Game Day Geelong V Hawks Mon Apr1 2024 @MCG 320pm

Dry day against any other bottom r team? cats by how much

Today? Rainy conditions against Hawks.

• Forward line key position assets potentially nullified by the conditions.
  • Backline structured to take intercept marks potentially nullified by conditions
  • Backline susceptible to smaller and medium types against a forward like that basically only has small to medium assets
  • Midfield reasonably matched with what is on the park. They're missing their best user we're missing our best ball winners so conditions favour them I think.
Today is exactly the sort of day where I would have loved to have had a fresh Atkins, Dangerfield and Guthrie playing. Wet days suit big bodies, and small forwards.

Win and win big for Tom Hawkins. No excuses.

Well weather certainly has arrived at the ground. Wind and rain and looks like storms going to be consistent.

Shame as wanted to see some skills from the young guys.

Hopefully our mature bodies wreck havoc

For our next Melbourne game I'm definitely catching a much earlier train, and will find somewhere for something to eat & drink before the match and just not deal with this crowding on the train

I'm pretty sure they've cancelled at least one footy special which doesn't help, but this train which started at Marshall before I jumped on next stop at South Geelong, was already no seats available

We've continued to stop every station, and there's an increasing number of folks left on the platforms each time we pull out

This is crazy

But hopefully signs of a good crowd today

I've noticed the drop off in interest for a few years now hope everything is alright personally rather see you here more than less and hope your prediction of flogging the Hawks today is spot on.

Thanks mate. Yeah I’ve lost a bit of interest in footy. Maybe it comes from us being good for so long.

Last year was the worst year of my life. By a long way. So pulled my head in everywhere.

Break up.
Health.
Finance.
Death.
Changed states to where I know no one. (As a naturally social person that hit me more than anything) Only improved by my son moving to be with me recently.

That’s it in a nutshell.

But anyway, we move on.
Back to the smashing.

I saw seeds post about our mids being plodders. Don’t completely agree. But what I’ve been worried about is our mids not being ball winners.

I think the group he mentioned are just that. But they need time together.

For our next Melbourne game I'm definitely catching a much earlier train, and will find somewhere for something to eat & drink before the match and just not deal with this crowding on the train

I'm pretty sure they've cancelled at least one footy special which doesn't help, but this train which started at Marshall before I jumped on next stop at South Geelong, was already no seats available

We've continued to stop every station, and there's an increasing number of folks left on the platforms each time we pull out

This is crazy

But hopefully signs of a good crowd today

1230 didn’t leave the yards at Waurn Ponds due to a lightning strike on the points, always pays to go up a little early I find..

Thanks mate. Yeah I’ve lost a bit of interest in footy. Maybe it comes from us being good for so long.

Last year was the worst year of my life. By a long way. So pulled my head in everywhere.

Break up.
Health.
Finance.
Death.
Changed states to where I know no one. (As a naturally social person that hit me more than anything) Only improved by my son moving to be with me recently.

That’s it in a nutshell.

But anyway, we move on.
Back to the smashing.

I saw seeds post about our mids being plodders. Don’t completely agree. But what I’ve been worried about is our mids not being ball winners.

Very sorry to hear that.

1230 didn’t leave the yards at Waurn Ponds due to a lightning strike on the points, always pays to go up a little early I find..

Cheers - I got to SG planning on catching that one and never heard any announcements about it being cancelled, just an announcement for the 12:47(?) being the next train and everyone trying to pile on that

It's funny cause on the vline app, it still had the 12:30 as next to arrive at Southern Cross and like 10 minutes away (this was 10 minutes ago) - now updated to say it's an hour+ away

And nothing on their socials about it being cancelled

I should know these things but took it a little easy this morning - not next time 😂

Break up.
Health.
Finance.
Death.

That’s it in a nutshell.

But anyway, we move on.
Back to the smashing.

Sounds like you've been on a roller coaster but good to have you back Tony

Cheers - I got to SG planning on catching that one and never heard any announcements about it being cancelled, just an announcement for the 12:47(?) being the next train and everyone trying to pile on that

It's funny cause on the vline app, it still had the 12:30 as next to arrive at Southern Cross and like 10 minutes away (this was 10 minutes ago) - now updated to say it's an hour+ away

And nothing on their socials about it being cancelled

I should know these things but took it a little easy this morning - not next time 😂
Finally left at 1353

Well weather certainly has arrived at the ground. Wind and rain and looks like storms going to be consistent.

Shame as wanted to see some skills from the young guys.

Hopefully our mature bodies wreck havoc
Reckon Dempsey will run riot.

On a wet day, it's guys with skill and speed who can make it look like they're playing with a dry ball.

Just have to get him in open space and watch the magic unfold.

Reckon Dempsey will run riot.

On a wet day, it's guys with skill and speed who can make it look like they're playing with a dry ball.

Just have to get him in open space and watch the magic unfold.
Hope so. But no mark of the year we have been promised!

For the teams the wind could be tricky too.

I suppose it is a winter sport!

We sold our home game to AO to help cover the costs of the rebuild
Seriously?
What about the other 15 teams in Gather Round, do they sell their games too?
I probably sound cynical, still, why not play Gather Round in other states?
Just my opinion, not relevant to our Game Day thread.

Thanks for explaining.

Seriously?
What about the other 15 teams in Gather Round, do they sell their games too?
I probably sound cynical, still, why not play Gather Round in other states?
Just my opinion, not relevant to our Game Day thread.

Thanks for explaining.

Gather round is just an extra round of football - all teams play in SA over the weekend and it has no impact on teams traditional 11 home & 11 away games