Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October

What we do know is the club and the president stuck by Maj under trying circumstances, Clarko under trying circumstances and TT last year under trying circumstances when many on here and in clubland in general were calling for his head.

So trusting her judgement in this situation is not blindly believing anything. Its comparing her past actions to this situation and believing her and trusting her words when she sent us that letter.
i agree.

but surely you can see that lack of transparency eventually leads to corruption. we largely knew the circumstances in the Clarko instance, there was a hell of a lot more evidence then just someone saying TT sent "nasty texts".

again, don't doubt the right decision was made, but the lack of transparency is concerning.

No let's relitigate the 2018 trade period, and then ask ad nauseum for the ability to see the ins and outs of a ducks arse about Tarryn so that I can decide for myself. Then we can have a mass debate about accountability.

And once that’s done, we can face the reality that he’s out on his arse and all the analysis isn’t changing jack shit.

Wouldn’t excuse it at all he’s still wrong regardless
But potentially the victim isn’t the most innocent person
I don't doubt that the complainant isn't as pure as the driven snow and played her part in the message exchanges that got out of control, but TT issued threats, after which all bets are off. He already was on his last warning, but the clincher for North would have been that he betrayed the club when he completed his respect education course and reported that he had learned valuable lessons from doing so to help mend his ways when in fact he had been making threatening texts whilst undertaking the course. It was a blatant lie which proves he can't be taken for his word. He obviously only went through the motions to get back to playing football. Realistically that is all the other clubs should need to know not to touch him with a 10 feet pole in the future. Trust is everything and unfortunately TT doesn't deserve any. Dishonesty is a major character flaw. I reckon North was going to sack him regardless of the length of his suspension.

i agree.

but surely you can see that lack of transparency eventually leads to corruption. we largely knew the circumstances in the Clarko instance, there was a hell of a lot more evidence then just someone saying TT sent "nasty texts".

again, don't doubt the right decision was made, but the lack of transparency is concerning.
I think its fair enough in this situation. I find it challenging to not know the details but I've got daughters and I wouldn't want all that shit in public if they were involved. So I guess I can accept not knowing to protect someone's privacy.

I don't doubt that the complainant isn't as pure as the driven snow and played her part in the message exchanges that got out of control, but TT issued threats, after which all bets are off. He already was on his last warning, but the clincher for North would have been that he betrayed the club when he completed his respect education course and reported that he had learned valuable lessons from doing so to help mend his ways when in fact he had been making threatening texts whilst undertaking the course. It was a blatant lie which proves he can't be taken for his word. He obviously only went through the motions to get back to playing football. Realistically that is all the other clubs should need to know not to touch him with a 10 feet pole in the future. Trust is everything and unfortunately TT doesn't deserve any. Dishonesty is a major character flaw. I reckon North was going to sack him regardless of the length of his suspension.
I don’t disagree with any of that

I think its fair enough in this situation. I find it challenging to not know the details but I've got daughters and I wouldn't want all that s**t in public if they were involved. So I guess I can accept not knowing to protect someone's privacy.
if the names and specific details are redacted then their privacy is protected.

not only for transparency but also to expose the p***k for what he really is. north (and of course the victim) lose our here massively, we're the trigger that will probably put him back on the the straight and narrow, when he goes on to become a gun at a big club and everyone is applauding his turn around (and also backhanding north's culture) there should always be an astericks next his name, by not showing the details it becomes forgetable.

good for you, many others want to see the evidence. if you believe club and AFL did the right thing then you shouldn't have an issue with the evidence being seen...

Some of you are like gossipy old grandmothers with nothing better to do.
The contents of the texts are none of your business.

not only for transparency but also to expose the p***k for what he really is. north (and of course the victim) lose our here massively, we're the trigger that will probably put him back on the the straight and narrow, when he goes on to become a gun at a big club and everyone is applauding his turn around (and also backhanding north's culture) there should always be an astericks next his name, by not showing the details it becomes forgetable.
It might not seem like it but I reckon we win.

It doesn't matter what he does anymore from our pov. We put ourselves on the line for someone who didn't repay the favour. We did the right thing then when we were not being respected we acted to protect our interests. We can only control what we can control and we've done that.

It makes us stronger, mentally, emotionally, spiritually, whatever. We may have lost talent but we have enough talent to cover him. Something I'd have never believed this time eighteen months ago. When JHF left it seemed like we were ****ed but really we've just got better.

Tough times can break people but they can also forge them into something stronger than they were. I think that will happen here.

It doesn't matter what he does anymore from our pov. We put ourselves on the line for someone who didn't repay the favour. We did the right thing then when we were not being respected we acted to protect our interests. We can only control what we can control and we've done that.

