List Mgmt. Carlton's 2020 Draft Thread

Nov 3, 2020
Sandringham Zebras, Melbourne Renegades
The latest rumour by Forty3 seems logical.

"Showing a lot of interest in Jacob Wehr, hard running HBF/Wing from the SANFL. Elite left peg, exciting prospect that got to play a full year of footy in 2020."

Wehr = Simpson replacement.
Saad = SPS replacement

Potential backline

Plowman Weitering Wehr
Docherty Jones Saad (Kemp/Marchbank)

Williamson plays on the wing and SPS moves to a half forward/mid rotation.

I don't know, it seemed pretty clear by Amos that SPS would be staying mainly on the HBF. Also, Marchy and Newman are coming back from injury, so I don't see a need for Wehr.

Weiters, Jones, Plow, Marchbank, Willo, SPS, Newman, Saad, Doc and Williams all capable defenders, plus on top of that Wehr? In my opinion, shouldn't we be looking at a KPP or small forward instead?

OhioCatsfan

Host - ayankonthefooty.com
Sep 18, 2019
Sandusky Ohio
Recently, I sat down with Terry Dehghani, long time Blues supporter, and host of the Blue Abroad Podcast and Youtube Channel. We had a great talk about the Blues trade period, draft prospects and the 5 year plan coming to fruition. I invite you to take a listen, and hope you'll consider sharing it with your fellow Blues supporters. A Yank on the Footy Episode 64

I don't know, it seemed pretty clear by Amos that SPS would be staying mainly on the HBF. Also, Marchy and Newman are coming back from injury, so I don't see a need for Wehr.

Weiters, Jones, Plow, Marchbank, Willo, SPS, Newman, Saad, Doc and Williams all capable defenders, plus on top of that Wehr? In my opinion, shouldn't we be looking at a KPP or small forward instead?

Even though that may be the current idea, things can change quickly.
It wouldn't need much more than Docherty to say he'd prefer Marchbank or Newman alongside him, and there we go.

I wasn't a huge fan of Newman, but he does know how to find the ball, averaging over 20 possessions per game.
Given he'll now have Saad there along with Williams and Wlliamson at times, it all looks different.

I just don't see a need for SPS in the backline any more, but we have a whole pre-season to find out what's likely to come about.

Sep 2, 2017
Recently, I sat down with Terry Dehghani, long time Blues supporter, and host of the Blue Abroad Podcast and Youtube Channel. We had a great talk about the Blues trade period, draft prospects and the 5 year plan coming to fruition. I invite you to take a listen, and hope you'll consider sharing it with your fellow Blues supporters. A Yank on the Footy Episode 64

Who was interviewing whom?

Could also be an indicator we’re losing Walsh from the wing rotation to play on ball permanently and looking at Wehr for a wing role?

Sin, how do you think our midfield will set-up next year?
Who do you see being the first use centre-square mids. 4-5 players?

Cripps - Setterfield - Williams - Walsh - ECurnow?

May 29, 2009
LA Lakers
Sin, how do you think our midfield will set-up next year?
Who do you see being the first use centre-square mids. 4-5 players?

Cripps - Setterfield - Williams - Walsh - ECurnow?
I’d say you’ve nailed it with those guys.

Last season I liked having a three man wing rotation but hated only really using a four man on ball rotation. Needed to use our forwards in there a lot more, had four players doing the work of 6-7 and it wasn’t like we had a bunch of Milne type specialists in there anyway, guys like Cuningham, Gibbons and Fisher are quite capable rotating through the midfield. Cripps, Murphy, Setters and Ed were absolutely rooted by the end of the year.

Personally I would keep Walsh on the wing for a few more years, especially now that we have Williams but I don’t think I’ll get my wish and he has performed well on the ball. I’m just a bit worried after seeing Josh Kelly start off with such a bang but now he looks too hindered by injuries to reach his potential, they might’ve gone a bit too early with him.

I was encouraged by some of the interviews with Barker, Bruce etc referring to Cuningham, Fogarty, Fisher playing forward but rotating through the midfield. Really hope it happens and could be the key to us running games out stronger. Can only help our full time mids as the games and the season goes on.

I’d say you’ve nailed it with those guys.

Last season I liked having a three man wing rotation but hated only really using a four man on ball rotation. Needed to use our forwards in there a lot more, had four players doing the work of 6-7 and it wasn’t like we had a bunch of Milne type specialists in there anyway, guys like Cuningham, Gibbons and Fisher are quite capable rotating through the midfield. Cripps, Murphy, Setters and Ed were absolutely rooted by the end of the year.

Personally I would keep Walsh on the wing for a few more years, especially now that we have Williams but I don’t think I’ll get my wish and he has performed well on the ball. I’m just a bit worried after seeing Josh Kelly start off with such a bang but now he looks too hindered by injuries to reach his potential, they might’ve gone a bit too early with him.

I was encouraged by some of the interviews with Barker, Bruce etc referring to Cuningham, Fogarty, Fisher playing forward but rotating through the midfield. Really hope it happens and could be the key to us running games out stronger. Can only help our full time mids as the games and the season goes on.

Well said and not just because I agree with all of it, but for the depth of detail.

You are right and in particular with Cripps, as it was evident he wasn't right yet still carried the bulk of midfield duties.
Kennedy was employed to a small degree but there wasn't much back-up beyond that.

