Rumour GFC 2022 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists PT2

Joel Selwood was no athletic beast either, yet he's the greatest Geelong Footballer I've ever seen.

If Clark is the man, I'll back the club in. They've had him around the playing group already and have seen him up close since he was 14-15. Their judgement on him beats any of us by a mile.
He had a massive Ticker.

Think Clark has that also.

Good Question. I posted something along those lines as soon as the Ollie Henry saga started. He's at a prestigious club that is also a destination club having played finals in 2022 and almost knocking off the eventual premiers in it's first final. The 'missing family' thing is a furphy when Geelong is on the fringes of Melbourne. Wanting to play in the same team as your brother is hardly a mature response from a player who is serious about making a career out of football.

I'm starting to think you're not even a Geelong supporter.

Seriously, do you ever say anything positive about us? Literally all I see is criticism and negative opinions without any substance to back them up.

Point in case, in relation to your previous rant about us not targeting anyone...Bowes was one of our targets from a long way out...hence why he ultimately chose us for less money and worse contract terms,, because we wanted him before Pick 7 was on the table.

In relation to Henry, there are numerous posts on here detailing that him wanting to leave is related to other cultural things at Collingwood - and certain players.

You just make things up without any evidence, just so it fits your negative approach, because you think you know better than everyone else in here. It's tiresome. Reminds me of catscollector

Look im still going threw the 40 pages been posted today lol
Where is this speculation on Tuohy going to Gold Coast? I have not read any news source on Social media on Tuhoy going to Gold Coast?
Believe it has manifested from an earlier post and become a good ol' tea cup storm on our board.

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk

Maybe it's the beer talking, but we have pick 7 and a few players who are worth something on the trade table. Could we not ask GWS about their pick 1?

it's not like they have had it for very long and therefore planned most of their off season list management around having it and who they'd take as a result, plus they have so many picks anyway: 7, 15, 18 and 19 is still pretty bloody good. Maybe Sav for a FR2 and then both 7 and next years FR1 for the 1st pick this year. Then Ol' Big Balls Mackie can call up Rendell and tell him where to shove it, pick 25 or we get him anyway.

Get Henry for 25, and then take 1 to the draft.

No chance

GWS traded up to pick 1 as they no doubt have a specific player in mind - believed to be Aaron Cadman

They're not trading pick 1 for anything; beside that, we're not in a position to trade our future first

What are our targets? Bruhn was the only player we directly targeted. If Bowes didn't come with the bonus 7 pick we would not have targeted him. Ollie Henry targeted Geelong not the other way around. So the hypothetical Tuohy trade is not helping land any of Geelong's targets. The whole obsession with Ollie Henry defies logic. It's like a runaway train.

You mean that we had no interest in Bowes other than the fact we've shown interest in him going back at least 18 months - long before GC looked at putting him on the trade table, let alone adding pick 7 to take his salary

He rejected bigger offers to join Geelong - maybe because our interest was genuine, unlike some other apparent suitors:

The Cats are on the cusp of securing their man but it was Hawthorn, led by coach Sam Mitchell, who gave the most impressive pitch and offered more money in the last two years of a four-year deal.

Adelaide was the most desperate to get him while Brisbane was understood to be incentivised by the draft pick and points on offer.

But Geelong’s interest spans over more than 18 months and came well before the lure of pick 7 while Bowes wasn’t interested in going to a rebuilding club after spending six years at the Suns.

Bowes has obvious links to former Suns skipper Gary Ablett and his relationship with Dangerfield stems back to his time with the Allies under-18 team, with the premiership midfielder driving him back to Melbourne after assisting coach Brenton Sanderson.

Dangerfield has wrapped his arms around Bowes ever since, becoming a confidant for him throughout his career.

Cats coach Chris Scott, Dangerfield and recruitment manager Andrew Mackie were all part of a meeting with Bowes where they pitched a role that would see him used across the every part of the ground, rotating through the middle like many of the players.

Bowes is understood to now be jumping out of his skin to play at Geelong and earn a spot in the team’s best 22.

As I have said for days...

The Pies are bringing in stacks of players.

Hold firm on Henry for #25... The Pies will want to use that pick to help get Mitchell into their side (which is an instant best 22 upgrade).

Stay strong... Hawthorn knows that either 25 or 27 will be there for them and will keep the pressure on the Pies.

Hawks won't be letting Mitchell go for #41.

