Gaff - does he stay or go? Let me set the scene..

I wouldn't think Swallow would be our #1 priority but seems a more likely target then someone like Coniglio who looks pretty set at GWS.

He would improve our midfield and if he came at the right salary then it would be remiss for the club not to at least look at it. If his manager is looking at the huge pay day then tell him to take a hike.

On current output he's pretty similar to Redden, but with a definite potential upside that his game could go to another level at a better club. Not many junior players have been rated as highly as Swallow, however we all know that doesn't necessarily translate to success at senior AFL level. But given the struggles with player development at the Suns, there's a definite chance the problem lies more with the club then the player in this instance. But at 25 years of age and having been in the Suns system for almost a decade the slide into "middle of the pack" performances might be permanent for Swallow, whilst (virtually) missing two seasons with injury doesn't help anyone.
If Swallow requested a trade to us at the end of this season, would you be happy if we gave GC back their second-rounder (pick 20-21?) in return? That's roughly on par with what we gave up to get Redden, who was 24 turning 25 at the time. Swallow is 25 turning 26.

It's a crappy thing Gaff has accidently done, to limit the clubs chances at finals and GF, but it will be even
crappier if he leaves on top of that...sort of a compound pile of crap?
maybe he planned to hold off signing, hoping we win a GF, then he'd leave with a medal and more currency.
He seems to have a lot of integrity, maybe he won't go.

I don't see it as an integrity thing.
If he was planning to leave prior to last weekend, is changing his mind and staying here out of obligation really a good thing? Doesn't strike me as a healthy mental state for someone to lock themselves into for a few / several years. I'm guessing his play would slide if he saw his next contract as penance.
(Hopefully he wants to stay obviously and it's a moot point)

I think he'll stay and have been confident for a while.

I do think the media and in particular the Victorian media is overplaying the 'Gaff will be looking over his shoulder card' if he stays in Perth. It's just not that rough these days.

The way he and the Brayshaw's have handled it has been superb. Most will see it as unintentional and completely out of character, disturbing and yet not in the same league as the Hall incident for example.

Gaff appears contrite and was distraught from the beginning. He's a quiet, fair player and it will be hard to direct too much animus at him.

But god the petty shite coming out between the two WA clubs is pretty ridiculous. Time for both clubs to grow up.

I think he'll stay and have been confident for a while.

I do think the media and in particular the Victorian media is overplaying the 'Gaff will be looking over his shoulder card' if he stays in Perth. It's just not that rough these days.
Of course they are. The shit Terry Wallace said was crap. These people are just rooting for the story and Gaff leaving is more sensational than Gaff staying. "Oh he was run out of Perth by a crazed mob with pitchforks". They have a giant stiffy for that.

Totally.

Just testing. You passed this one.
He should sign on for two more years and if he leaves aged 28 as a UFA, so be it. I can live with that. But him leaving now would suck. In two years he'd be the same age Sloane is now, and there was no shortage of clubs trying to woo Sloane this year.

From people i know word is Gaff is gone to St kilda has been wanting to go for 2 years... hope they are wrong
Also remember Gaff being interviewed last year when he said he loved West Coast as a Club and wanted to be a one Club player. I know things can change however so we will just háve to wait and see.

Simmo looked really happy in todays presser... hes got not a lot of reason to be that happy this week unless maybe gaff told him hes staying with us for good! :think::D

:spaceinvader:

Whatever happens, I feel that leaving now could be forgiven for Gaff. If he does go he will be one of the few players that has left that I won’t boo when he plays us.

I just feel for the poor bloke, he will take a while to get over this. Even though I thought the penalty was upped by a couple of weeks due to the media frenzy, would he really have been in a state of mind to play again this year anyway?

Nice to see Andrew Brayshaw interviewed last night too. Glad his jaw isn’t wired shut as was being reported all week.

Do you think if he stays we can get a discount?

The nic nat discount, and the potential Gaff discount, means our 'salary cap pressure' is now a 'war chest'.

If Swallow requested a trade to us at the end of this season, would you be happy if we gave GC back their second-rounder (pick 20-21?) in return? That's roughly on par with what we gave up to get Redden, who was 24 turning 25 at the time. Swallow is 25 turning 26.
Not for me. I'm just not that into Swallow and suspect he has limited games left in him and dont think he brings much to the group that we dont already have. I would rather use our pick 21 to back up the past couple of years drafts with a quality young mid and it would appear there will be some good ones on the table this year.

I would be happy to use the Gold Coast pick to get Kelly if we could. I know Geelong would consider him worth more than that but if he is set on returning to the west that would be the best they could get unless Freo gave them their first round which would be about #5.

Hard to say.

I think he was probably leaning towards staying, but this will push him the other way.

He's currently spending time with family and friends in Melbourne, in a few days will return to WA and will endure copping shit from flogs on the street/in social media for the next 2 months while he considers his future. It will make Melbourne seem pretty rosy in comparison.

Do you think if he stays we can get a discount?

The nic nat discount, and the potential Gaff discount, means our 'salary cap pressure' is now a 'war chest'.
Why would we get a "discount" ? He has let himself and the club down but give us a discount ? Jesus I read some funny stuff on this site.

To suggest Gaff is going to cop shit on the streets is BS. Keyboard warriors wouldn't have the balls to say anything to his face. Majority of the state loves him and the remainder feel bad for the shit he's copped. A very small percentage of heroes would claim they hate his stinkin' guts but they'd drop to their knee's if they ever ran into him. It's flipping footy m8, I HATE Ballantyne on the footy field but off the field he's a stand up dude.

I reckon we would get the pick after the one aligned to our finis=hing position. The one we are giving to Gold Coast, hopefully pick 18 which would make the compo pick #19.
Pretty sad considering if he was being traded you would want a top 5 pick and maybe a player or a pick upgrade

on another note, we should think very carefully about who get no.3 if Gaff does leavre...

I say retire it, number is cursed...

Mainy - For obvious reasons I won't delve in to
Judd - Left us out in the cold at the end of 2007
Gaff - If he goes, will quite possibly the most infamous "exit" from a club ever...

I don't see it as an integrity thing.
If he was planning to leave prior to last weekend, is changing his mind and staying here out of obligation really a good thing? Doesn't strike me as a healthy mental state for someone to lock themselves into for a few / several years. I'm guessing his play would slide if he saw his next contract as penance.
(Hopefully he wants to stay obviously and it's a moot point)
He can also leave with integrity..am not blaming him, it's just a crappy situation, but will get sorted and
everyone moves on. Staying if you don't want to stay is counterproductive to all involved surely.
But god the petty shite coming out between the two WA clubs is pretty ridiculous. Time for both clubs to grow up.
I saw and read the press on this-Duffield and Basil Brush & co...it made me angry - they're responsible for stoking the fire then they come on all holier than thou..they help blow up the rivalry and every incident, then criticise it as another angle to make news headlines and keep themselves in a job. just sheer hypocrisy.
I really hope they get hit with a court action one day. gutter press.

Also don't think Gaff would cop a lot of flak on the street if he stayed..everyone has or will make up and move on, Freo got it's pound of flesh, the press will move on to the next sensation.

Gaff - does he stay or go? Let me set the scene..