Autopsy Round 11 - St Kilda v Gold Coast

I was just looking at the 2001 season as couldn't remember how deep it was that Roo made his debut (was round 15). Was thinking in comparison to seeing Tarau.

Geez we copped some fearful beatings that year but we saw some glimpses. 2002 was only slightly better and then we saw the real growth coming by the end of 2003 which catapulted us into 2004.

I feel like we are at the 2002 stage. Losing most games, having a bad quarter that affects the final result but seeing the kids develop. Will be similar next year but hopefully a list that is getting ready to really roll from 2027.

Next time our recruiters line up a player that then wants to come to us, I really hope they don't then baulk over the difference between a 2nd and 3rd round pick. Having Xeri as ruck today would have gone a long way to reducing the impact of their midfield.

I don’t get to many games these days so it’s a different experience without the closer focus, the replays, the stats, looking at BF Gameday. And of course the commentary.

So sitting high up in L3 I could look about and see things for myself. Interestingly, what said to my son leaving and what most sensible supporters are saying in here were pretty similar. And then I listened to Ross’s press conference. Am in agreement.

They are a more talented and experienced team than us. Just the talent of the tape with their multitude of draft picks would suggest they would win easily. And a couple of times I thought….here we go. They looked ominous. But we kept at it and reeled them in.

But for a few absolute howlers, some terrible set shots, and 3 (or was it 4) posters we were right with them. And I know I have rose colored glasses when it comes to the Saints, but we got some terrible bounces that eluded our guys and landed right in the lap of a Suns player.

Every dump kick we seemed to have to do landed badly for us. Theirs fell into space or were run onto by Ben Long. Very little the defenders could do about that.

They nailed their shots, we didn’t. Poor old Hunter Clark had a decent game, but he can’t kick over a jam tin. Owens had some rolled gold opportunities, but sadly didn’t convert.

Higgins had a quiet day, but I swear he wasn’t right. I was looking at him behind play and he was quite proppy. He didn’t have tge speed and energy he brought to the Freo game that I went to. He’s crook or got some injury. Not the same guy.

Was pretty pleased with our young guys. I wanted to see that, and got it. Some mistakes for sure. Boxshall impressed when he came on.

Marshall got monstered in the ruck and their midfield got ascendancy. But somehow we negated the multitude of opportunities all that brought. Hill had a couple of really bad patches and that was disappointing. Wilson way out of touch. Hall couldn’t get near it. Byrnes was ok. Got put in some difficult spots. His own doing and some others fault.

But overall I think we’re going ok. Disappointing, but you can see some good things.

And what did that peanut Josh Jenkins say? Thick as a brick that bloke.
Yea how many times did they soccer out the ruck or soccer it off the ground and it landed in Ben Longs chest. So frustrating

That's the lowest crowd at a St Kilda game at Docklands.

Previous low 14,018 against Port Adelaide in 2001.
Further to this.

Today's crowd 13,486

There have only been 9 games played at Docklands with lower crowds. But

- 4 were during 2021- ignore them

- 3 were hosted by Melbourne- they should never have hosted games there, and stopped years ago.

This leaves only 2 games:

North Melbourne vs Melbourne in May 2022 had 13,422 (And maybe covid was still playing a role then?)

Western Bulldogs vs Freo in 2003 had 12,542.

Embarrassing.

And especially concerning when St Kilda played interstate last week and isn't playing in Melbourne again until June 12.

No worries
I don’t care about the stats - at the game live when we were coming in a few big moments he snuffed it. He did in VFL week before as well. His kicking isn’t his strong it’s ok as a club to not put players on unrealistic pedestals from time to time. He has work to do on his kicking if he wants to be an elite top 10 draft pick. I don’t think that’s controversial that’s just where he is at IMO.
At the game live I saw him fluff two kicks. Every other disposal I thought was classy and often under pressure he eased the pressure with a quick change of direction or smart handball.

I don’t think anyone has put him on a pedestal. I’m saying I think the two errors in the scheme of things is not as bad and not indicative either.

Isn't it interesting that we will be absolutely torn to shreds in the media this week for pointing out the fact that Gold Coast get ridiculous access to this talent, at the cost of cellar dweller minnows like us because the big Vic clubs poached their talent. St Kilda are in absolute no mans land when it comes to talent access, and we will be ripped apart for it.

We’ll win plenty of games in the run home, because we aren’t that bad. Won’t help our cause, but it’ll keep the culture disciples happy.

We will continue to be stuck in no mans land.
History provides some support for this.