Pies can say that trading Henry got them a Brownlow medallist to make themselves save face.

Stay firm... make them blink first.
Yeah we have all the leverage in this situation. I'm sure that was the conclusion before swapping all those picks for 25 was done. That it was pricey even if there were a number of picks we wouldn't use, but it was worth it because 25 is something Collingwood have to take or else shoot their other deals in the foot.

Mitchell for Henry is fair enough if they consider themselves flag contenders the next two years. They could do with another midfield bull and are light on rotations anyway. I do believe Henry was good enough to push Henry or WHE out of the side next season but don't see the gain being as significant for their side quite yet. In 2025 absolutely. So it depends on exactly how close they think they are to a flag now.

As good as OH could be, I don't see them letting him go to Geelong greatly hurting their 2023/2024 flag prospects if they pick up Mitchell.

Well played Sir! I am liking all of your work. In fact I like your work so much if you could lay out a summer viewing schedule for me I am willing to follow it to the letter of the law hahaha
All right after the dust settles of the trade period I’ll post the viewing schedule for you.

No chance

GWS traded up to pick 1 as they no doubt have a specific player in mind - believed to be Aaron Cadman

They're not trading pick 1 for anything; beside that, we're not in a position to trade our future first
Maybe I’m greedy but it has crossed my mind that the country Victorian key forward who plays like Jezza may find his way to us in the future.

Love him, but if trading him as a 32yo gets you the young Jyhe Clark you've got to think long and hard.......
There's absolutely zero indication he wants to leave for starters. Let him try and defend the premiership.

Top 10 in the B&F in a flag year with no signs of slowing down, good positional versatility, ball use as elite as ever and by all accounts an outstanding bloke to have around the place. If his form holds, he gets another year contract at the end of 2023.

A 2 pick upgrade simply isn't enough. We want a strong, deep squad for 2023 at a minimum. We have targeted blokes that age-wise should be closer to "ready made" than 18 year olds, which means the belief is our window goes beyond next season IMO. Pick 7 is still beyond what we would have hoped for before the trade period.

I think it's a good opportunity to repeat something we did really well though.

We put Rohan on ice for the first half the season then brought him in fresh in the second half. He did not play in a loss last year. That puts Ollie in and keeps pressure on him.

I think we can put Duncan on ice and delay his preseason a bit, especially since historically he's not needed much prep to get to his best quickly. Give Bowes a solid string of games then assess as we get injuries coming in.

Smith I would give a little less time off and bring Bruhn through though they're different types. Selwood out I'll put Parfitt into that role for the time being.

I'd be 50/50 on it but would strongly consider giving Hawkins a late start to preseason too and putting Neale forward round 1.

The backline players will need to come in as normal. The forwards bar Rohan and maybe Hawk come up as normal. The rucks in Rhys/Blitz are aiming Rd 1. A couple of midfield leaders like Guthrie and native Tuohy.

Send that in, accept a bit of a shaky start, and time the preseason of the older blokes such that you can bring in guys from about Rd 4 if required but aim to keep them healthy more than anything
Spot on. This is what excites me about the depth of our list and the acquisitions being made. It allows us to continue or even improve that first class management of players from 2022. With another year in the legs that can be extended to another few players if need be now. Having a couple managed most weeks will let everyone get their chance. And if blokes do have niggles then play the conservative card, the same one that got several blokes back close to 100% for finals in 2022.

Willo_

King Flog on twitter ..🤠🤪🤪🤪.
What a knob ..

Cracking Up Lol GIF by MOODMAN

I think it's a good opportunity to repeat something we did really well though.

We put Rohan on ice for the first half the season then brought him in fresh in the second half. He did not play in a loss last year. That puts Ollie in and keeps pressure on him.

I think we can put Duncan on ice and delay his preseason a bit, especially since historically he's not needed much prep to get to his best quickly. Give Bowes a solid string of games then assess as we get injuries coming in.

Smith I would give a little less time off and bring Bruhn through though they're different types. Selwood out I'll put Parfitt into that role for the time being.

I'd be 50/50 on it but would strongly consider giving Hawkins a late start to preseason too and putting Neale forward round 1.

The backline players will need to come in as normal. The forwards bar Rohan and maybe Hawk come up as normal. The rucks in Rhys/Blitz are aiming Rd 1. A couple of midfield leaders like Guthrie and native Tuohy.

