Preview R16: Changes vs. Richmond Tigers (after the bye)

Which of these players will be out of the 23 vs Richmond?

Does it really matter anymore?..

The fact that this shitful club still continues to pick cooked garbage or just plain garbage like smith and murphy over youth.. because “experience”.. tells us all that the flogs in charge still put themselves and their ambitions in front of the longterm good of the team.

Until Nicks and a couple of others are gone and their arsebackward selection polices turfed with them.. we will be the next port power.. just nearly good enough.

And that pathetic sook from the club about social media lighting up over the Murphy selection was vomitworthy..

They circle their wagons so quickly when their shitful selection calls are exposed or their precious little dogshit favourites that “hold shape” are potted, dont they..

To think.. if they circled their wagons just as fast when a young player was being attacked in the media.. we’d have T. Stengle lining up in that forward line with rach and ranks right now..

Stengle must be thanking his lucky stars..

The silly thing with this experience line is that this is 2025 not 2022/2023. The likes of Rachele, Soligo and Michelanney etc all have 50+ games under their belt.

And we have bought in players like Rankine, ANB, Cumming and Peatling - all with 50+ games.

This experience line is hogwash.

Are we really going to lose to Richmond at the G?
Richmond have been decent on their day.

They also beat us last year undermanned.

We just need to be at our best though.

Early days...but perfect time to give younger guys a go & manage a few.

In: Draper, Edwards, Taylor, Peatling
Out: Murphy, Smith, Walker, ANB

B: Michaelanny, Butts, Keane
HB: Laird, Worrell, Milera
C: Edwards, Soligo, Curtin
HF: Rachele, Fogarty, Keays
F: Rankine, Thilthorpe, Dawson
R: O'Brien, Peatling, Draper
I: Hinge, Berry, Cumming, Taylor
Sub: Pedlar

OUT:
Curtin, Michalanney, Worrell, Thilthorpe, Soligo, Cumming

IN:
Jones, Schoenberg, Sholl, Burgess, Cook, McHenry

Let's not stop just at Murphy - let's go all in on reviving the glory days of 2022.

I'm sure this is some sort of joke that has been chortled about for the first 4 pages but I will register my official denunciation and condemnation of the misleading title that this match is taking place in R17 instead of reflecting the official fixture which has in R16. My travel plans are now ruined.

As for the outs it has to be Smith, Murphy and Tex.

Tex just cannot play dewy footy and we are in winter. I think his best position these days is playing high up to connect but he is too slow. He can play again in round 22 and 24 to give TT/Fog a rest before finals. The carrot being he can play 7 games across 2026 to get him to 300 before he is finally taken out to pasture.

Smith provided us nothing from sub. He had his fairytale moment earlier in the season where he kicked a goal at the end of the game. Why the hell was that not his swansong? We need others to be coming on and getting valuable time in the 1s.

Murphy is so wasted. We already have two blokes who can play a defensive forward role. Why did we add a third? To play on a guy who ended up being best on? Sick plan, Maffew. Fire into the sun.

He isn't gonna do that, he wants to get to 300 games.

No doubt, Tex is as selfless as Sloane. It’s all about him. And that’s ok, it’s perfectly normal, I’d be no different. But he doesn’t bleed red, blue and yellow, he bleeds Tex Walker. Tex would choose 300 for him over a flag for the club, it’s that simple.l

I don't think Tex would choose 300 over a flag. I do think Tex would choose 300 over a finals also-ran which is the best we can hope for this year.

If we were in 2017 form then Tex may be having a man conversation with himself. But we're not, and he's not. He knows he's not costing us a flag this year. Once (if) finals are locked in, we'll rest him for either WC in Perth or NM in Melbourne so that he can play his 300th in a losing Elimination Final.

Preview R16: Changes vs. Richmond Tigers (after the bye)