ECurnow is unlikely to be moved out of the midfield any time soon as we're still relying on him......maybe a little too much?
We have to start spreading the load a little more and have to get the likes of Dow engaged.

Coona Blues

Director of Coaching
Nov 3, 2011
Bundaberg, Qld
Tasmania
The last two players we drafted that weren't mentioned in anyone's mock drafts were Cameron Polson and Finbar O'Dwyer.

Also, can we please have a poll for our preferred small forward in the second round? Assuming Laurie is off the board, we can choose one of the following:

Isiah Winder
Jack Ginnivan
Corey Durdin

Phoenix Spicer
James Rowe
Charlie Lazzaro
Seamus Mitchell
Tyler Brockman
I would be happy with any of the top 3 for various reasons.
Winder X factor with a very high ceiling
Ginnivan very solid, not a dasher, but great agility, disposal and game sense
Durdin Footballer, plenty of grunt, clean skills, capable mid "forced" through his lack of size to make himself forward first. Combative, motivated and talented.

Don't dislike Rowe, but concerned by his reported lack of defensive work
In any other year would be "happy" to back the upside of the likes of Will Papley, Academy type Coleman should be on the list as would be full package.

Coona Blues

Director of Coaching
Nov 3, 2011
Bundaberg, Qld
Tasmania
I really feel for young Charlie McKay, great size for a utility, particularly midfield and in defence. Reportedly very much in the mould of his old man and was projecting very well through the pre season. Just can't get over the reliability of his old man and the feeling that he will be a virtual "clone". It is easy to just assert that we will pick him up next year if he produces this year, but he will be eligible for a mid year draft and could be snapped up by a rival if we don't maintain the scope to match.

Should be in the mix with many for a late spot in the draft on exposed ability alone.

May 1, 2016
I just don't see a need for SPS in the backline any more, but we have a whole pre-season to find out what's likely to come about.
Awesome.

For the first time, we've got enough positional depth, if his game as a midfielder is not up to it as a midfielder, drop him and work on it at the lower level.

While you've got a player like Bartel talking about how playing at half back can improve your game as a mid, he - like Jack - has been used in a lot of ways as a bandaid. We need to get out of the habit, and to develop players for roles, instead of needing them to cover for a hole elsewhere.

I really cant believe the lack of interest on the Carlton draft thread about Isiah Winder.
This kid has all the tools thats required to become the small foward carlton need and looks like the perfect pick range that you guys hold.
What am i missing here ?
You're making the assumption that everyone here is as well researched and as much of a footy nerd as yourself.

The latest rumour by Forty3 seems logical.

"Showing a lot of interest in Jacob Wehr, hard running HBF/Wing from the SANFL. Elite left peg, exciting prospect that got to play a full year of footy in 2020."

Wehr = Simpson replacement.
Saad = SPS replacement

Potential backline

Plowman Weitering Wehr
Docherty Jones Saad (Kemp/Marchbank)

Williamson plays on the wing and SPS moves to a half forward/mid rotation.

Go back to your oats you crazy ass hoss. Everyone knows it’s wind as in...............wind. Not hard.

Am so.

Baaaaaaaaaaaa!!

Get the shotgun Dave, something's got into the barn and is stirring up the livestock.

Eiffel 65

Sep 18, 2018
Gryffindor

Yea, but I reckon that could change. Not convinced SPS in the backline is set in stone.

I reckon we need to fill all those positions. Probably have greater needs in the front half given Charlie's injuries, Betts age and just a general lack of depth in that area. However, sometimes you've just got to take what's on offer.

The difference between Wehr, SPS, Newman and Doc is that Wehr brings pace to the backline.

Doc is a hard runner, but he's not overly quick. SPS doesn't really try to take the game on much with run and carry and Newman tends to use his foot skills.

Just think it gives us a bit more flexibility. However, I can see why people would be against it.

Eiffel 65

Sep 18, 2018
Gryffindor
I would be happy with any of the top 3 for various reasons.
Winder X factor with a very high ceiling
Ginnivan very solid, not a dasher, but great agility, disposal and game sense
Durdin Footballer, plenty of grunt, clean skills, capable mid "forced" through his lack of size to make himself forward first. Combative, motivated and talented.

Don't dislike Rowe, but concerned by his reported lack of defensive work
In any other year would be "happy" to back the upside of the likes of Will Papley, Academy type Coleman should be on the list as would be full package.

Tend to agree with this. If you're coming in as a mature age prospect, you can't have glaring deficiencies that are essential for your role.

Not saying that you have to be amazing at everything, but you can't have key attributes, in this case defensive pressure, that are nowhere near AFL standard.

murphster

Oct 2, 2005
Steelers,Dodgers,Casey Stoner
The last two players we drafted that weren't mentioned in anyone's mock drafts were Cameron Polson and Finbar O'Dwyer.

Also, can we please have a poll for our preferred small forward in the second round? Assuming Laurie is off the board, we can choose one of the following:

Isiah Winder
Jack Ginnivan
Corey Durdin
Phoenix Spicer
James Rowe
Charlie Lazzaro
Seamus Mitchell
Tyler Brockman
Or Maurice Rioli Jnr, Richmond have 3 spots open on there list my guess is they will use 17 & 36 in the draft and are planning on taking Rioli with there 1 remaining rookie spot, I think if we bid on Rioli at 31 which is very early they may not match whereas if we bid at 38 they would match as they have a lot of later picks. Just a theory