It makes us stronger, mentally, emotionally, spiritually, whatever. We may have lost talent but we have enough talent to cover him. Something I'd have never believed this time eighteen months ago. When JHF left it seemed like we were ****ed but really we've just got better.

Tough times can break people but they can also forge them into something stronger than they were. I think that will happen here.
There's no tip toeing about whatever, there's no whispers, no group of folk "in the know". Just a bunch of young men actually enjoying their footy and not having to worry about 1 bloke being a dick. Should make for a happier workplace, imo.

I don’t care if another club gets him.

We are not a rehab facility or a half-way house for delinquents.

We showed good judgement in the past with Majak and then Clarkson, and I’m happy to back the current admin in. The last paragraph from Hood’s announcement would not have been written for nothing.

I will say given what has been described of Thomas’ conduct, if I did the same and my employer found out, I’d be having some meaningful discussions with HR about my longevity.

I understand your logic, but the AFL is bound by the policy under which Thomas was dealt with. That specifically states that no more harm will be done to complainants, and that means even if details are deidentified, the woman knows who’s involved, and she has to relive the events as they are poured over in the media and social media. This is commonly why many victims decline to report sexual assault and domestic violence, because they don’t want to ‘go through it again’, not once but time and time again. So redaction might look neutral to outsiders, but it’s not neutral to the victim

I was keen to see the evidence, but the leaked message to the media and the AFL declaring he was sending shit literally while doing the behavioral rehab programs has lessened that desire significantly.

On top of the actual allegations he was bullshitting the club, a club that has worked on TT the person since a couple of years before he was drafted. The club that for 2 years he has actively looked to walk out on while under contract.

**** him.

lose was a bad choice of words. i'm thinking from the perspective of the media and the work water cooler - north sack TT, he gets picked up for nothing by a big 4, goes on to be a gun..."ouch, north lose a pick 8 for nothing, and [big club] picked him up for nothing and turned him around with their great culture! norf suck"

but ultimately we had no choice. hopefully we turn out to be that club that loses a gun but it actually helped team balance (or in this case; lose a distraction) like colligwood with grundy and treloar.

The vast majority of commentators and punters on call back today said that North have done absolutely all they can for Tarryn and did the right thing in letting him go.

There may be a few down the track that rewrite history (prob Healy the flog) but the club should never be accused of not doing all they could.

lose was a bad choice of words. i'm thinking from the perspective of the media and the work water cooler - north sack TT, he gets picked up for nothing by a big 4, goes on to be a gun..."ouch, north lose a pick 8 for nothing, and [big club] picked him up for nothing and turned him around with their great culture! norf suck"

Yeah but **** them. With or without him we were going places last month. We still are.

but ultimately we had no choice. hopefully we turn out to be that club that loses a gun but it actually helped team balance (or in this case; lose a distraction) like colligwood with grundy and treloar.
:thumbsu:

good for you, many others want to see the evidence. if you believe club and AFL did the right thing then you shouldn't have an issue with the evidence being seen...
Yeh I wouldn’t have issues with seeing the evidence, but what will that change? It’s not like it will exonerate him. It would make him look even worse..

Who cares what others might say about us sometime down the track? This is not the real issue here.

The real issue is that of how people in relationships with other people, treat one another and in this case from what hear, elements of domestic violence. For whatever the reason, this has been a very disrespectful relationship and such has been the nature. the
The AFL received a complaint and have investigated it under their Respect and Responsibility Policy. Here is a link to the Policy

Significantly, that Policy among other matters has a "Greater focus on victim welfare". It also states that (victims can also remain anonymous if they wish). Surely that is an inviolable right in matters investigated under the AFL's Policy.

That is in fact absolutely key to the investigation of any Complaint under these guidelines and has been pointed out earlier, that in the absence of the ability for a victim to remain anonymous, many victims simply choose to remain silent and end up suffering without justice, in whatever form that might be, for the rest of their lives.

Clearly we do not know just how serious the actions of any of the parties in this very sad situation might have been. Hopefully they are nothing like, and on balance of probability are not, what we have seen going through the Courts in recent times.

But notwithstanding, for this process to have proceeded in a proper fashion within the AFL's guidelines, confidentiality/anonymity of the matters are absolutely paramount for the health and wellbeing of all parties to be best protected.

It seems to me that it is rather ironic that a group of nuffies on an internet forum, who enjoy the anonymity of their poster names to largely post whatever they want, should be demanding to know who said/wrote/did what on whatever medium was used, so that said nuffies can simply satisfy themselves that everything is above board, firstly at an AFL level and then secondly at our club level.

What a bunch of pompous entitled b******* such nuffies are.

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October