List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Well its confirmed if its on SEN , the bloke is cooked surely you can see that ?

I'm not keen on taking him but don't think it's an outrageous suggestion. He's being played poorly and might as well be at another club if he does have something left. That's the kind of player that a mid season exchange period might help. He could have one last crack in the second half of the year.

Very much doubt he would leave WA for what may only be another year , and if he does i hope its not with us, No more cooked ones

Taking at 33yo Fyfe .....

zoolander-will-ferrell.gif

With the form of Caminiti, Pou and co ..... Hayes is definitely not a lock for best 22

King replaces Cordy .... Caminiti & King rotate between FF & CHF though the Godfather is more primary CHF option

Membrey probably replaces Pou as we would be wise to give him a general soreness rest at some stage ..... but try and get him back in to give others a rest

What a great dilemma to have especially coming into finals .... if we are a solid lock by then ..... keep the list fresh and fit and firing

That's exactly why he would. Hayes probably is one of the best gut runners on the list. Keeps going even when he's absolutely buggered. I think Lyon would be a fan.

And "One good game"? More accurate to say one extraordinary debut game and 3 good games.
He had one good game mate - 18 disposals, 10 marks 3 goals.

The other 3 games were serviceable. After 4 games Sharman looked like the next Jack Gunston now he’s no where to be seen. We need to see a bigger body of work from Hayes before he demands a spot.

On exposed form he is behind King, Membrey, Owens, Caminitti & Cordy.

And because I'm on a roll. Liam Ryan.
Fyfe is cooked but in terms of perfect players for us Liam Ryan would be right up there but I think we need to find one at the draft. We can’t trade for everyone.

I heard someone on SEN saying that Freo were mishandling Fyfe and that the coach is paying him no respect by playing him where he makes minimal impact.

To me it's worth waiting until the end of the season and seeing where we finish. If we fall short by 5% or something it might be worth going after a few top ups to bridge the gap. You don't get long up the top to make hay. Doesn't have to be Fyfe but like what the Pies have done.

If we fall a long way short we should keep going for youth development and bringing in and playing kids and hope to peak in 2or 3 years.

Yep. Don't underestimate how critical pendles and sidebottom are in 2023 to collingwoods flag chances.

At the pointy end of the season, experienced champions can be the small % difference between flag/no flag.

If a guy like fyfe was fit, came cheap and gettable- we'd be dumb to not seriously consider it.

Of course all 3 of those factors are big question marks- but if the club saw them all as manageable, I think it would be a good move.

Can all King, Skunk, Hammer, Hayes, Cordy fit in one forward line?

No, but as much as our backline is humming right now: we have been tested by the likes of casboult and weideman,
I worry about how we will go facing twin towers eg cats, bris.
We could really use Cordy back there as a match up when the time comes.

I think the other 4 will be fine and imagine skunk and Hayes will be pushing high up the wings leaving king and hammer closer to home

Yep. Don't underestimate how critical pendles and sidebottom are in 2023 to collingwoods flag chances.

At the pointy end of the season, experienced champions can be the small % difference between flag/no flag.

If a guy like fyfe was fit, came cheap and gettable- we'd be dumb to not seriously consider it.

Of course all 3 of those factors are big question marks- but if the club saw them all as manageable, I think it would be a good move.
His best years were 2013 - 2019 , has dropped off the cliff since and is always injured lately

Can all King, Skunk, Hammer, Hayes, Cordy fit in one forward line?

No, but as much as our backline is humming right now: we have been tested by the likes of casboult and weideman,
I worry about how we will go facing twin towers eg cats, bris.
We could really use Cordy back there as a match up when the time comes.

I think the other 4 will be fine and imagine skunk and Hayes will be pushing high up the wings leaving king and hammer closer to home
So you have 2 spots on the ground for Gresham, Butler, Higgins, Owens, Phillipou & Winghager?

King, Hammer, Hayes & Membrey won’t feature in the same forward line.

Pendles is extremely durable and still playing amazing footy

Fyfe can’t get on the park and can’t get a kick

If he was still fit and playing great footy, he wouldn’t be cheap

I reckon Caminiti might end up being a gun defender eventually. Needs to fill out, but has the closing speed and reach to succeed down there.

But for this year, I think our best front six is:
HF: Phillipou, Membrey, Gresham
F: Higgins, King, Caminiti

With Butler on the bench.

With the form of Caminiti, Pou and co ..... Hayes is definitely not a lock

King replaces Cordy .... Caminiti & King rotate between FF & CHF though the Godfather is more primary CHF option

Membrey probably replaces Pou as we would be wise to give him a general soreness rest at some stage ..... but try and get him back in to give others a rest

What a great dilemma to have especially coming into finals .... if we are a solid lock by then ..... keep the list fresh and fit and firing
We are 4 games in , lets win a few more before we go the early crow , we still have to play a lot of good teams

I reckon Caminiti might end up being a gun defender eventually. Needs to fill out, but has the closing speed and reach to succeed down there.

But for this year, I think our best front six is:
HF: Phillipou, Membrey, Gresham
F: Higgins, King, Caminiti

With Butler on the bench.
Needs a bit more Owens..