Autopsy Fremantle With a Golden Win in a Wet Slog

I watched a replay of the 4th quarter just to watch the great man. I was pretty critical of his impact watching live. 2 free kicks, a missed ground ball. I only saw the errors.

With hindsight he was instrumental in several important plays. I still think Erasmus is better, both long term and currently, I wouldn’t displace Erasmus for Fyfe.

I like him as sub until he moves across the ground a bit better.
Give him the Shaun Burgoyne in his last year treatment. Sure fyfey sees his role more like pendles currently though.

So, I've been watching the last minute or so a ridiculous amount of times (still getting the dopamine hit from it, yes, and a smile from ear to ear) 😁

I shudder to think of the heartbreak if we hadn't executed these things perfectly.

• Freddy taking possession in the center and breaking an almost-tackle.
  • Brayshaw's last possible moment to handball before getting pinged holding the ball.
  • Jackson's kick centering it. If it had fallen a couple of metres short the Suns player would have broken away.

The Bolton and Amiss play goes without saying.

I can still rewatch it and feel great, right up to JL getting pumped and juxtaposing to Dimma slamming the desk and saying "jiminy jillickers'.

Rewatch it guys, you'll feel great!

The radio commentators were so biased. They would scream at every gold coast goal. I didn't even know amiss kicked the sealer until I checked my phone for the score. It was "OHHHHHH MAC ANDREW TAKES A MARRRRRRRRKKKKKKKK" compared to "Amiss dribbles the ball forward, oh its a goal."

Oh mate, it didn't stop there.

At the half time breaks/after the game summations (from the following matches) all that the hosts were focused on were GC.

I was/still am too elated, don't care one bit 🙂

Yeah on rewatch I wasn't as dirty on Banfield, he was properly following his man and only came in when he saw old mate about to step inboard, he just had to wait another second
Thought Banfield played well off half back. He looks so composed. That was an error. For mine Flanders barely moved - it was more of a fake move to try and coerce ole banners to do what he did. He needed to be better and I’m sure he’ll learn from that.

GC had a genuine ploy to try and draw 50m penalties. There was another one in the middle of the ground very similar. Also Mac Andrew dropped the ball with Serong I think it was and the umpire saw through it. On the whole the umpires weren’t too bad except two infuriating deliberate out of bounds Free kicks. One against Banfield which was actually a smother and that call led to a goal and another against Cox that he chipped forward whilst being tackled and went close to another Freo player. On first live view I didn’t like that Free kick where Jed Walter threw his arms out against Draper but on replay it was clearly a free kick.

So, I've been watching the last minute or so a ridiculous amount of times (still getting the dopamine hit from it, yes, and a smile from ear to ear) 😁

I shudder to think of the heartbreak if we hadn't executed these things perfectly.

• Freddy taking possession in the center and breaking an almost-tackle.
  • Brayshaw's last possible moment to handball before getting pinged holding the ball.
  • Jackson's kick centering it. If it had fallen a couple of metres short the Suns player would have broken away.

The Bolton and Amiss play goes without saying.

I can still rewatch it and feel great, right up to JL getting pumped and juxtaposing to Dimma slamming the desk and saying "jiminy jillickers'.

Rewatch it guys, you'll feel great!

I was thinking the same thing. So many potential coach killers but they all worked out.

Before Freddy got the ball, someone straight lined the ball and completely over ran it. Then, Freddy near tackled. He had options open and wide and still chose a solid option in Jackson, but missed him. Jackson then handballs instead of dump kicking it down the line. Brayshaw then turns back into tackler and just releases the ball. He also should’ve dump kicked it down the line. Jackson hack kicks it to the worst possible space where GC had guys free and ready to rebound.

All of it saved by the GC player getting run down by Bolton.

But before that Reid was immense in keeping a ball live in an outnumber and allowing some troops to arrive and then Brayshaw winning the big contest.

Just watched the last 2 minutes replay.

That last boundary throw in our forward 50m GC have 2 extra to contest. It's 9 vs 7 around the drop of the ball (11 vs 9 inside our forward 50). This is just before Freddie, who sets up outside the 50m arc, goes back and retrieves the defenders kick out that goes towards the middle of the ground and slips out of a tackle to kick it towards Jackson.