7 of the last 12 are at Marvel, where St Kilda has a 20-13 record in Lyon's current stint. 3-3 so far this season.

Another is at the MCG versus Richmond, where we'll start favourites.

Lyon's only coached one bottom 4 side in his 15 seasons.

I thought that was a pretty reasonable performance. Didn't get the chocolates because of the big disparity in goalkicking accuracy, but aside from that I thought we ended up having them covered.

Clark was helpful, he'll be better for the run. Steele had good impact with Macrae out. Owens has taken a step forward this year. Pou is progressing nicely as he gets up to match fitness. Trav played his best game for us. Keeler and Hammer both stood up pretty well in defence. Box isn't out of place at all despite being super young for his role. O'Connell isn't going to be a world beater but he's a cog.

This season is shot but I leave this one feeling mildly more optimistic about how our list build is going.

I was just looking at the 2001 season as couldn't remember how deep it was that Roo made his debut (was round 15). Was thinking in comparison to seeing Tarau.

Geez we copped some fearful beatings that year but we saw some glimpses. 2002 was only slightly better and then we saw the real growth coming by the end of 2003 which catapulted us into 2004.

I feel like we are at the 2002 stage. Losing most games, having a bad quarter that affects the final result but seeing the kids develop. Will be similar next year but hopefully a list that is getting ready to really roll from 2027.

Next time our recruiters line up a player that then wants to come to us, I really hope they don't then baulk over the difference between a 2nd and 3rd round pick. Having Xeri as ruck today would have gone a long way to reducing the impact of their midfield.
I be remember those 2001-03 years fondly actually. I sat there watching Bombers belt us by 91pts but saw a skinny blonde haired kid take down a couple of strong grabs from not many chances and I left that game kinda happy knowing the future was coming….i haven’t seen Tauru so let’s not put too much pressure on. The only thing i will say…that 01-03 bunch had a load of top end picks coming through ….this lot doesn’t seem to have that magnitude yet…gee I hope some at least come on …Jury out obviously

It's funny, ongoing and absolutely relevant. Nothing wrong with being a little bit strategic in this 'equalised' competition that we play in.

We winge or shake our heads at the inequality of the competition and we are in the worst position. No man's land with 13000 people turning up to a home game. Pinning our hopes of flankers to become mids or average footballers like Byrnes to suddenly grow into a graders.

Many supporters happy to be losers and sook about how unfair everything is, I'm microwaving my membership this, I'm emailing the club that. But then they are happy to call others losers for wanting to strategically get a leg up for the future.

Even tonight we are saying we are cooked, let's play the kids and get a top 4 pick but its funny to make fun of people who actually want this club to be relevant. Being strategic is all we can hope for when we are mid table and not getting free hits left right and centre.

Man, we are so irrelevant we brag about wins that mean nothing, we talk about the glory days of 09/10, when we nearly won.

North's culture building win when they missed Harley Reid resulted in a 3 win season the following year.

I'm sick of getting little wins against 'big clubs' who used to hurt our feelings when we were crap in the 80s when we were all kids.

The same old bullies will laugh at this post, but we are in a horrible position. We need some hope, 2025 is done, last year we were 8 and 3 after 11 rounds. We won a bunch and flattered ourselves.

Time to go into our 3rd "year of exploration" and tank the crap out of the rest of the year.

Was it Ricky Bobby who said if you ain't first you're last?

Look at NBA teams, they trade away their best players mid season to ensure a lower finish and draft for their futures. If and when they make finals are do people talk about the loser club choices from years earlier?

Whatever it takes, besides peptides, to win a flag. Ok, I'm done, rant over. We're miles off it.
Don’t agree we’re miles off it. GC are top 3 this year and we are playing kids with key positions missing. Keep playing players that earn the spot.

Whilst I'm at it. To the rich ST Kilda supporters who could get us out of this AFL debt barrel but are choosing to sit and see us work our own way out of it to build character you can get F'd too.

The historical disadvantage of our club from day 1 (read the point of it all) due to lack of money is the main F'ing cause of our poor history. Yabby told everyone after experiencing both sides. And yet you tell The Age you could but won't. Well 13k at Marvel was our reward. Thanks. After 50 years I'm sick of the building. Why should I feel any need to keep ploughing my way more meagre money in if "you could but won't".

At the game live I saw him fluff two kicks. Every other disposal I thought was classy and often under pressure he eased the pressure with a quick change of direction or smart handball.

I don’t think anyone has put him on a pedestal. I’m saying I think the two errors in the scheme of things is not as bad and not indicative either.
Ok his kicking is Nas like sorry to point out he has a weakness which I think most supporters probably acknowledge. Carry on he’s a star!

