Autopsy Rd 2 vs Hawks - Blues fight but lose due to lack of class and pace ... again

Who played well for the Blues in Round 2 vs Hawthorn?

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Agreed. I thought Ollie was terrific last night. He is a genuine footballer. As is Campo. Haynes played a very good game also. Motlop much better than last week but 1.3 hurt us. We took away the way the Hawks wanted to play but we could not execute or made mistakes that cost us goals. Sadly some of our leaders failed us last night. Walsh went at 50% disposals efficiency yet again. Charlie was invisible. SOS was gallant but dropped a sitter then kicked a point instead of having a set shot directly in front. Doc dropped a sitter just before 3 quarter time that would have been a set shot for goal. Weitering and TDK tried to mark instead of spoiling inside D50 which cost us a goal. Cripps tried a difficult snap instead of giving the handball in board to a player in a better spot. You can’t blame a lot of that on the coach.
Agree with a lot of this.

And add the dump kicks out of defence and high/dump kicks into F50, there’s the game.

Walsh was a shadow of his former self last night. Was pedestrian, no intent and jogged a lot behind the contest. Not sure if physical, mental or both but has aged like an inverse Benjamin Button movie on fast forward. Again hope it's temporary.

All these comments...mine included of 'if only kicked straight', 'if only did that like last year', 'when this clicks into gear', 'on a 'insert weather' does really well, when he is available'. Coming to the realisation we are miles off unfortunately.
Funny, the missus and I caught up at local pub for a wine while kids had stuff on after a v busy week. Missus was on the phone to a friend so I was BF browsing. As I was reading Arrows multi thread tome and was thinking of a proper reply, who should roll in for a beer. Motlop, Carrol, Durdin, Williams, Cripps, a few wives, couple of boys I didn't recognise.

The irony of reading a reply from can't remember who replying to Arrows what would you do post, and 5 of the 7 guys in the pub were on his hit list Of trade or move on.
Little fellow got on his bike though, was at home. He got a pic at least. Motlop, lovely kid.

View attachment 2256795
Gee, the kid is taller than Mots already... :sweatsmile:

Carlton are no better since Voss took over.

Only winning 2 of the last 11 ... against WC and North is testament to that. We can't even beat the Wooden Spooner.
Yep ... even Richmond play better footy than Carlton. That proves where we are at.

Even a rebuild wouldn't work. It didn't last time as only a limited number took a hit .. including Admin.
Enough rot in the system survived and no doubt would again. Not much will change because like some around here ... all Carlton need is a few tweaks and all is good ... no worries mate. A bit of white washing and we're back. lol

Carlton are going nowhere cause we are just not good enough, unfortunately. A long way off the Top teams imo.
Skills are bad ... and until the basics are improved significantly for starters ... the Blues are going nowhere.

For any who disagree ... 2 wins from the last 11 - think about that. Sorry ... I don't take excuses.

Edit: Most of what I see Motsy doing is a lot of scragging opponents and giving away frees.

Bored Cabin Fever GIF

Carlton are no better since Voss took over.

Only winning 2 of the last 11 ... against WC and North is testament to that. We can't even beat the Wooden Spooner.
Yep ... even Richmond play better footy than Carlton. That proves where we are at.

Even a rebuild wouldn't work. It didn't last time as only a limited number took a hit .. including Admin.
Enough rot in the system survived and no doubt would again. Not much will change because like some around here ... all Carlton need is a few tweaks and all is good ... no worries mate. A bit of white washing and we're back. lol

Carlton are going nowhere cause we are just not good enough, unfortunately. A long way off the Top teams imo.
Skills are bad ... and until the basics are improved significantly for starters ... the Blues are going nowhere.

For any who disagree ... 2 wins from the last 11 - think about that. Sorry ... I don't take excuses.

Edit: Most of what I see Motsy doing is a lot of scragging opponents and giving away frees.
You’re wrong…

Pointless, aimless, overly emotional & reactive.

You’re post has something in common with our team at the moment.

Had we not missed the three very gettable shots in the second half that they transitioned down the other end to get goals themselves I wonder what we'd be saying.

The TDK and Silvagni shots were especially frustrating.
What happened to that goal at the city end Wick where the two players were jostling on the goal line. What was the free for?

We have a few issues other than poor forward quality.

Match fitness is one. We have a bung of players and many are our better and more experienced players who just look so poorly prepared. Mistakes to positioning, losing opponants, sloppy skills etc. All looks like players who are desperate to get games under their belt.

I think one of the areas we lost this game as accountability in the back end. We had a lot of moments where players were manning grass instead of their opponants. Too many lose opposition players when the ball was heading that way.

I think a lot of that is early season rust.

The main thing is we improved. A lot of individuals improved.

Ffs.

Watched the second half, third quarter I thought we played our game and kept ourselves in it. Motlop improved again
Which was nice to see.

Omg the last quarter:

As soon as our pressure drops off we’re essentially done.

Don’t want to see Jsos anywhere near a forward line again, his set shots just kill us. With the working class game style we play we cannot afford shit set shots, it just makes it too hard.

Hey Carlton: Dump kicking out of our D50 HAS TO ****ING STOP, ARE YOU LISTENING MICHAEL VOSS.

Do something about it for ****’s sake.

Until we find the right mix down back and start moving the ball out with some more polish we will struggle to get near the pointy end of the ladder.

Understand the romance of drafting the Campos but both are suspect kicks, starting to question some of the recruiting team’s calls tbh.

We need better kicks and more run in the team because it’s very obvious we cannot play 4 quarters of our game style it’s just too punishing.

If Boyd does come back in next week (would have liked to have seen Carroll but he didn’t get up for the vfl so that won’t happen) he must be given licence to attack with run and carry. Stop using him to get put of jail and start allowing him to actually use his one wood to the team’s advantage.

