• End of 2017

• End of 2018

• ASAP

• Extend his contract

Results are only viewable after voting.

Hurn coming out in defence of Simmo on AFL website, blame the players he says not the coach. Greatest cop out ever as the players know they won't get sacked. Laugh a minute at the Eagles.

Unless he instructed them to stop trying to win contested ball in the fourth quarter I don't see why the players shouldn't wear the blame.

Time to rename the thread from "Gentlemanly" to "Lets make Buckleys critics look like saints".

We all should have known we were in trouble against Collingwood because that was the tripe we have been producing all year and this club as a whole is dead man walking at the moment and I reckon the players know as a group, their opportunity has passed them by.

Simo seems like a nice bloke, but his coaching record is being tarnished by terrible team selection (yes I know he isn't the whole match selection committee) and players that have been for some time, queried as to their ability to step up when the game is on the line.

There is a long hard rebuild coming and a future contemplated without Kennedy at FF, is not pleasant.

On the upside, we are still not Freo (just).

Agree - with the exception of your last sentence. Freo have huge upside and potential. They will be a flag threat in 2 seasons.

Unless he instructed them to stop trying to win contested ball in the fourth quarter I don't see why the players shouldn't wear the blame.

They totally should and decades ago they would of, they get paid no matter what so there really is little penalty.
Hurn didn't ring up the media this morning and ask if he can make a statement. the club told him to read it and he did.

Has anyone heard any goss on what Hodgy is getting up to next year?Sumich as coach with Hodge and Mitchell assisting? i could live with that.

For a fleeting instant against Geelong I thought Simpson had seen the light! Went man on man all over the ground, we poleaxed a couple of players and Shuey nearly got suspended for dropping Dangerfield like a sack of shit. But ever since, apart from when injuries forced some structural changes against the Dogs its been back to that wavy arm tackle-free shit. Does my head in.

They totally should and decades ago they would of, they get paid no matter what so there really is little penalty.
Hurn didn't ring up the media this morning and ask if he can make a statement. the club told him to read it and he did.

He didn't read a statement, he sat and answered questions from the media.

Plenty of senior players have spent time in the WAFL this season and hopefully there'll be a couple of names added to that this week, so they shouldn't feel too secure.

simmo is still quite young, as is a lot of the coaching team

may be time to get a coaching director like Roos, Craig or Malthouse to provide experience and expertise

also delet Gepp

In reality every player wants to play. It is the coaches job to identify that they can't hack it and also make sure they are aware that " anyone is replaceable" regardless of their reputation or WAFL form. Simmo talks about blooding young players. I have a question, what about shwoing some ticker and dropping big players who don't perform. Drop GAFF, Drop Priddis, Drop Hurn so they know that thy are not protected species. Why won't he do that?? It is simple. He either thinks they are performing well ( major concern) or he has no power to drop them( even bigger concern).

Hurn was in our best yesterday and won the Glendinning Medal the previous week. Gaff's been in good form and had one down week when he didn't battle through a tag. If he wants to make a statement at selection there's better options.

Logged in to comment this exactly. I get the passion and the disappointment, I feel it too - but some posters on here go to the same players time and time again. A few weeks ago Hurn warranted criticism and had been in a down patch, but his last 2 weeks have been great and he has been a good leader.

What disappointed me was Gaff was really, really down yesterday and I didn't see one player get stuck into Greenwood, get in his way or help Gaff at all. I am not one of the believers that Gaff is useless in our team, I think he is critical to the run and link-up we need and it would have been nice to see some support for him.

Logged in to comment this exactly. I get the passion and the disappointment, I feel it too - but some posters on here go to the same players time and time again. A few weeks ago Hurn warranted criticism and had been in a down patch, but his last 2 weeks have been great and he has been a good leader.

What disappointed me was Gaff was really, really down yesterday and I didn't see one player get stuck into Greenwood, get in his way or help Gaff at all. I am not one of the believers that Gaff is useless in our team, I think he is critical to the run and link-up we need and it would have been nice to see some support for him.

I agree, every team must have good outside mids and Gaff is that to us. His only downfall is his skills however. To be an outstanding outside mid your kicking must be exceptional and his certainly is not. Which leaves him as a guy who gets it heaps but doesn't hurt the opposition.