Send that in, accept a bit of a shaky start, and time the preseason of the older blokes such that you can bring in guys from about Rd 4 if required but aim to keep them healthy more than anything
I like this. Almost like an EPL strategy for the multiple cups the top 4 teams compete for. Europo etc

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk

Tuohy will get a one year deal with us. We need to start reducing the number of 30+ guys in a controlled way and create space for the next generation coming through. If the Suns offer Tuohy a two year deal with potentially a coaching gig to follow then he'd be silly not to jump at it.
Yeah, a lot of people seem emotionally invested in Tuohy. He had a great year, and could do it again next year, but could be a win win if he is moved on. Sometimes players at 33-34 can nose dive in form, so a 1 year deal for him is appropriate. The other thing with these older guys after a premiership, will they have the same hunger? maybe, but never quite sure on it.

But if he gets 2 years plus extra (post playing role) elsewhere, then we should let him explore it, so long as we benefit from it as well.

Clark may be as good as anyone but I just question that based on the combine results. If we are trading down to 5 for Clark.. the club must be very confident on him
Get Selwood’s mate Busslinger if he’s still available and back in the club culture to keep him. Then bring Clark home in two years time?

On Ollie wants to play for Geelong. To a certain degree... the specificity of why is irrelevant to me . This inference by some that he should just accpet playing for who he was shuffled to is a poor way to treat young men imo. Sure he is lucky compared to Bruhn who got told to got sydney but its still not what he would have chosen. A lot a very happy once they settle in but not all are and they want a change. Input into where they play. Its like some one picking Atlas Blue instead or Eruption Green when ordering a Mustang ... or wanting tomato or BBQ sauce on a snag .... its taste and every player ..once uncontracted should get to have input into where they play.

Sure from an interest POV... one might ask... was he happy when he was in the senior side... what if he were selected for a final... and what about personalities within the club etc tec..they all contribute to that choice.

Pies have a lot of what id call built in grooming of young supporters. They have the G and they have big premium games. A lot of kids would grow up in Melb dreaming of the Pies. Not all. Some might be Ess . some might be Haw and some might be naturally they type of kid that wears a North jumper to school. Id say in Geelong there is all that but there is also probably a higher percentage of kids that want to play for the Cats. Its why Danger is here isn't it. Add a sibling playing at the club.... and the a GF success... I can see why he has decided to go hard. Its not like he has had the choice that some others were given two years ago..but now he is uncontracted..and he has choice... he want to use it.

The contributing factor, reason could be that he like. blue not black. The distance form Melb to Geelong is irrelevant for me . It could be moving from Collingwood to Melb.

Of course the stuff some mention probably does not help. If I was around stuff and not happy with it Id either want it changed or id want out too. I think its similar to Dunkley in this respect.

Get Selwood’s mate Busslinger if he’s still available and back in the club culture to keep him. Then bring Clark home in two years time?

If Clark is our choice fine...what I have seen indicate a very good young player. If Bussinglinger was from Murry Bishies or something ..it would be more enticing. The zeitgeist atm is probably telling clubs to be more focused on locals. He is the best local so it all makes sense.

Will be interesting to see a fit Willis after a proper pre-season, vs Bruhn and Parfitt at intra-club... for those younger smaller mids. For physical strength, Atkins will be the benchmark for those smaller types.

Its going to be extemely hard for someone like him in my opinion. Geelong have brought in Bruhn, Bowes and probably Clark. then who ever else wanta a game.. He may be like Linc.. and we end up asking how did not get a go at geelong. One of Brisbane Father Sons this year. ..is Fletcher... his father started at Geelong and could not get a game while couchy was here. It happens.

What's the chance the Esava trade gets done for Port's 33? I'd even send them 58 back.

So far I'd say we are winning trade week.

If we end up with 25+33, surely that would get it done for Henry, and they can send us 27 or 41 back. Alternatively 25+33 could be packaged to get a bit higher? And if Pies don't want that earlier pick, then we take it to draft if there is the extra list spot with Sav going (hopefully).

Just how much do we take Savs request into this...and should we add him to the long list of inputs into getting 25 .... the pick considered not good enough. In a way id like to see them see 25 and 33 and say no ... but in another ..the best out come for all would be them relenting on 25 and just taking it ... with 33 added to given them and out ..perhaps 41 coming back. Loss of face? Maybe.