Autopsy Round 5, 2021: St.Kilda v Richmond *MADDIE'S MATCH* *CARLISLE 150TH*

We've lost by over 12 goals twice in the last three weeks. Out of 300,000 supporters what would be a more realistic number other than 10? I'd say it's in the hundreds.

Like I said before, it's got absolutely nothing to do with longevity as a member or financial contribution as a member. Nothing whatsoever. The reason anyone should be surprised to receive a response, not just Joffa, is because of the obvious challenge of going through emails and responding. Although a majority of the emails most likely would've been criticism, there would be some that were just a general enquiry. Because of this, whichever person or people are manning the inbox would need to read the emails to respond to them accordingly. If what you want was not happening when these areas were fully staffed pre-COVID, what makes you think it's going to be any better now?

I'll reiterate for the fourth time now, this isn't about how long someone has been a member or how much they pay. It is the actual task of manual correspondence.

I don't know what to tell you if you think the person behind the desk is sitting there either intentionally not responding to members because they don't care, or that they've seen Joffa's email and intentionally sent him a "we're all working hard" generic response because they don't give a sh*t.

There's not giving a sh*t and there's being actually incapable of servicing everyone because of many reasons one of the main ones being resources.

It's really quite simple. Has nothing to do with Joffa or his history with the club either.
George I understand that you used to work for the club. I get that it’s obviously close to home.

but there is no ******* reason for anyone who pays money to not receive a response. That is shambolic and if for example you tried to contact your bank and didn’t receive a response you would be fuming and probably all over social media. Just check any of the big 4s Facebook pages.

the fact that you say there would be thousands of people like Joffa also highlights that if the trainee had time to reply to joffas
she had the time to acknowledge that this isn’t your standard supporter and refer it up the chain I.e to a membership team leader etc.

Now if you want to come back to me and tell me it’s about not having enough staff - then that is absolutely pathetic that a club is asking for members and they want more, more and more - yet cannot service them adequately.

You are correct, a life member or a 1st year member should be responded to professionally in an attempt to address whatever particular concern they have.

However membership organisations have categories for different members including date milestones. We have different membership rates depending on the members circumstance, they longevity, how many products they have consumed, and even a loyalty program, tied into discount rates. All data is integrated into with Marketing and all member emails are sent to Membership to be put on the member profile for analysis and if required response.
Not true that member orgs don't have different catagories of members.
Yeah the club has that too but I don't understand how that point ties in with what we've been discussing?

All that stuff is done on an automated system. What we are talking about here specifically is a person receiving an email to info@saints or whatever and having to actually read the email to direct it to the appropriate area or respond to it appropriately. With a lack of resources and a large increase in volume, this task becomes almost impossible.

Again another arrogant response. You have no idea of my history so calling me ignorant is personal. As is other things you have said. I don’t care but you are one of the first to jump on others who do it including me yesterday. As I said you will be waiting a while. You can draw your own conclusions on that. I couldn’t give a rats. And it’s great you have so much experience. I’ve never felt so happy for you. Now what should the reply have said. Simple question for a guy with your experience.
Lol, so no experience in a membership organisation, so you are ignorant of the industry.
Don't get defensive and play the victim because you have been caught out.

Just be aware that you have no idea on this subject and the more you get frenzied the more of a fool you make of yourself on this particular issue.
Don't feel bad, you know about things I don't, but on this subject you should go quiet.

George I understand that you used to work for the club. I get that it’s obviously close to home.

but there is no ******* reason for anyone who pays money to not receive a response. That is shambolic and if for example you tried to contact your bank and didn’t receive a response you would be fuming and probably all over social media. Just check any of the big 4s Facebook pages.

the fact that you say there would be thousands of people like Joffa also highlights that if the trainee had time to reply to joffas
she had the time to acknowledge that this isn’t your standard supporter and refer it up the chain I.e to a membership team leader etc.

Now if you want to come back to me and tell me it’s about not having enough staff - then that is absolutely pathetic that a club is asking for members and they want more, more and more - yet cannot service them adequately.
I think people just make stuff up so they sound to themselves like they are correct.

I've never worked at the club and have stated that many, many times.

The reason your bank contacts you if you leave an enquiry (or any larger organisation) usually is because that enquiry is fed through a call back system where the information you leave over the phone or online goes into the CRM and then there's a team much larger than the handful at the Saints that are tasked with responding to those enquiries. You are comparing companies with hundreds of staff to a football club with a handful.

