cryptor
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
Bennell has got the radioactive Beau Dowler head going on.

How many did Renouf end up playing? 1 flag, less than 20 games surely?Absolutely spot on.
With the eradication of the sub rule next season, a large focus will go on players ability to run out games.
Thankfully the Hawks have planned for this with 3 aerobic beasts on our team - Hill, Smith and Hartung (possibly even Hardisity) - all elite runners.
Expect these 3 to be in the same team for a lot of 2016 and beyond, running teams ragged.
And anyone knocking Hill need to remember he is 22 and has already exceeded all expectations. The chances are he has a lot more upside to come - a scary proposition for opposing teams.
And while we're pumping up his tyres here, surely Hill has the highest premierships to games ratio in the history of the game - 3 flags in 75 games - a flag every 18.75 games!
unfortunately more than 20 I thinkHow many did Renouf end up playing? 1 flag, less than 20 games surely?
Tatupu would quite well fill the big bodied forward roll, he is coming along very nicely and I reckon will blossom well!Pelchan interviewed on SEN this morning says that Hawks need a big bodied forward and an inside midfielder.
I agree with him.
Roughead --> midfield
Schoey --> forward
Next?[/
wasnt Woodward the inside mid replacement? & Anderson can play inside. I like the Roughy idea full time!I do not think much of the Pelican but he is right with the inside midfielder. Next few years our stars will be retiring Mitchell and Hodge so we have to recruit a couple of inside midfielders especially big bodied players if we can land any.
wow, 68. that's shameful that he got so many during the "poor" years of 2009-2010unfortunately more than 20 I think
Tatupu would quite well fill the big bodied forward roll, he is coming along very nicely and I reckon will blossom well!
I'm with you but he can't kick from what I've been reading.Schoey is the forward now - Rough Schoey and gunston means that big forwards are no longer a problem at hawthorn.
Inside midfielder hmmmm - I really like Cam Ellis Yolman from the crows. In his first proper season and given a go he showed a bit. Would come alot cheaper than Bennell Aish etc and is alot tougher. The problem with any midfielder coming to Hawthorn is trying to get a game
iI am in agreement with you.
Running off the ball to create space for others is a thankless task. Dragging a defensive structure to allow others to penetrate a defensive zone is critical in todays footy. And when the opposition refuse to run with Hill, he gets on the end of easy goals.
His role isn't to crash packs. People need to accept that.
think ppl have forgotten that Hill gets a defensive player most weeks to quell his influence. If he is off the chain he can kill a side in a half of football. His role looks to be make space & hurt them on the rebound. I wouldn't be trading him at allI am in agreement with you.
Running off the ball to create space for others is a thankless task. Dragging a defensive structure to allow others to penetrate a defensive zone is critical in todays footy. And when the opposition refuse to run with Hill, he gets on the end of easy goals.
I poked that bear on the GC Page... LolAnyone get the feeling we want another tilt at silver ware next year and will go hard for a free agent or two next year?
What do you reckon Jaegar?
He will be worth every dollar. That hanger he took in the GF shows he is a different player now. Lots more confidence/aggression than the whipping boy he was.I guess we will have to use up quite a bit of more salary cap space to re-sign Schoenmakers
Totally agree "BB".He will be worth every dollar. That hanger he took in the GF shows he is a different player now. Lots more confidence/aggression than the whipping boy he was.
Shhhh.The significant proportion of people on this board that underrate Hill this badly is criminal.
If you actually understand the way we play, you would then not sandbag Hill and how important his role is to our squad.
I am in agreement with you.
Exac
i
think ppl have forgotten that Hill gets a defensive player most weeks to quell his influence. If he is off the chain he can kill a side in a half of football. His role looks to be make space & hurt them on the rebound. I wouldn't be trading him at all
Think he has a bit xfactor, nothing like Cyril. Small forward who can run through the mid field. Had a cracker of a game against Tassie this year. Worth a punt if he is still available late.One of Cyril's younger cousins is in the draft this year, Daniel Rioli. What do people think of him? pretty sure he's a midfielder too.
Brad Hill is a triple premiership player at 22. Just stop and think about that for a minute. He has played his role as asked. Sometimes he is locked down sometimes Smith is locked down but you can't do both.
The interchange rule changes next next will mean guys who can stay on the park longer and perform at an elite level will be at a premium.
Talk of trading Hill just smacks of someone who knows nothing about football.
(oh and there is plenty of scope for all three of Hill, Smith and Hartung playing in the same team.

He's put on a lot of weight this year. Was pretty much just skin and bone last year, which no doubt with the injuries put teams off him.Looks a little undersized.
I see this type of trade as nothing more then trading for the sake of trading, hypothetically speaking or not.Having to resort to an ad hominem just smacks of someone insecure about their own football knowledge.
Stop and think about the scenario postulated first in initial reply before misinterpreting the whole premise.
It's who would be the best to use as trade bait out of our group of players to get the best possible player in return and Hill was suggested.
So it doesn't have squat to do with how Hill/Hartung/Smith could fit into the side. They have done so in the past and I'm sure they will in the future should they still all be here.
It's who would be best able to attract the best off for the club on the trade table. Walk through it:
It's not those that are going to retire soon, it's unthinkable and they have next to no worth to trade.
At the other end of the scale, the project players are far back, needed and aren't worth much currently.
It can't be the guys like Gunston, Shiels, Smith, Bruest, Rioli etc, they're the spine of the club going forward.
That doesn't leave a lot of players, especially when you consider guys like WhiteX and Suckling can walk come Free Agency. It's only players in positions where we have a bit of depth. Guys like Woodward, Spangher, Litherland aren't best 22, so they're not going to get the best deal.
That leaves someone like Hill at the top of the pile of players remaining. Someone who plays that outside run role which we already have good stocks going forward and have plenty of cover should he be traded. Objectively, however important he seems, he's not a player who's projecting to be a top player from his draft class like Tyson, Coniglio, Adams, Wingard, Mitchell, Smith, Greene, Neale all are.
Thus the original position stated.
I don't think it's a likely trade scenario the club will make, certainly not unless they go hard at someone really good, but this is a discussion thread between people on the internet with exactly 0.000000% bearing on any real outcome. It's all hypotheticals.