List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Yeah fair enough.
Dow I wouldn't mind, looked like he could play on the weekend, can get more than zero possessions in the 4th unlike some of our current mids.
Crouch again shows he can play but he is as one paced as the rest of our midfield and age may go against him

Flanders would be a good get, and with Parish in play, if we got those two, it would be similiar how Richmond got Prestia and Caddy in 2017, it is not the fact they are superstars but the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

Like your last idea as well, we have been pretty good with the likes of Wilkie, Hammer, even Wood as left field speculators.

If we could manage to land Flanders and Parish, and then pick up a Fiorini or a Dow, that would be just about as best we could possibly do. Wishful thinking on my part I suppose.
What about Matt Crouch ?

Yes, we gave a future 2nd for a top 10 pick, two years after they were drafted.

Coffield is 6 years into this career, lost years 5-6 of his career to injury and in year 4, was hardly setting the world on fire with his form at AFL level. His 2022 pre season might have been impressive for track watchers but that's not exposed form to base trade value on.

I doubt anyone here would be happy to give a 2nd rounder for Paddy Dow, who has more recent good AFL performances and doesn't come with the same injury baggage Coffield has accumulated the last 2 years.
Geez , you got the angry pills going on
Oh well i guess we will have to wait and see what happens , i haven't given up on him yet

James Worpel remains unsigned.

2 years into his career for a high pick. Coff is in his 6th.There is a puppy phase where you pay on potential but at some point it becomes a gamble. Clark was probably still late puppy phase last year but this year looks more like a scruffy mutt.
Boy , your right into your puppies ATM

Geez , you got the angry pills going on
Oh well i guess we will have to wait and see what happens , i haven't given up on him yet
No one is angry for pointing out Coffield would be at his lowest possible value right now.

I hope he stays and fulfils his potential but if he doesn't, we cant expect more than scraps in return.

No I haven't, just a realist. If you were our list managers you'd give him 12 months and see what happens but I doubt anyone outside St Kilda is licking their lips at a guy who showed a bit of promise but he's hardly elite. He averaged 15 disposals in his best year as a HBF. 14 over his career. He might come good or he might break down. I'm just being practical. We want him and Clark to be elite to justify their high picks but so far he's shown promise more than form.

Look at the guys sitting in reserve for clubs like Gold Coast, Carlton, GWS, Port etc. You could get much more guaranteed players with a second and third round pick. If we got pick 56 for Bruce or what ever it was we aren't getting a second for Coff.
Realist LOL , You were near crying when Dunny and Freezer were shown the door

No one is angry for pointing out Coffield would be at his lowest possible value right now.

I hope he stays and fulfils his potential but if he doesn't, we cant expect more than scraps in return.
That's fair enough , i just think three games back is going a bit early on him

None of Coff and Clarke reeck of gotta get if available all have their issues. They could prove to be very valuable to us whereas other clubs may not want to take the risk. Worth more to us than what we get in draft picks.

Gresh has some traits that make him of value. He has more value elsewhere than here I reckon.

Flanders and Dow and any other promising midfielder would come for opportunity that's our advantage.

Only way Parish comes is for $$$$s and not sure that's the player and symbolism we want at the Saints. Unless he wants to just football without the spotlight at a big club.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Realist LOL , You were near crying when Dunny and Freezer were shown the door

Well we have played a mid down since we lost Dunny and our lack of depth probably cost us finals last year. Ratts fight with Dunny might have cost him his job ironically.

Freezer had finally got fit and looked good enough to persist with when we cut him. Honestly anyone that doesn't now see that the list management was probably the worst of any side in the AFL era isn't serious.

What ever. I don't think he's anywhere near what he has been and looks noticeably unsure of how to play the game we want him to play. His best form is when he plays instinctive free flowing footy. He seems to be the absolute antithesis to how Lyon likes footy played and he's gone completely off the boil.
Instinctively? Bombing without looking? He was average last year and he’s average this year. Club’s standards have moved past him.. He has been given every opportunity to be successful this season..

Sorry. I disagree. He is a small forward and he plays the front and square role extremely well. He is also one of the better hit up forwards in our team. He has kicked goals from 40-50m out this year but that should'nt be his main role. That should be the role of the key forwards

I think you are being disingenuous saying he kicks the odd freakish goal. He does it on a quite regular basis. How many times has he been dropped or subbed off since he came to the Saints? IMO he warrants selection.
He brings a great energy to our forward line and I always look forward to seeing what he can deliver.
Been our most productive forward this year. Closely followed by Butler.

Also, just to keep in mind, no compo for us for Gresham if sign Parish. I wouldn't care, but just keep it in mind.
Happy to get Parish for the loss of whatever compo we would get for Gresh. Not going to be a first rounder anyway.

What’s the harm in bringing them in for nothing though? That’s my point.

If he can’t get a game then that’s fair enough, but at least we’d have some backup to call upon. Currently our back up is Jones (perennially injured) & Bytel (not good enough) oh and Seb (getting older).
Because: all of those things will be true still at the if 24 plus this is probably true as well: Dow (not good enough).

It costs a list spot. We could have thrown some spud on in the summer and there would be no Caminiti.

Then young Midfielders, midfielders and midfielders at the draft. Nothing else.
By all accounts there aren't many decent mids in the draft. And not where we're likely to get our pick.

Instinctively? Bombing without looking? He was average last year and he’s average this year. Club’s standards have moved past him.. He has been given every opportunity to be successful this season..

He was one of 4 players going at over 25 possessions and a goal a game last year before injury. Even still finished with 23.3 and .9 goals per game after a form drop off. He was kicking bags of 4 goals and was one of our few line breakers. I reckon he'll make you look a bit stupid at another club. He's not as good as DeGoey but has similar traits. Nathan Buckley was saying that the Saints would be crazy not to match him for that reason.

Getting “anyone” is what’s got us into trouble in the past.

Need to be a little more discerning than that.
Exactly.

If we repeat 2019 ish era and go chasing fill ups so we all feel a little better for 6 months, then more deflated by 12 months because we’re still 10th, then I’ll go Terry Wallace. We need long term partners for our list strength - which is the King and down era

Even our high end picks have been a dice roll.

Pretty simple answer with Coffield is lock him into a short contract now, and try to trade him.

We have many players similar to him, we need midfielders.
With him at half back, we have Sincs as a midfielder.
With what we'd get for Coff right now, we wouldn't get much of a midfielder.
He's a keeper for me - talent doesn't just disappear. Plenty players play at their best again after an acl.

Don't want Parish, never deal with Essendon under any circumstances.

Just get some decent compo for Gresham and go to the draft. Gresham has lost the evasiveness he had early in his career and he is not a midfielder. I'd also be happy to move Clark on, he just doesn't have the speed or the tank required. These things are genetic or you must be an extremely hard worker. I'm not seeing either with him.

Keep Billings unless, we get a hail mary offer.

Trade Coffield for a draft pick.

Then young Midfielders, midfielders and midfielders at the draft. Nothing else.
Coffield?

I’m taking a break from here - this is a zoo

He was one of 4 players going at over 25 possessions and a goal a game last year before injury. Even still finished with 23.3 and .9 goals per game after a form drop off. He was kicking bags of 4 goals and was one of our few line breakers. I reckon he'll make you look a bit stupid at another club. He's not as good as DeGoey but has similar traits. Nathan Buckley was saying that the Saints would be crazy not to match him for that reason.
I’d actually rather keep him then lose him, that’s not the point I’m making. He was playing a lot more midfield last year then this year.. My point is you saying he’s been bad because of the game plan is just flat out wrong..