Did she really have time to reply to Joffa? It wasn't much of a response, was it? I reckon it was a template slapped onto each e-mail that criticised the club, and if that's the case it's fairly obvious that whoever was manning the inbox did not have the time or resources to adequately respond and I have also made this really clear a number of times.

I don't know what is absolutely pathetic about forced cuts to a football club coupled with living in a time where financial support to any business is paramount. These are just obvious things to acknowledge.

Honestly what else did you expect them to say? Beg you to sign on?

What kind of a member are you anyway, jumping ship because your team has had a crap month of footy?

You either love the club or you don't.

Richmond had 70,000+ members after bombing out in 2016.

Through thick and thin mate. Anything else and you are literally on the bandwagon.

In fairness mate you guys have never been close to the endless bat s*it mad, basket case that we have..you've had your moments, and you've tried hard...but Richmond lack the sheer willpower to be as s*hit as St.Kilda has been for as long as we have. Our history is one of abject failure. As supporters we're largely punch drunk, we exist on spiteful vitriolic mixed with a delusional hopefulness that has torn its own eyes out rather than look at the reality of things. We're fumbling in the dark hoping to not bump into things mainly...you say thick and thin, which is all well and good when you have a bunch of silverware. From our perspective we're barely optimistic of survival but dumb enough to persevere...you can't blame a bloke for waking up.

I know this is an accurate portrayal of our history but the way you worded it is pretty ******* funny.

Yeah the club has that too but I don't understand how that point ties in with what we've been discussing?

All that stuff is done on an automated system. What we are talking about here specifically is a person receiving an email to info@saints or whatever and having to actually read the email to direct it to the appropriate area or respond to it appropriately. With a lack of resources and a large increase in volume, this task becomes almost impossible.

Lets be straight my org is much larger than the STKFC and cashed up. However only an initial email is automated with an assurance someone will get back to them.

Look I think this subject is exhausted, why dont you lock the thread mate? It does no good to drag this on, only gives angst to supporters who love the club and feel attacked by proxy.
It is going nowhere apart from being wholly negative. My point had been made, nothing will be resolved on here.

Hope we make a good account of ourselves and if not beat Port, give them a bloody scare.

Lol, so no experience in a membership organisation, so you are ignorant of the industry.
Don't get defensive and play the victim because you have been caught out.

Just be aware that you have no idea on this subject and the more you get frenzied the more of a fool you make of yourself on this particular issue.
Don't feel bad, you know about things I don't, but on this subject you should go quiet.
Thanks for your advise but I’m afraid you have no say on what I say and I stand by everything I said. You can’t even tell me what you wanted them to say. All you keep doing is telling us your experience in some other industry. For all I know you making it up because you haven’t really said much of note for an accountant with all that union and membership experience. A man of many talents though. Anyway you ask away again and do you funny emojis again. I will be interested in what the membership department should have said though otherwise you can have your final laugh for the night.

Hahaha ok.

This is hilarious you don't even know what an accountant can specialise in. You would have no idea of what a Systems Accountant does.

Love this so to type, when cornered, you try to place doubt on the others expertise. Quite pathetic actually.

Everyone reading this will see you painted yourself into a corner because of your lack.of knowledge.

I love the bit where you defiantly state, I stand by what I said. That was gold, you stand by your ignorance.
Lulz.

I'm glad you can see the funny side of it. I was trying to stick the boot in but rib tickle at the same time 😃
Mate at this moment you have to be able to laugh at the club or you’ll just go crazy.

Lets be straight my org is much larger than the STKFC and cashed up. However only an initial email is automated with an assurance someone will get back to them.

Look I think this subject is exhausted, why dont you lock the thread mate? It does no good to drag this on, only gives angst to supporters who love the club and feel attacked by proxy.
It is going nowhere apart from being wholly negative. My point had been made, nothing will be resolved on here.

Hope we make a good account of ourselves and if not beat Port, give them a bloody scare.
Happy to close it, I was included into the discussion this morning to pass the feedback onto club and have been happy to respond to everyone who has discussed it with me today. I'm not worked up or argumentative about it, if people want to respond to me I am happy to reply. Yep your company I assume works like most big corps do when it comes to correspondence. Usually the only time data is fed through and stored into the CRM or customer account is when that customer provides their account number and other relevant details in an online enquiry form or something similar. Sending an email to info@saints does not do that because the functionality of MS Outlook is not capable of linking correspondence not sent through an enquiry form into a CRM and therefore the person who is responsible for the inbox must respond to those e-mails themselves. If hundreds of people are doing the same thing then it gets extremely challenging to reply to each e-mail with the same care or respect it deserves. That's not to say they are replying with lack of care or disrespect, but just the person or people in charge are time poor especially when there's an increase in volume. If they had the means to respond adequately the proof would've been in the response you received.