Oh and stop the ****ING DUMP KICK OUT OF OUR BACK HALF.

What happened to that goal at the city end Wick where the two players were jostling on the goal line. What was the free for?

I promised myself that if I came back to posting here I was going to try to avoid going off on the umpires as much as possible.

I thought they were radically inconsistent all night. However, after watching last night's game, oh boy. I just hope the umpires are as out of form as we are as a team because that was not a positive look for the league whatsoever.

Ffs.

Watched the second half, third quarter I thought we played our game and kept ourselves in it. Motlop improved again
Which was nice to see.

Omg the last quarter:

As soon as our pressure drops off we’re essentially done.

Don’t want to see Jsos anywhere near a forward line again, his set shots just kill us. With the working class game style we play we cannot afford shit set shots, it just makes it too hard.

Hey Carlton: Dump kicking out of our D50 HAS TO ****ING STOP, ARE YOU LISTENING MICHAEL VOSS.

Do something about it for ****’s sake.

Until we find the right mix down back and start moving the ball out with some more polish we will struggle to get near the pointy end of the ladder.

Understand the romance of drafting the Campos but both are suspect kicks, starting to question some of the recruiting team’s calls tbh.

We need better kicks and more run in the team because it’s very obvious we cannot play 4 quarters of our game style it’s just too punishing.

If Boyd does come back in next week (would have liked to have seen Carroll but he didn’t get up for the vfl so that won’t happen) he must be given licence to attack with run and carry. Stop using him to get put of jail and start allowing him to actually use his one wood to the team’s advantage.

Oh and stop the ****ING DUMP KICK OUT OF OUR BACK HALF.
I agree set shots just kill our momentum however who other than Jack ? Kemp ? Lol Harry double lol that’s why if we’re moving silvagni back then get Boyd back to defence and move Gov forward he’s the only one that maybe can convert …

So early in the season, so many teams being thrown to the dump heap by fans and media. An old adage my Dad and many others have used over the years seems more truer this year than ever.

"The first five rounds are interesting, then they will sort themselves out" Where were brisbane and Hawthorn after 5 round last year and what happened after that?. Nothing is predictable in this game.

Carlton were red hot mid season last year and the gods decided differently. Yes we only won 2 0f our last 9 last year, but how many teams would of been able to cope with the injury woes with suffered?

We went to perth to play WCE, wooden spooners and our list was so decimated, they were favorites on all betting agencies, all media.

That has to tell you something. If we can remain reasonibly injury free, this team will win more than they lose and they will make the finals.

Feel free to quote me as the season progresses as I stand by it.

I agree set shots just kill our momentum however who other than Jack ? Kemp ? Lol Harry double lol that’s why if we’re moving silvagni back then get Boyd back to defence and move Gov forward he’s the only one that maybe can convert …
They wont move Harry or Charlie and really Kemp v Jsos, i’ll take Kemp at least he holds onto his marks and is a better set shot.

Hard to judge forwards like kemp in particular when our strategy is to bomb it long into f50.

I think kemp and jSos when called upon have a part to play as forwards. Both have good atttibutes.

If as a collective our strategy was to pass to our forwards leading into space then kemp and Jsos are two players that I’d back in as forwards.

As disappointing as the result was again on Thursday, it was a better performance against a better team. It's far too early to be calling the season over. I'll just point out that Hawthorn lost their first 5 games in 2024 and Brisbane had won one of their first 4 games.

People are also a bit rough on players at times. As far as Silvagni goes, he missed the whole of last season and the last third of 2023 with knee issues, sometimes you need to keep your expectations realistic. It may take some time for him to pick up the pace . Plenty of time to go in the season, strap in and enjoy the ride whatever happens.

I just want to see them improve again this week, the season will take care of itself. Taking it a week at a time.

As disappointing as the result was again on Thursday, it was a better performance against a better team. It's far too early to be calling the season over. I'll just point out that Hawthorn lost their first 5 games in 2024 and Brisbane had won one of their first 4 games.

People are also a bit rough on players at times. As far as Silvagni goes, he missed the whole of last season and the last third of 2023 with knee issues, sometimes you need to keep your expectations realistic. It may take some time for him to pick up the pace . Plenty of time to go in the season, strap in and enjoy the ride whatever happens.

I just want to see them improve again this week, the season will take care of itself. Taking it a week at a time.

WB Gab

You’re wrong…

Pointless, aimless, overly emotional & reactive.

You’re post has something in common with our team at the moment.
Yeah I get it .... 'at the moment' - it's only temporary. A couple of bad hair Days ... all good at Carlton. She'll be right mate.

A few tweaks and we are a contender again. That's the problem ... Carlton don't think anything is wrong either.... that's why little gets done. 30 years and counting. Can you blame Carlton folks for not being happy..?

Optimism and Faith is beautiful ... only it doesn't win you Premierships. Hard work and footy smarts does.
Sam Mitchell appears on track ... Voss doesn't.

Edit: Ok I'll stop the grizzling. It is what it is. ;)

Silvagni was a shining light on Thursday night...

It's funny how they had them training all summer in different positions and then when it gets hard get shifted back to last year's positions...and only in round 2...

LoL for ****s sake....

On CPH2135 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Silvagni was a shining light on Thursday night...

It's funny how they had them training all summer in different positions and then when it gets hard get shifted back to last year's positions...and only in round 2...

LoL for ****s sake....

On CPH2135 using BigFooty.com mobile app
If he could just tidy up his set shots (feel like we say this about the whole team weekly), he'd be a real handy forward.

Not going to beat anyone kicking 60 points for the game....

Charlie and Harry need to start earning their large pay packets!

Autopsy Rd 2 vs Hawks - Blues fight but lose due to lack of class and pace ... again