Rumour Homesick 2018 Top draftee rumour

• Thread starter Thread starter davywap

Only solution is to increase rookie contracts to 4 years where they are locked in and then give the team that drafted them a chance at offering them the most money when the extension comes up.

So you’d like pick 60 something to be on your list for four years when it turns out he’s a total spud and will never play a game? No thanks.

I’m in two minds about the issue. Agree that wanting to be home with Mum is a bitch move and would love to see some clubs show some balls and send ‘homesick’ players back to the draft.

On the other hand, they only get one career and it’s a bloody short one. I wouldn’t want to spend a day of it playing in front of 15k when I could be on the G in front of 50k most weeks, 80k other weeks and maximising off field and endorsement opportunities. If I were a young player at a minnow club I’d probably make up an excuse to leave for a big club to maximise my experience as an afl player too.

So you’d like pick 60 something to be on your list for four years when it turns out he’s a total spud and will never play a game? No thanks.

I’m in two minds about the issue. Agree that wanting to be home with Mum is a bitch move and would love to see some clubs show some balls and send ‘homesick’ players back to the draft.

On the other hand, they only get one career and it’s a bloody short one. I wouldn’t want to spend a day of it playing in front of 15k when I could be on the G in front of 50k most weeks, 80k other weeks and maximising off field and endorsement opportunities. If I were a young player at a minnow club I’d probably make up an excuse to leave for a big club to maximise my experience as an afl player too.
Last two years are team options, exactly like the NBA. For later picks like pick 60 that you could have all years of the contract are team options.

Vast majority of Victorian players say that they hope to be picked up by whatever Vic team is closest to where they're likely to go - everything from the King camp has been really positive. Plenty of noise he's going to extend for another 2 years soon as well
Not sure whether it means much, but Ben King was still doing interviews with the Dogs the day before the draft - I'm 100% convinced we were planning on grabbing him if Bailey Smith was gone (as some had expected might happen). He probably was hoping we'd pick him up, but is just as likely to have settled in well at Gold Coast. Hope any homesick rumours are untrue because it's not good for the health of a nation-wide competition when the young guys keep getting so desperate to go home

LOL at anyone advocating a team in Tasmania. Could you imagine the difficulties with player retention there?

He's sad but he still wants money so he can't just quit, He will use the system until he gets what he wants.

So bloody what... if he is good enough he can use the system however he likes.

For every 1 player that gets what they want, there are another 20 that get used and abused by 'the system' and spat out the other end.

Love the jelousy within this thread, all just because someone got an opportunity (that they worked for and had the talent for) that they themselves weren't afforded.

I love how often 'you're just jealous' is used as some counterpoint on bigfooty.

'Matt Taberner is rubbish; he can't take a pack mark unless he's at the back, he's soft, he gets no possessions, he's ineffectual, he shows no passion.'

'You're just jealous you're not 200 centimetres tall on $400,000 a year despite not even being elite at your job.'

It's like errrr who the **** wouldn't be jealous of being paid very well to keep fit, to run out in front of 40,000 people, to have an easy time with girls, a house probably paid off, every arvo free... ffs it's the most numpty argument.

So bloody what... if he is good enough he can use the system however he likes.

For every 1 player that gets what they want, there are another 20 that get used and abused by 'the system' and spat out the other end.

Love the jelousy within this thread, all just because someone got an opportunity (that they worked for and had the talent for) that they themselves weren't afforded.
Agree. That's my stance.

I didn't get homesick, but I had to learn how to cook and how to iron shirts.

At nearly 30 I’m yet to master that second one. How do you stop the creases you iron out on one side just appearing on the other?

Buy new shirts. The art of this is to keep wearing the old ones until there's a sale at Rivers.

LOL at anyone advocating a team in Tasmania. Could you imagine the difficulties with player retention there?
Once you come to Tasmania you never leave. Great beer wine and cider. No traffic. Great beaches and every weather condition you could ask for. Lol. Living affordability is insanely good. Average working people owning their own house before 35/40. Blundstone arena and UTAS stadium are arguably some of the best grounds in Australia. I know the crickets fans amongst us believe so.

There is also a huge amount of Tasmanian’s already playing AFL that would come home instantly.

Lachie Weller
Jeremy Howe
Jack Reiwoldt
Ben Brown
Toby Nankervis
Tom Bellchambers
Jimmy Webster
Alex Pearce
High Greenwood
Brodie Mihocek
Mitch Robinson
Liam Jones
Jake Kolodjashnij
Kade Kolodjashnij
Jackson Thurlow
Chayce Jones
Aaron Hall
Grant Birchall
Maverick Weller
Robbie Fox
Tarryn Thomas

It would make a strong backline atleast. Midfielders a bit light but I’m sure the check book could help.

Once you come to Tasmania you never leave. Great beer wine and cider. No traffic. Great beaches and every weather condition you could ask for. Lol. Living affordability is insanely good. Average working people owning their own house before 35/40. Blundstone arena and UTAS stadium are arguably some of the best grounds in Australia. I know the crickets fans amongst us believe so.

There is also a huge amount of Tasmanian’s already playing AFL that would come home instantly.

Lachie Weller
Jeremy Howe
Jack Reiwoldt
Ben Brown
Toby Nankervis
Tom Bellchambers
Jimmy Webster
Alex Pearce
High Greenwood
Brodie Mihocek
Mitch Robinson
Liam Jones
Jake Kolodjashnij
Kade Kolodjashnij
Jackson Thurlow
Chayce Jones
Aaron Hall
Grant Birchall
Maverick Weller
Robbie Fox
Tarryn Thomas

It would make a strong backline atleast. Midfielders a bit light but I’m sure the check book could help.

Big call to say they’d go home immediately mate

So would Ricky Ponting move back too you reckon big Richo? Garry Lyon?
Very different prospects as they all work in media. But if there are media opportunities in tas for them with a new Tassie team then they may move back. The players obviously different as playing for tas is their job. The media peoples jobs don’t allow for them to live in tas. Ponting regularly commentates for Fox in tas for big bash. I’m pretty sure he still lives in tas. Or atleast has a home there.

So would Ricky Ponting move back too you reckon?
Very different prospects as they all work in media. But if there are media opportunities in tas for them with a new Tassie team then they may move back. The players obviously different as playing for tas is their job. The media peoples jobs don’t allow for them to live in tas. Ponting regularly commentates for Fox in tas for big bash. I’m pretty sure he still lives in tas. Or atleast has a home there.

Ponting lives in the affluent suburbs of Melbourne after living in Sydney while playing cricket for Australia.

I love Tassie but I think you were being overly parochial in your post