't like Adam Goodes. This Booing is achieving nothing, except being a massive blight on the game, and making Aussie Rules supporters look like a bunch of rednecks.
So banning booing has nothing to do with freedom of expression? er...what? :drunk:

...and afterwards said in a recorded interview that it was "political correctness gone mad." He may have been ejected from the stadium but for some reason he felt that was an appropriate thing to yell at the football. Now he doesn't. We've all learned something today.

So we've identified one racist nutjob, who rightly was named and shamed, and punished for specifically vilifying him. Therefore booing him is also racist?

The two don't line up.

You just said the racists have lost....suck it up princess.

What other interpretation of that post is there?....What do you think about it mods?
Well I think you are being a little precious here champion. I didn't call you anything. But are you a racist? Fair question. Free speech and all that. Well are you or are u now applying the right to privacy? So many rights such little time.

Wow and not 1 person quoted them ? who
I think it's simple. The crowds first started booing when Goodes kept playing for free kicks and whinging to umpires, they then intensified the booing as he spoke out saying white Australian's are racists and then the final straw was the imaginary spear into a crowd who can't do anything to him in retaliation other than boo him.
yeah it's horrible when you are frightened by an imaginary spear and difficult to know how to retaliate to protect yourself adequately

Read the question ?

Close your eyes and imagine if Walsh was black would we have seen the same out pouring of emotion ?

Or I'll ask it this way

Why don't you close your eyes and imagine if Grimace was orange?

Not sure. Is it cool to boo him when he incites the crowd with a celebration spear? Or it that also vilification?

I think we all know he'll not address the issue beforehand (same as war dance) and let the chaos land where it does. It's win win for Adam with more special treatment. And a lose for both the fans of this sport and the AFL. And they say he is not a self-serving individual?
Who'd know.
Maybe the Swans fan who are so au fait and politically correct could enlighten us as to what we can and cant do lest we go home covered in egg !

And no idea where i'm " playing the victim "

Isn't that what all these people trying to justify their racist booing are doing ?
Well how bout answering the question, where did you get the information 50% of Australians support and the other 50% disagree the reason Goodes is being booed is because of racism.

It was not a rhetorical question mate was genuinely interested in the answer.
I think we both know you were more interested in your angle than my answer.

Goodes was doing a goal celebration like many sportsman do around the world to crowds, e.g. in soccer/football some players shush the crowd. The media blew it up just as is occurred which didn't help. After he explained it was a dedication to an under 16s aboriginal team (on indigenous round) that should've been the end of it. But the booing intensified greatly, therefore logically there is a racial element and it has happened every game since.

IT WAS A DEDICATION TO THE UNDER 16s!!! GEEZ no need to BOO or be outraged or uncomfortable. Now that it is known he sees it as being racist and it's affecting him that way, if you continue to support the booing you are flat out being a ****head. There is very little sense in justifying your "right" or "reason" to boo as if you are the one being outraged by the situation.

Imagine if it had been a 25 year old woman, or a 35 year old man? Can you tell me at what age/gender profile it would have been approriate for Goodes to behave the way he did?

Regards

S. Pete

I reckon he could've got a much better result doing it in front of the cheer squad, pointing at the ferals in there, instead of picking out a young girl

Plenty of 25 - 55 yr olds in there, who no doubt bombard a lot more taunts at him.

With instruction from the AFL to stand united on this issue. I'm guessing there would be many players that think he is a flog and couldn't give two ***** about him. They are hardly going to break away from pack publicly though are they? I personally won't be buying into the propaganda
No your players made a wonderful stand before any other club. And full credit to them. They are a team on the rise. By the way I hope they annihilate Hawthorn. So we agree on something I hope.

Read the question ?

Or I'll ask it this way

No.....Most would say you are lost in obfuscation & complexity.

Well I think you are being a little precious here champion. I didn't call you anything. But are you a racist? Fair question. Free speech and all that. Well are you or are u now applying the right to privacy? So many rights such little time.

It's pretty obvious that you so desperately need me to be in order to feel justified.....I'm Sorry to disappoint your presumptions precious.