Review Round 10, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. Narrm

• Thread starter Thread starter ZoBlitz

Who were your five best players against Narrm?

Agree with others re hangover.

Hunger gone

We get 20 points up then cruise

Other sides lift - we just let them

We stop running and just hope it turns around. How damning were those 2 kick ins in a row last quarter when we were behind, both sideways to pocket. No dare

Fagan’s use of the subs the past 2 weeks embarrassing

Answerth horrendous and has to go

Midfield mix is wrong

Defenders keep getting sucked in to the contest, how often do they all go for it and it just slips out the back?!

Easier draw has deceived us. Given 5 day break before bombers there are no easy wins. Could we drop the next 5?

Charlie is such a rut. Lohman needs to go back to basics. What has happened to Cal?!

No more Mulligans please Fages.

And is it just me or is everyone's grand final against us this year haha. C'mon, I haven't seen Melbourne play anywhere near that good this year. Well done to them too. They certainly weren't as polished as us with disposal & ball movement chains as we were, but football is a simple game, the team with a greater appetite for the contest usually wins.
We had them on the mat and played them into form. They were full of it in the last 10 minutes.

There was a few moments when Morris could gave gone harder from behind that i noticed. On the flipside at least i noticed him… i hardly spotted Rayner today (despite his 15 touches).
I was going to ask if Rayner’s role had changed this year? His second half of the year last year was fantastic in comparison to previously and was obviously recognised league wide given his selection in the 40 man AA squad. He’s nowhere near that this year.

Can’t remember the last time we’ve beaten the Hawks - crap game at Docklands last year and the year before at the G. Hawks a much better side this year. Time to get the monkey off the back. Did it a number of years ago when we had never been the Pies at the G. Big game. Hope us Lions supporters are out in force Saturday arvo.

Big Footy is an emotional space, yeah I know.

I love this team, my team.

We're way ahead of where I was expecting us to be at this stage of the season wins & losses wise.

I also have a hell of a lot of faith that our club is doing everything it can to win this years premiership.

Some of the posts here are pretty crap.

Would you rather go back to how we were in 2013 - 2017? So many short memories.

Will Ashcroft's lack of intent to do any defensive work and no look dump kicking is a concern.
Will's biggest problem imo is he wins ball dishes off and calls for a hand pass back that 7 times out of 10 he is under pressure and dumps its inside fifty it hurts us alot as he has out worked his man and when it turns over his opponent is ahead of him and he doesn't have the pace to then cover who has left there guy to cover his.
I love the kid but sometimes it's clear to see what will happen before it does...if that makes sense.

I wonder who played well in the ressies? They might get a call up.

Oh yeah, that's right, the VFL scheduled another friggin bye this week. 10 games in the AFL so far and only 6 in the VFL. Amateurs.

I don’t think I’m being reactionary or over the top. I’n not calling for anyone’s job or melting about specific players.

This is 10 weeks of evidence that we aren’t quite up to it. We have the statistical profile of a team around 9th but we pulled out a few wins to get ahead of the game.

Coming into the actually difficult part of our draw we have an awful form line and questions everywhere.
I think we’ve seen other grand finalists have very slow starts the following season, to make late season charges. For me, the reduced off season is a major factor.
We have wins on the board, so assuming we follow the trend we can are still quite capable of giving the finals a good shake.

Goodwin may be average in many areas but he does a really good job in identifying opposition weapons and get plans in place to blunt them.

Melksham on Harris and Petracca playing on Dunkley were interesting moves.

Highest tackle count on Lions side was Lester with 5. Even Dunkley had only 4 as I think Petracca went defensive on him. Rest didn't bother.

Note to Brisbane defenders. The big bald dude is not - I repeat NOT on your team.

I know we were wearing a different jumper today but it's not excuse for not being able to kick to a team mate. How many kicks inside attacking 50 didn't even go to a challenge, let alone to our advantage? And clearing defence ..... what a ****ing joke. Just keep kicking it to the biggest guy on the pitch and hoping he doesn't just send it straight back.

Big Footy is an emotional space, yeah I know.

I love this team, my team.

We're way ahead of where I was expecting us to be at this stage of the season wins & losses wise.

I also have a hell of a lot of faith that our club is doing everything it can to win this years premiership.

Some of the posts here are pretty crap.

Would you rather go back to how we were in 2013 - 2017? So many short memories.
Very true. The live threads are even worse and I never follow them anymore.
The experience of being at the GF last year was so good, no one can take that away! That's in the bag.
People go lifetimes without being able to see their own team win a flag in person.
After GF last year I said, we could finish bottom 4 next year and I wouldn't complain... that might be pushing it a bit, but you get my drift.

Neale’s floor has fallen from a 6/10 game to a 4/10 game, and they’re coming more frequently.

Harris out of form and confidence and playing cranky and undisciplined football.

Charlie desperately needs a training block.

Will needs to learn that you run just as quickly when the opposition has the footy as what you do when we have; quicker even.

Bez back will assist, but god almighty we need Starce.

Those patchy early season wins will be worth their weight once the attitude reset occurs in the run home.

Goodwin may be average in many areas but he does a really good job in identifying opposition weapons and get plans in place to blunt them.

Melksham on Harris and Petracca playing on Dunkley were interesting moves.

Highest tackle count on Lions side was Lester with 5. Even Dunkley had only 4 as I think Petracca went defensive on him. Rest didn't bother.

I'm far from a Lester booster but I thought he saved us from three or so goals just by scrapping hard.