Roast Geelong getting home finals…but only against small drawing teams

You may not care for fairness, most AFL clubs and supporters care about it. Until it's "fair" Geelong won't get finals. As i said Ask the AFL - $$$$$ talks as a Roos supporter you should well aware of that. We seem to agree that Geelong deserve it, but it just want happen.

Hang on - you're saying two different things here, aren't you?

1. It's not fair
2. They deserve to play home finals

I'm confused if we disagree or not lol

Should have made the stadium 60K and play all Geelong home finals there

If the Cats were able to get a stage 6 to replace reg hickey stand and build into that road a bit to improve oval shape and complete stadium it could possibly become close, plenty of gaps.

The big thing here is Carlton/Essendon. Both clubs agreements with Marvel end this year I believe. Currently Bombers play 7 home games at Marvel and Carlton 6. If both clubs get more games at the MCG this should 'release' Geelong from having to play home games at the MCG... At least in the home and away season.

IMO it should be very team who plays a final there if that's how the positions on the ladder are at the end of a very long season. Just picking out a few interstate teams is nuts. I don't really care as the GF is at the MCG, more G time the better in September, but if the argument is that Geelong are drawn to play Collingwood in a first final and have qualified ahead of them at the end of the H&A season, it should be played at Kardinia Park.

So an interstate team has to play Geelong at home in a final.

But Collingwood doesnt? It gets a home final instead.

What a rort.

Its everyone or no-one. AFL just cant help themselves rigging the fixture with no care or responsibility concerning fairness and making it all about $$$$$.

IMO every team should play a final there if that's how the positions on the ladder are at the end of a very long season. Just picking out a few interstate teams is nuts. I don't really care as the GF is at the MCG, more G time the better in September, but if the argument is that Geelong are drawn to play Collingwood in a first final and have qualified ahead of them at the end of the H&A season, it should be played at Kardinia Park.
when Geel get on a plane every second week like all the Interstate teams, then a home final is justified.
Otherwise there is no justification, despite increased stadium capacity.

What a rort.

Its everyone or no-one. AFL just cant help themselves rigging the fixture with no care or responsibility concerning fairness and making it all about $$$$$.
Coll doesn't get a "home" final advantage when playing all other MCG tenants during the final series.
Geel should not get any finals - they're a Victorian team.

Yes. We go to Sydney and play on a dinner plate.
Who the hell cares.
We go to every stadium and have managed a winning record at every single one of them bar Perth stadium over a period of 18 seasons.
Not our problem if other clubs need wet their pants over a patch of turf on one wing of one ground that footballers getting paid $500k a year can’t seem to navigate as though it’s as difficult as splitting the atom 😂
stop being obtuse - if the GMHBA was so irrelevant ie "neutral" then why is your win rate over 85%.
Clearly, its unique dimensions give Geel a huge HGA - its not rocket science.

When Geel become an interstate team then you to will deserve finals.

stop being obtuse - if the GMHBA was so irrelevant ie "neutral" then why is your win rate over 85%.
Clearly, its unique dimensions give Geel a huge HGA - its not rocket science.

When Geel become an interstate team then you to will deserve finals.

Um, because we’ve been ****ing good?

Let me tell you something.

Joel Selwood retired with a record of 97-14 at Kardinia Park. A record of 87 per cent.

His record in ‘home’ games (not finals, just regular home games) at other venues like Marvel and the MCG?

41-8. A record of 82 per cent.
His record away full stop, was 65 per cent.

Now considering we play big and usually good teams at the MCG and generally interstate teams at KP and smaller clubs from Melbourne giving us a distinct crowd and confirmation bias, do you think MAYBE our record there comes just from the combination of the fact that we have been ****ing good everywhere for nearly two decades and that teams naturally play a lot better at home, rather than because for 20 metres of one boundary on the outer side of the ground, the line doesn’t quite curve the same way it does on every other part of the ground 😂

No but that’s what it is. The two teams with the best records against us - one of them plays on a 20c piece next to Randwick Racecourse and the other plays on dimensions the same size as Docklands - seem to handle it fine but nobody else can wrap their heads around it.

Um, because we’ve been ******* good?

Let me tell you something.

Joel Selwood retired with a record of 97-14 at Kardinia Park. A record of 87 per cent.

His record in ‘home’ games (not finals, just regular home games) at other venues like Marvel and the MCG?

41-8. A record of 82 per cent.
His record away full stop, was 65 per cent.

Now considering we play big and usually good teams at the MCG and generally interstate teams at KP and smaller clubs from Melbourne giving us a distinct crowd and confirmation bias, do you think MAYBE our record there comes just from the combination of the fact that we have been ******* good everywhere for nearly two decades and that teams naturally play a lot better at home, rather than because for 20 metres of one boundary on the outer side of the ground, the line doesn’t quite curve the same way it does on every other part of the ground 😂

No but that’s what it is. The two teams with the best records against us - one of them plays on a 20c piece next to Randwick Racecourse and the other plays on dimensions the same size as Docklands - seem to handle it fine but nobody else can wrap their heads around it.
So a difference of 65% v 82% is not material?
Your HGA is massive.
As I said, when you become an interstate team getting on a plane every second week - then and only then will you deserve a home final.