Treacy is the other one staying back behind the wing. Before Freddie picks the ball up it's deflected off Treacy as he's crashed into a Suns player who stays on the ground during the next phase of play. (From the behind the goals vision after Amiss kicks the goal, you just see a glimpse of that player still in the same spot outside the square, maybe getting some help from someone from the bench. He's gone by the time of the centre bounce).

Then Jackson gives it to Brayshaw and back, and when Jackson hooks his kick across goal inside 50m - GC outnumber us again in defence by 2 extra and Bolton makes the ground to tackle.
When Jackson kicked it there i was thinking wtf he is doing.

GC could have been out on the other side

I was thinking the same thing. So many potential coach killers but they all worked out.

Before Freddy got the ball, someone straight lined the ball and completely over ran it. Then, Freddy near tackled. He had options open and wide and still chose a solid option in Jackson, but missed him. Jackson then handballs instead of dump kicking it down the line. Brayshaw then turns back into tackler and just releases the ball. He also should’ve dump kicked it down the line. Jackson hack kicks it to the worst possible space where GC had guys free and ready to rebound.

All of it saved by the GC player getting run down by Bolton.

But before that Reid was immense in keeping a ball live in an outnumber and allowing some troops to arrive and then Brayshaw winning the big contest.

Oh, the Reid play was majestic!

Do you reckon the "dump kicks" to the line could would have resulted in deliberate? The umpires would have turned it over in a heartbeat at that point, I think our players were aware of it.

Jackson hack kicks it to the worst possible space where GC had guys free and ready to rebound.
Luckily for us is went to a player (Holman) who despite being in the system 12 years, and evidence to the contrary, still thinks he's a top player. So instead of drawing the defenders and handballing he just sets off on the rebound himself, blinkers on.

I'm yet to watch the game, but I'm really impressed! 3 wins on the bounce, 2 in wet weather which can be real heavy on the legs (having played multiple soccer matches in the UK in rainy sloggish conditions, albeit not professionally...!). It can be draining. But I pencilled this in as a probable loss, really happy to be wrong in this situation.

Starting to see a lot clicking and going right - with multiple avenues to goal and not just relying on a Treacy or one individual (although I'd really like early 2025 Treacy to return please!). So easy to pot J-Lo when the performances are a turgid mess and the losses pile up, but how about we compliment and pay dues when he does some good and gets it right. Credit where credit is due, the team is humming lately. I wasn't thrilled with the changes and felt it might de-stabilise or unbalance the team, but again....I was wrong.

Really not easy to go up to NepoBabyLand and snatch a victory when they've been in solid form themselves and are likely playing finals for the first time in their history (although it would be hilarious if they broke their camel backs off this fiesty straw and went on a goliath losing spree, lol!), not to mention trickier wet conditions......big up the boys, you gone done well. Very impressed, and now for a slightly more 'palatable' month of footy off the bye. No bye hangovers PLEASE!!!! :straining:

Top guns :)

Thought Banfield played well off half back. He looks so composed. That was an error. For mine Flanders barely moved - it was more of a fake move to try and coerce ole banners to do what he did. He needed to be better and I’m sure he’ll learn from that.

GC had a genuine ploy to try and draw 50m penalties. There was another one in the middle of the ground very similar. Also Mac Andrew dropped the ball with Serong I think it was and the umpire saw through it. On the whole the umpires weren’t too bad except two infuriating deliberate out of bounds Free kicks. One against Banfield which was actually a smother and that call led to a goal and another against Cox that he chipped forward whilst being tackled and went close to another Freo player. On first live view I didn’t like that Free kick where Jed Walter threw his arms out against Draper but on replay it was clearly a free kick.
I haven’t watched a replay, but watching first time around I felt Banners was an important part of righting the ship in the second half of the third.

Well articulated, and I agree it was an error, just not the gregarious error I thought first watching it live - he got sucked in.

