And bothered to get the 1977 grand final attendance correctBe nice if he took the time to learn how to pronounce the names of Port legends like Cahill an Sorrell

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
And bothered to get the 1977 grand final attendance correctBe nice if he took the time to learn how to pronounce the names of Port legends like Cahill an Sorrell

You listen to what Bucky said and Jack said about giving everything to win and believing they were the best players in the the competition out there and compare that to the weasel words of Hinkley about how someone has to lose and how good are the opposition and you realise what's missing when the whips are cracking.
And bothered to get the 1977 grand final attendance correct![]()
The published attendance for the 1977 grand final was 56,717. Are you saying the sanfl fiddled the figures again?
The published attendance for the 1976 grand final was 66,987 but that was tickets sold and Rucci maintains the sanfl let another 14,000 in so the real attendance was closer to 80,000. But that would have contravened health and safety legislation so they've always stuck to the tickets sold figure.
I remember they opened the gates in 1976 because of the queues outside so Rucci may be right but that would be hard to quantify. I know you couldn't move or see. I am a midget though.The published attendance for the 1977 grand final was 56,717. Are you saying the sanfl fiddled the figures again?
The published attendance for the 1976 grand final was 66,987 but that was tickets sold and Rucci maintains the sanfl let another 14,000 in so the real attendance was closer to 80,000. But that would have contravened health and safety legislation so they've always stuck to the tickets sold figure.
In 1976 they actually had people sitting inside the fence along the boundary. I know this happened as I was at the ground but I cannot recall if the crowd was moved back inside the fence for safety reasons.
I think that crowd caused the SANFL to rethink it's policy on Football Park ground capacity. There were questions asked about crowd safety.
I can remember going to Alberton as a kid in the 1950's and we snuck over the fence in front of the Williams stand. We were promptly told to get back over the fence buy an official. There were obviously rules re crowds but the SANFL chose to ignore them on GF Day in 1976.
Same in '77. We joined the queue at 5am.That might be when they put the kibosh on walk up grand final ticket sales and pre-sold to ground capacity. Footy Park wouldn't have had seating then.
I'm reasonably sure 1976 was a walk up ticket sale, sit where you like.
Yes Trevor Sore Hell (2 syllables), not the Trevor Sorell (1 syllable) I've always known.Yes, calling out the names of the 77 premiership team.
I was one of those kids sitting inside the fence but I can't recall if it was for the whole game or not, I would have to watch the replay. I was allowed to climb over the fence and sit just in front of my parents, as iirc there were no numbered seats at that point and everyone just squeezed in.In 1976 they actually had people sitting inside the fence along the boundary. I know this happened as I was at the ground but I cannot recall if the crowd was moved back inside the fence for safety reasons.
And that lame ass look alike thing they tried on last season - with him as the reference point. An in-house joke thing for Port staffers that was totally lost on the crowd who paid good money to be there and shows yet again just how far the club admin has forgotten whose interests they should be serving.He's a self-important flog. Of all things, I really started to notice at the Perfect Pear fluff how he acts like a total dick.
Yes it was walk up. My mate & I joined the queue just near the Freighters factory and it took nearly 2 hours to get in. We were jammed in like sardines (the north eastern flank) & it was basically impossible to leave or to get our lunch from our bags at our feet. At some later stage they were ushering fans to sit on the grass between the boundary line and the fence.That might be when they put the kibosh on walk up grand final ticket sales and pre-sold to ground capacity. Footy Park wouldn't have had seating then.
I'm reasonably sure 1976 was a walk up ticket sale, sit where you like.
As I said before get Dwayne back, at least he knows all this stuffWalsh has the emotional depth of a sock puppet in a button shortage. Iām okay with him doing the Game Day MC role, but events like Friday night should be hosted by someone with far more gravitas and depth of knowledge than him. Everything about him is pretty surface level.
His Perfect Pear and Magarey Room work has developed a weird tinge of nastiness about it lately, he seems to enjoy humiliating people publicly which is ironic given he paints himself as Mr Mental Health Awareness on his social accounts.
Loves lecturing Port supporters on how to act as well, which is infuriating given he is financially reimbursed for his involvement for the club, whereas we pay for the privilege.
Yes it was walk up. My mate & I joined the queue just near the Freighters factory and it took nearly 2 hours to get in. We were jammed in like sardines (the north eastern flank) & it was basically impossible to leave or to get our lunch from our bags at our feet. At some later stage they were ushering fans to sit on the grass between the boundary line and the fence.
Whatās worse we loss & the jumbo prince did a job and a half on us. One of the most dominant games I ever seen a player play
We just had to turn up! Cost us big time!Yeah, Davies and Murphy ran where they liked and marked what they liked. Davies, Bagshaw and Murphy were a pretty good on ball brigade. I think we were over confident as we were the form side going into the game but at least we learned something from that loss as Jack didn't lose many more Grand Finals. We do not seem to learn anything from a loss these days.
Yes it was walk up. My mate & I joined the queue just near the Freighters factory and it took nearly 2 hours to get in. We were jammed in like sardines (the north eastern flank) & it was basically impossible to leave or to get our lunch from our bags at our feet. At some later stage they were ushering fans to sit on the grass between the boundary line and the fence.
Whatās worse we loss & the jumbo prince did a job and a half on us. One of the most dominant games I ever seen a player play
Yeah, Davies and Murphy ran where they liked and marked what they liked. Davies, Bagshaw and Murphy were a pretty good on ball brigade. I think we were over confident as we were the form side going into the game but at least we learned something from that loss as Jack didn't lose many more Grand Finals. We do not seem to learn anything from a loss these days.