So a difference of 65% v 82% is not material?
Your HGA is massive.
As I said, when you become an interstate team getting on a plane every second week - then and only then will you deserve a home final.

Our extra home ground advantage is non existent. Against interstate sides it’s no different to any Melbourne team, and anything it nets us against the like of the Bulldogs and saints and Roos is neutralised by the fact that we don’t as a general rule host the other sides. Sorry but the figures bear it out. We win because we are good, not because there’s a straight line along one area of our ground.

Ollie wines’ win loss record during a career where bar one season he’s been in a side with a positive win-loss record has a differential of 14 per cent.

Sorry but other teams’ geography issue is no different to ours. Teams are where they are and while it’s disadvantageous you can’t change it. They get home finals, why shouldn’t we.

What a rort.

Collingwood doesn't even play a home and away game at Geelong. The only club with the exemption.
A final is no chance

Our extra home ground advantage is non existent. Against interstate sides it’s no different to any Melbourne team, and anything it nets us against the like of the Bulldogs and saints and Roos is neutralised by the fact that we don’t as a general rule host the other sides. Sorry but the figures bear it out. We win because we are good, not because there’s a straight line along one area of our ground.

Ollie wines’ win loss record during a career where bar one season he’s been in a side with a positive win-loss record has a differential of 14 per cent.

Sorry but other teams’ geography issue is no different to ours. Teams are where they are and while it’s disadvantageous you can’t change it. They get home finals, why shouldn’t we.
if your extra HGA was "non existent" why would you want a Home Final?
Stop being absurd - and then you try on, that your geography is the same as all other interstate team? Are you actually serious?
Mate, you insult our intelligence with that comment.

if your extra HGA was "non existent" why would you want a Home Final?
Stop being absurd - and then you try on, that your geography is the same as all other interstate team? Are you actually serious?
Mate, you insult our intelligence with that comment.

Because it’s what is right.

And you insult people’s intelligence suggesting that our record is so good because the ground has a different shape when over a recent 17 season stretch our ‘home’ record playing exclusively against opponents on THEIR home field is almost as good as our record at KP. It was a stupid comment and you let it go through to the keeper when it was highlighted.

The fact is that interstate clubs have it tough because of where they are and nothing will change that. But they at least get the benefit of hosting teams that have had to travel interstate every second week, hosting their own finals, and having 12 games on their own field every year. We don’t. So saying ‘you have clearly the best home ground advantage in the league’ isn’t correct, is it.

MCC will want more games at the MCG.
Carlton increase from 5 home games at MCG --> 7 home games (Marvel contract renewal end of 2024)
Essendon increase from 4 home games at MCG --> 7 home games (Marvel contract renewal end of 2024)
If Hawthorn reduce/leave Tassie, 2 extra games at MCG (Tassie agreement ends in 2025)

7 extra games at MCG should offset Geelong playing all H&A/finals at GMHBA. They have to agree to let Collingwood play away though.

How is this still a thing?

Sorry GWS and Freo…it’s just you Geelong will have a distinct home ground advantage against…

Everyone else, you’re good to go…

We play well there and have beaten them before in a final, but the whole thing is a massive steaming turd

I doubt Geelong will qualify for a home final - not sure they are a top 6 team. But this isn't unfair for GWS, Freo.... It's unfair for Geelong and advantages to other sides

I didn't need to. You interjected on a comment around corruption and mentioned our CEO.
I asked for evidence. You cited the rule.

I am now stating its not a corrupt rule.
You need not explicitly state the words if that's the intention of the comment you're conversing with.

If you agree its not a corrupt rule, and that the 6-6-6 is a good rule then feel free to run and tell the richmond faithful to drop the CFL shenanigans.

1. You won't have the stones to do that.
2. It wouldn't be received too well among the tin foil hat wearing Tigers faithful.
Imagine explaining this concept to some normal people over a beer or something.

Person one: "Yeah my team used to be really good, but they've struggled in recent years"

Person two: "Oh that sucks! It happens to everyone though. No team can stay up forever and father time is undefeated after all"

Person one: "No no no!! It's got nothing to do with age, or other teams improving, or the competition working us out. The AFL is corrupt and they changed the rules to stop us!

Person two: "Really? I'm intrigued. What did they do? Make Richmond's goals worth less points? Make them play on the opposition's home ground? Take away their draft picks? Make them trade their best players?"

Person one: "Well...um...not exactly. They implemented the 'stand rule' which is a condition that every club has to play under. Basically, it's supposed to allow for cleaner and faster ball movement as the man on the mark can't move"

Person two: "Wow, that's really something...and this what stopped your team being good? Nothing else?"

Person one: "Absolutely. We would still be a dominant force if not for the rule change. I know we've had 4 years to adjust, but how are we supposed to win now??? The 'stand rule' made Dimma root the trainer. It made Dusty, Cotch, & Jack get old, and worst of all, it made us trade all our picks for those two GWS spuds!! Don't you understand?!?"

Person two: "I think it's time for you to seek help mate. Have you looked into therapy?"

Roast Geelong getting home finals…but only against small drawing teams