The Walter free was there but he massively played it up and there were a couple similar we didn't get.
It was a lot like the general midfield holding frees, I watched them closely and they were all there just very minor, and we generally didn't receive the same adjudication, at least in several obvious scenarios I saw.

The interesting one is the late Brayshaw high hit, with the benefit of others angles it's actually very debatable which way it could go. I think with the very visual high impact on Brayshaw it helped him there, although surprised they didn't pull him off the field.

Overall I thought the umps were actually pretty good, with those obvious insufficient intent mistakes.
Personally I prefer an umpiring style that lets it run a bit more, but it's so hard to tell if the players have already been warned beforehand around marginal ones and continue or the umps just take very strict interpretations.

I haven’t watched a replay, but watching first time around I felt Banners was an important part of righting the ship in the second half of the third.
Seemed to move further up the ground when Worner was subbed out esp last qrter. Although he does seem to be free to move around the ground where he can

Well articulated, and I agree it was an error, just not the gregarious error I thought first watching it live - he got sucked in.

The Walter free was there but he massively played it up and there were a couple similar we didn't get.
It was a lot like the general midfield holding frees, I watched them closely and they were all there just very minor, and we generally didn't receive the same adjudication, at least in several obvious scenarios I saw.

The interesting one is the late Brayshaw high hit, with the benefit of others angles it's actually very debatable which way it could go. I think with the very visual high impact on Brayshaw it helped him there, although surprised they didn't pull him off the field.

Overall I thought the umps were actually pretty good, with those obvious insufficient intent mistakes.
Personally I prefer an umpiring style that lets it run a bit more, but it's so hard to tell if the players have already been warned beforehand around marginal ones and continue or the umps just take very strict interpretations.
Yeh I was concerned for a second he dived in and took out the feet.. phew..

Yeah Banfield field kicking on his left is pretty good, maybe that’s his schtick going forward?

Oh, the Reid play was majestic!

Do you reckon the "dump kicks" to the line could would have resulted in deliberate? The umpires would have turned it over in a heartbeat at that point, I think our players were aware of it.

Well I’d like to think we’d have representation down the line in these later stages. I’m not saying kick it out of bounds. Just down the line

Although Freddy missed Jackson, he showed enormous poise.

Nearly got tackled. Didn’t panic handball in congestion. Used his legs. Found an open option.

Could easily have been tackled or rushed a handball or dump kicked it to a contest (which wouldn’t have been a horrible option in the circumstances)

Yeah Banfield field kicking on his left is pretty good, maybe that’s his schtick going forward?
Think that's how they using him in def, as an outlet for handball out the back and to kick it into fwd or wing..he is kind of playing Cooper's role

On the whole the umpires weren’t too bad except two infuriating deliberate out of bounds Free kicks. One against Banfield which was actually a smother and that call led to a goal and another against Cox that he chipped forward whilst being tackled and went close to another Freo player.

Meanwhile there was one for GC in the 2nd(?) qtr where they kicked it out of their backline down the line with not a GC player within 30m of it.

Those get paid 100 times out of 100 and we'd already picked up the ball to take our kick, only for the ump to inexplicably call for a throw in. Made me extra angry every time they pinged us for it after that.

Although Freddy missed Jackson, he showed enormous poise.

Nearly got tackled. Didn’t panic handball in congestion. Used his legs. Found an open option.

Could easily have been tackled or rushed a handball or dump kicked it to a contest (which wouldn’t have been a horrible option in the circumstances)
Great choice, was either Jackson or boundary throw in. Jackson's kick though.... Yikes

Other than banners 50 and Jackson's wild kick thought the team made good choices down the stretch.

Do we win that without Fyfe out there in the last quarter? If we’re talking about his impact purely as a player then yes we probably do.

But it’s the impact he has an experienced leader & the fact that as a teammate you stand a little taller when he’s out there with you. You can’t measure the impact that has on our young group.

We have so many young players who have played very little footy with him that they would still be in awe of him as a player & wouldn’t want to let him down in that last quarter.

In my opinion I think as a coaching group, the day couldn’t have gone any better.

Autopsy Fremantle With a Golden Win in a Wet Slog