Ok his kicking is Nas like sorry to point out he has a weakness which I Rubin’s most honest supporters probably acknowledge. Carry on he’s a star!
Ok Mr Black and white. I never said his kicking was Naz like. Nor is it something he doesn’t need to work on.

Plenty to like from today.

Kids showed plenty - Trav will be a player, just needs time. Keeler looked like a proper AFL players today. Finally showed some of the moves he pulls out in match sim. Hammers best game in defence. Box did some nice things once he came on.

Wilkie game King an absolute bath. Steele looked much better today. Nas and Sinclair did Nas and Sinclair things. Phillipou looking better each week.

The bad was obviously the goal kicking. Should have been 1 goal down - if not in front - at 3/4 time with how dominant we were in the 3rd. Most of those misses were very gettable shots too.

Agree with most, that was a really good performance considering the talent the other side possessed. Losing is never fun, but it was great to see the talent we have coming through show signs against a very good side. Kick straight in front of goals and we give ourselves a good chance to win. It was evident we still lack in certain areas, but there were signs that a lot of those areas will be filled in the future.

The Phillipou train is about take off!
I was disappointed with what Keeler showed in his earlier games, but today he looked like he was beginning to believe he belonged.
Caminiti was going for his marks and got his hands to a lot he will clunk down the track. He looked a lot more assured in defense today.
Travaglia belongs at the top level and will only improve. He might not be the immediate midfielder we were wanting, but he will be one hell of player.
Boxshall is another who in time will become an excellent midfielder.
OConnell will win the most courageous player award at some stage, he is improving every week.

Garcia and Carroll showed today in the VFL that they are both keen to keep the pressure on.

I said earlier in the year that we have a bottom 4 list, thats only because kids take time and with the turn over of players we have had we will need time to build the quality and depth into the list. When the turn around occurs it will come fast and the trend will be up :arrowup:.

Isn't it interesting that we will be absolutely torn to shreds in the media this week for pointing out the fact that Gold Coast get ridiculous access to this talent, at the cost of cellar dweller minnows like us because the big Vic clubs poached their talent. St Kilda are in absolute no mans land when it comes to talent access, and we will be ripped apart for it.

I see Hardick had a crack in the presser as well “saints had 13k there today …probably need to worry bout themselves..” type dribble ..we had 13k in part you brain dead git cause we are playing an AFL expansion club in Melbourne at 4.40pm on a Sunday who have zero fans ….he then went on to say how they beat a side who on their home deck should’ve been favourites and they won’t 2.5-3qtrs ….he failed to say they played a bunch of kids and but for errant kicking in the 3rd qtr his now hardened (cause they win away now….theyve made it!!) glamour side full of AFL freebies would’ve gone into the last qtr behind !
Guys an absolute flog of the highest I reckon “Mrs Hardwick” would agree…

Yes—absolutely, a lot of people do quietly (or loudly) agree with Ross Lyon’s remark, even if it was blunt.

🧠 Why Many AFL Fans Relate to Lyon's "Nepo Baby" Jab:​

✅ 1. The Suns (and Giants) Are Widely Seen as AFL Creations

• The Gold Coast Suns and GWS Giants are perceived as manufactured clubs—not built from community demand but imposed by AFL HQ to chase TV deals and “national expansion.”
  • Traditional fans, especially from Melbourne-based clubs, often see these teams as plastic, lacking real tribal identity.

✅ 2. They've Been Heavily Backed Financially

• Suns have received millions in AFL assistance, including priority draft picks, generous funding, and off-field interventions.
  • Compare that to struggling traditional clubs—like North Melbourne or St Kilda—which were told to merge, relocate, or die quietly.

✅ 3. There’s Frustration with the AFL’s Unequal Parenting

• The AFL acts like a controlling parent, giving extra allowances and protection to its “younger kids” while letting the older ones fend for themselves.
  • Fans feel there's favoritism—and that favoritism is not acknowledged honestly.

Lyon's line cut through the BS. “Nepo baby” stung because it sounded like the truth.

🟥 But There’s Also Pushback​

Some say Lyon's comment was:

• Disrespectful to young players and club staff trying to build something real.
  • Hypocritical, given that every club benefits from the AFL structure in some way.
  • A sore loser’s deflection after a poor performance.

Still, the fact that so many supporters from traditional clubs nodded quietly when they heard the line says something. Whether he meant to or not, Ross gave voice to a lingering resentment.

Would you like a quick quote or tweet-style take that expresses support for what Lyon was trying to say—without sounding like a sore loser?