Happy to close the thread, I'm cool with it either way. I know we've gone round and round in circles and I've tried to be as objective as possible, no hard feelings of course in fact the complete opposite. Don't think any different for anyone wanting to cancel or being pissed off with the club. Believe me I am in the latter. Sick of the talk, need more action. Just trying to explain that this wasn't due to lack of care but lack of resource and/or time.

Cheers

Let’s go way over the top here and wont happen me as a 40 year member should be entitled to response if I call the whole club weak c and just rant on and on. Breaching no laws apart from the common sense law. The only reply I deserve is a computer generated reply if anything at all.

Sure. The automated response from the appropriate level.

I’ve never said Joff should get a personalized message. Just a suitably leveled messaged addressing his concerns.

You’re making out like this is hard, it’s not, it is the bare minimum effort.

Happy to close it, I was included into the discussion this morning to pass the feedback onto club and have been happy to respond to everyone who has discussed it with me today. I'm not worked up or argumentative about it, if people want to respond to me I am happy to reply. Yep your company I assume works like most big corps do when it comes to correspondence. Usually the only time data is fed through and stored into the CRM or customer account is when that customer provides their account number and other relevant details in an online enquiry form or something similar. Sending an email to info@saints does not do that because the functionality of MS Outlook is not capable of linking correspondence not sent through an enquiry form into a CRM and therefore the person who is responsible for the inbox must respond to those e-mails themselves. If hundreds of people are doing the same thing then it gets extremely challenging to reply to each e-mail with the same care or respect it deserves. That's not to say they are replying with lack of care or disrespect, but just the person or people in charge are time poor especially when there's an increase in volume. If they had the means to respond adequately the proof would've been in the response you received.

Happy to close the thread, I'm cool with it either way. I know we've gone round and round in circles and I've tried to be as objective as possible, no hard feelings of course in fact the complete opposite. Don't think any different for anyone wanting to cancel or being pissed off with the club. Believe me I am in the latter. Sick of the talk, need more action. Just trying to explain that this wasn't due to lack of care but lack of resource and/or time.

Cheers
Cheers. Just thought my email and response was bringing down the mood for others is all.
And took no offence from anyone. Is it really that important.
Just watching 4 corners on how the Chinese kept the covid-19 outbreak for 54 days and how they persecuted doctors and scientists.
That puts my whinge into perspective.

What a F*cking joke of a club.

here is the response to my email
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi G***,

Thanks for your email.

We are terribly sorry to hear that you won’t be renewing your membership with The Saints.

We’re aware that many Saints fans are unhappy with our performances lately, but I assure you that the boys will do their best to make our supporters proud.

For any further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me via this email or call us on 1300 467 246.

Go Saints!

Kind Regards,

St Kilda Football Club
RSEA Park

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stuff the long time member lets get the work experience girl to respond.

This club does not give a hoot about the member. What a disgraceful lack of care.

Pathetic gutless club can GAGF'ed

That is disgraceful.

Honestly what else did you expect them to say? Beg you to sign on?

What kind of a member are you anyway, jumping ship because your team has had a crap month of footy?

You either love the club or you don't.

Richmond had 70,000+ members after bombing out in 2016.

Through thick and thin mate. Anything else and you are literally on the bandwagon.

Oh, I don’t know, I’d say a 31 year member is through thick and thin.
That letter was pathetic. Not even a letter really just an impersonal response.

Not sure why you felt the necessity to respond to this post anyway. This is not about a footy game, it’s a matter between the member and his club.

I was surprised at only 32,000 at the game on Thursday.

Given the response against the Eagles, the marquee slot, school holidays and it being against Richmond with their 483,000 members - this was a lot lower than I thought would be there.

Was the capacity capped? If so what was the cap?

I was surprised at only 32,000 at the game on Thursday.

Given the response against the Eagles, the marquee slot, school holidays and it being against Richmond with their 483,000 members - this was a lot lower than I thought would be there.

Was the capacity capped? If so what was the cap?
Meh

frankly until this covid s**t and ticketing s**t goes away nobody should be talking about crowd numbers being low. When the government pulls its finger out and stops it maybe things will change.