Sumich would be a disaster IMO, just another step backwards edition to the boys club.

The whole board needs a cleanout from the top down i reckon. Gepp needs to be ****** off and the new senior coach needs to be able to do his job without having one hand tied behind his back FFS.
The interesting thing is the board have actually had quite a lot of turnover over the years - it's actually pretty dynamic. The problem is they run it like the business people they are.

That being said, I actually find it quite staggering that a board that proactively turns itself over has allowed the management to remain so stagnant. And that's no comment on the influence of those people on on-field performance (although I think Gepp should be a million miles from the coaching box) - it's just an observation.

Are you really saying this was Gaff's one down week?? really?? Gaff has been down most of the season. He has been good on couple of games all year, mainly the dogs game where his disposals actually reflected his input. The rest of the season he has been pretty bad close to shocking.Just because he has 30 touch games does not equate to having good games mate.

Agree to disagree, mate.

He hasn't been at 2015 AA levels but he hasn't been close to being dropped either.

As I said before. If it happens on the rare occasion fair enough.

But this is a regular occurrence even in our wins over the dogs, port, Geelong and to a lesser extent Freo twice

#fadeoutsareus

Lol so soft chatter is prominent in the media this week. Cant wait to come out with intensity and tackle hard for a game against the lions and then meekly surrender to the saints in a fortnight

Reading this board these days has got to be more infuriating than when West Coast lose, especially this week.

Simmo is not the problem here. Yes maybe he could be "inspiring the players more" or "injecting some hardness into the team" (whatever that all means) but he is not the reason we lost that game.

If anything what he is implementing is getting us into a position to win and at times we look a million bucks but then the players go full Fremantle potato and lay down.

As it's been said earlier by I believe HoneyBadger35, Simmo did not miss that sitter like Yeo did, Simmo did not decide to play on whilst being in tackling distance of a Collingwood like Duggan did, Simmo did not forget to lay a shepherd for Barrass on the last line of defence like Hurn did etc etc etc. These are not coaching errors and for those of you who like to complain about anything and everything the club does and had a problem with Hurn saying that "it was the players not the coach" then uppercut yourself then delete your account.

I have no issue calling for players heads etc but to be honest most of you are not acknowledging the real problem.
The group as a whole don't have the desire to achieve, throwing out 2-3 won't help as their is still a vast majority out there with no desire to climb the mountain. It has been shown time after time that being close is good enough for this group.
I am starting to feel a bit for Simmo simply because he has to try and coach this group, they are the most soft willed group of people I have ever seen.
Woosha couldnt do anything with them and now Simmo. Another pattern there.
I think there is huge issues at the club which need fixing but the management of the club will not fix them.
So yes I agree lets bring in new players and get rid of under performing players but it seriously will make little difference until a coach and management team that rules with an iron fist is introduced to lead this club.

Could this be a result of lack of respect for the coach/MC/gameplan among the players perhaps? Surely some of our players must notice the writing on the wall for some of their fellow team mates. Take the Bulldogs game for example. A good win in Melbourne only to see some young guys who played well be dropped for the likes of Priddis and Lecras. Surely that creates some disharmony within the playing group.

He also said before mentioning players names that he hadn't received the East Perth report yet - so he was rattling off names off the top of his head. Calm down.

That's Crap he knew exactly how East Perth went and how the players performed. You telling me he didn't have the report straight after the game which was at 2.15pm on Saturday...yeah right he's the senior coach and if he didn't have the report straight after the game there are some serious problems.
How long is this bloke going to keep giving us all lip service and actually make a decision on the old timers. If he doesn't play the kids this week I'm gonna spew up

Could this be a result of lack of respect for the coach/MC/gameplan among the players perhaps? Surely some of our players must notice the writing on the wall for some of their fellow team mates. Take the Bulldogs game for example. A good win in Melbourne only to see some young guys who played well be dropped for the likes of Priddis and Lecras. Surely that creates some disharmony within the playing group.

Who were these young guys who were dropped?

Cole hadn't trained due to an ankle injury, the others who went out were Butler (inj) Masten and Redden.