Nick Holman - 2 weeks- overturned, free to play

BTW this is a perfect example of PROPER technique when performing chase down tackle with arm pinned. Notice Cyril drops to the ground which produces downward force instead of forward momentum - this protects the player being tackled from having their head launch forward into the turf (unable to brace impact because arm is pinned).

Instant life ban for this user thanks

BTW this is a perfect example of PROPER technique when performing chase down tackle with arm pinned. Notice Cyril drops to the ground which produces downward force instead of forward momentum - this protects the player being tackled from having their head launch forward into the turf (unable to brace impact because arm is pinned).

Holman did drop to the ground, Duncan was just moving faster and hence was carried forward. Holman's centre of gravity was well below Duncan's so it was in no way driving him. He got dragged down.

Put Cyril in the exact same situation and he concusses Duncan 10 times out of 10.

So perfect that the player was able to dispose of the ball cleanly and Cyril didn't even get a free.

No - he very much got the free for an illegal disposal. Freeze the video at 0.02 and you can see the ball fly out of Hutching's hands before hitting it with his first. A throw every day of the week.

The exact same thing just happened in the Carlton v Hawks game, except the fall out of the hands was more obvious. It was just deemed play on.

Holman did drop to the ground, Duncan was just moving faster and hence was carried forward. Holman's centre of gravity was well below Duncan's so it was in no way driving him. He got dragged down.

Put Cyril in the exact same situation and he concusses Duncan 10 times out of 10.
Cyril performed so many chase down tackles in his career, don't remember one causing concussion

Higgins should get 2 weeks for his soft shepherd where he thought getting another cheap handball possession was more important for his team than protecting his team mate.

He wouldn't have enjoyed watching that replayed a hundred times since the weekend.

Higgins should get 2 weeks for his soft shepherd where he thought getting another cheap handball possession was more important for his team than protecting his team mate.

He wouldn't have enjoyed watching that replayed a hundred times since the weekend.
Yeah won't argue against that one

All good - tribunal just allowed pin arm tackles and bouncing players heads off ground. They better stay consistent in this interpretation. Expect a few more concussions to follow:thumbsu:

Some concussions are just accidents. Why did you want Holman to do (and don’t say don’t concuss him). Changed him and tackled him, it’s how you are taught to do since forever. Even Duncan wouldn’t have wanted him suspended

All good - tribunal just allowed pin arm tackles and bouncing players heads off ground. They better stay consistent in this interpretation. Expect a few more concussions to follow:thumbsu:
They allowed single arm pinned tackles, like they have for a long as match review has happened

Some concussions are just accidents. Why did you want Holman to do (and don’t say don’t concuss him). Changed him and tackled him, it’s how you are taught to do since forever. Even Duncan wouldn’t have wanted him suspended
Leigh Matthews disagrees. He argues a tackle that results in concussion is no different to a legal bump that results in concussion

It isn't an accident when you pin a players arm from behind and apply full forward force towards their unprotected side... What did he expect to happen if Duncan had no way of protecting his head... As usual just makes a joke of the whole system - using the same argument NicNat should have gotten off. Legal tackle - opposition in possession - just happened to bounce his head off the floor. Nothing in it.

Leigh Matthews disagrees. He argues a tackle that results in concussion is no different to a legal bump that results in concussion
Exactly - look at all the accidental head knocks when players bump (legal action) - MRP suspending ANYONE that dare touch the head even if the original action is legal. Tom Hawkins gets suspending for flicking a players neck - meanwhile pinned arm smashing a players head into the ground - all good. The Tribunal have just given players the rights to pin arms and smash players into the ground knocking them out - well done.

I suppose the difference is what is Holman's alternative? With a bump usually you can either lay the tackle or block the body if it is a shepherd instead.

In Holman's case, what is he meant to do other than tackle? He made sure he hasn't pinned both arms and not slung him to the ground.

You are expecting the player in the process of a legal tackle (even the umpire agreed with the HTB call) to make all these decisions in a split second when both players are moving quickly and while 1 is in the process of kicking the ball off balance.

I suppose the difference is what is Holman's alternative? With a bump usually you can either lay the tackle or block the body if it is a shepherd instead.

In Holman's case, what is he meant to do other than tackle? He made sure he hasn't pinned both arms and not slung him to the ground.

You are expecting the player in the process of a legal tackle (even the umpire agreed with the HTB call) to make all these decisions in a split second when both players are moving quickly and while 1 is in the process of kicking the ball off balance.
You do realise its possible to perform a chase down tackle and pin the arm and NOT bounce the players head off the ground - I already posted hundreds of video examples showing correct technique. Holman knew exactly what he was doing - he wanted to bury him.

I don't reckon he wanted to bury him and just wanted disposes by taking away the arm so he could not dispose of it correctly, but that is just my take on it. Agree to disagree :)

It isn't an accident when you pin a players arm from behind and apply full forward force towards their unprotected side... What did he expect to happen if Duncan had no way of protecting his head... As usual just makes a joke of the whole system - using the same argument NicNat should have gotten off. Legal tackle - opposition in possession - just happened to bounce his head off the floor. Nothing in it.

Again what did you want him to do? Parachute or something in front of Duncan? It was just a football accident these things happen. We can’t be suspending every single accident in footy.

Notice how Tipungwuti avoided bouncing his head off the turf? Exact same situation - pinned his arm - got holding the ball. Only difference is Holman was more interested in burying Duncan by applying forward momentum instead of down like the example above.

Cyril performed so many chase down tackles in his career, don't remember one causing concussion
You remember wrong, he was suspended for a couple when he went the chicken wing technique and hurt several players.