Preview Changes & Pre-match Discussion - Round 7 vs. Geelong - Optus Stadium (WA), 8:10pm Thur 16/07

Hopefully it is just ribs for schazza, and we see come straight back in.
Good to see noble still out, can’t have him in the side with Varcoe and Quaynour

Hopefully it is just ribs for schazza, and we see come straight back in.
Good to see noble still out, can’t have him in the side with Varcoe and Quaynour
Ribs are awful. Can't cough, can't laugh, can't get comfortable or sleep properly for weeks.

The biggest concern for Shaz is that Mayne may do his role as well as him and we may get more drive from whoever slots in to Maynes role.

So....? Cox regularly has 10cm+ and 20kg+ on his opponents and he still regularly gets out positioned and out marked, Sicily last Friday night is a good example. Given the conditions and Ratugolea's capabilities I don't think it would be a problem. Scharenberg was routinely playing on the taller and bigger opponents during 17-18 when he was playing as our CHB, so it's not like he hasn't done it before.

Dane Rampe, Josh Gibson, and Matthew Scarlett are some examples of players Scharenberg's size who play/played on bigger opponents. Then you have players like Blicavs and Dustin Fletcher who have the ability to play on players much smaller than them. There's a lot of factors and attributes considered when determining player match ups, going by size alone is far too simplistic.

Not many of those blokes are as slow as Shazz is though?

No mention of Appleby. [emoji19]

Missed a lot of footy, maybe his fitness isn’t as they’d like yet.... or maybe it was just wasn’t a comprehensive list of the players in the mix.

Jane Bunn just said the game likely to be affected by rain and thunderstorms.

If so, we might see late change with Cox out I reckon.

Should Picked him in the 1st Place

Hmmm, I can see why they would drop
Schaz. I feel we will still be too short in defence.

They could easily move H.Taylor forward and our defence would be significantly undersized, especially with Cox not playing too.

They could easily leave Taylor in defense and ours would be too tall if we worried about that potential.

The reason certain players might inexplicably fall out of favour is sometimes an internal decision we may never get the full story of. Scharenberg I can't see why he hasn't quite developed to full potential yet, probably a combination of rotten luck with injury and being a jack of all trades but master of none... good at everything on a footy field but not great at anything except decision making but footy is a physical game first and foremost and maybe the expectations on him due to his high draft position has put undue pressure on him as a mid sized,slowish defender. I hope he finds some luck had it before his knee collapsed running back towards goal that game. May refind it, who knows. There's only so many positions on field.

I remember when we Drafted Schaz that being Jack of all Trades but Master of None was my Biggest Worry as how Versatile he is.

The Main Reason he not come on as he had 0% Luck with Injuries

I remember when we Drafted Schaz that being Jack of all Trades but Master of None was my Biggest Worry as how Versatile he is.

The Main Reason he not come on as he had 0% Luck with Injuries

He's got the footy smarts mate, I think his position on the list is very stable as he is a fine player just needs the right match up. How you been anyway mate?

Ribs are awful. Can't cough, can't laugh, can't get comfortable or sleep properly for weeks.

The biggest concern for Shaz is that Mayne may do his role as well as him and we may get more drive from whoever slots in to Maynes role.
No way on earth does Mayne play 3rd tall/intercept defence to anywhere near the standard of Scharenberg. Hopefully it’s only one week out, Shaz deserves to retain his spot on the back of some solid form.

I either don't rate Shaz as highly as you or I rate Mayne higher. I'm pretty confident if it came down to a choice between the two, the coaches will choose Mayne. He'll be more clumsy, but there are things Mayne will do better.