Review Cats destroyate Tuggers by 72 points

OH was poor but why is Dempsey getting a free pass, he was pretty rubbish tonight too imo. I was at the game and it was frustrating watching him miss goals, fumble , not chase hard or go the hard ball. One time there was a high ball into the forward line for Richmond and instead of running hard and going the spoil he just watched the Richmond player mark it without even trying. Really pisspoor. The guy has talent but he needs to put in more and stop mucking around. OH as well.
It's not just you with Dempsey. Obviously it's great we have him locked down but he isn't exactly known for liking the hard stuff. His ball use needs a lot of work if he wants to reach the ceiling he could. Just butchers it a lot.

OH was poor but why is Dempsey getting a free pass, he was pretty rubbish tonight too imo. I was at the game and it was frustrating watching him miss goals, fumble , not chase hard or go the hard ball. One time there was a high ball into the forward line for Richmond and instead of running hard and going the spoil he just watched the Richmond player mark it without even trying. Really pisspoor. The guy has talent but he needs to put in more and stop mucking around. OH as well.

lol Dempsey has rarely had a bad game in his career. Bit silly/strange to want to give him a bake because he’s had a quiet game today.

Steven’s was solid on debut. Gives off Tom Green kinda vibes. Would like to see him against GWS but not sure he’ll stay in if Smith plays. Who misses in a like for like role?

Thought Duncan was poor. Rarely sighted apart from quarter time breaks. You’d swear he wasn’t out there.

Bit of chat about O Henry. He’s struggling but I’m not sure he’s getting many looks either given the focus on Cameron and Neale going inside 50.

And Z Guthrie. I’m going to call it. He’s gone past T Stewart.

More love for Gorgeous George

For those, who mentioned George’s leadership:

“There were plenty of accolades along the way including premierships, best and fairest awards and representative team selections, but what stood out above everything else was Stevens' incredible attitude and demeanour, able to persevere through any and all adversity.

His character and personality quickly saw Stevens become a leader when he arrived at Geelong, often willing to put in extra hours on the training track with the Cats young players and even with the club's academy stars.”

https://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/1820616/george-stevens-set-to-make-his-afl-debut-on-saturday

It’s a funny thing to say he needs to play against an opponent who is more challenging. He’s a debutant and the most raw player on the ground. Every opponent he plays would be of greater challenge than the VFL.

Typically, a debutant has a quiet overawed game against any opposition (first or last on the ladder).

He looked very settled at the faster pace of the AFL, he contributed and was integral. He showed his strengths and covered his weaknesses. He definitely looked like he belonged.
For sure, he's just played one of the best debuts we've seen in a while. I guess I should be more specific in that I mean a quicker and more damaging midfield that would show up a lack of closing speed more dramatically.

Could also be that I was just totally wrong, which is always a strong possibility

Steven’s was solid on debut. Gives off Tom Green kinda vibes. Would like to see him against GWS but not sure he’ll stay in if Smith plays. Who misses in a like for like role?

I thought I detected shades of Greg Williams. I thought Duncan was obviously surplus to requirements, so I suspect he'll be dropped for Smith and Stevens will be the sub. Stengle probably in for OH, though I didn't think Henry was that poor today.

Great debut from George.

Our running team built to win on MCG in finals has struggled at home. We haven’t had the balance right for home games on the tighter and more congested ground.

George may become a GMHBA ground specialist while he continues to develop ie horses for courses.

crosta:.... fully agree with you speaking in glowing terms of George Stevens but I reckon it's a 'big mistake' to use a 'horses for courses' approach with George and I'll tell you why, cos I reckon George is the best inside mid we've had at the club 'in years'. Has an elite footy brain, positions his 'young' strong body brilliantly in contest and is so creative with 'superior hand and foot skills', better than Dangerfield and Selwood in that area, especially in congestion and his is only 20 years old. Reminds so much of former Sydney Swans champ in Josh Kennedy and coincidentally they are pretty much the same height at 189 cms with body strength and weight comparative when George fully matures. George Stevens is virtually a Josh Kennedy clone, Mark 11 version and I'd love to see the Cats MC play him in every remaining game of the year to prepare him for finals which will be 'hugely beneficial' to all concerned. Mark my words this kid is going to be a future elite inside midfielder of the AFL competition and we certainly don't need to recruit guys like James Worpel from Hawks when we've got this kid who in time will be classes better than him, we've 'struck gold' with this kid.

Thought Duncan was poor. Rarely sighted apart from quarter time breaks. You’d swear he wasn’t out there.

Bit of chat about O Henry. He’s struggling but I’m not sure he’s getting many looks either given the focus on Cameron and Neale going inside 50.

And Z Guthrie. I’m going to call it. He’s gone past T Stewart.
Laugh react for the Duncan comment. Love it

One thing I liked was the confidence turnaround in Neale mid game

First quarter early he seemed to have cymbals for hands and I thought he was going to put in a shocker. Then that ground level snap (which he also nearly fumbled) gave him that boost of confidence and he worked into it.

A good experience for him to build on in the future when things are going against him

Should also mention that next week will be Camerons 100th game for Geelong….funnily enough against his old side and our bogey team 😬
So now we have dibs on his off springs? Well if it’s still around by then and they don’t pick GWS I guess

Snapped my wrist on my left arm and ruptured a tendon on my right hand straight after the Sunday evening Eagles win a few weeks back and have not been able to type well over that time.

Nor was I particularly compelled to contribute over that period.

Post-bye though, it’s time to take stock as we consider mounting an assault on the 2025 flag.

All these soft wins against unserious teams like Richmond make it hard to guage just where we’re at - and it’s the same for every decent chance this year.

Regardless, I liked what I saw this evening.

George Stevens made quite an impression on debut.

Can he be more than GHS, more than Charlie Constable? Maybe. Great start, but then again I was pretty bullish on George H-S. Whatever; great game and he gave Tommy Atkins some much-needed assistance.

Brad Close’s game caught my eye tonight; I’ve seen very mixed views of his 2025 season on this board, and I don't necessarily disagree with that conjecture.

But I think he has been adapting to a post-Tom Hawkins forward line with intelligence.

Small and slight by AFL standards, Close nonetheless regularly finds himself in the role of lead-up forward conduit - it’s my contention that Close has been dilligently developing this aspect of his Forward line role.
Rarely wins an aerial contest in those outlet-contests. But I reckon he has learned to nullify them very effectively.

Tonight his game reminded me - a bit - of Paul Chapman’s pre-2007 role in Geelong’s forward line, minus the Alpha Male posturing, Great stuff.

Similarly, Zach Guthrie’s efforts in the D50 are starting to conjure comparisons to his 2000s #39 counterpart in Darren Milburn. Dasher was uglier and meaner - but who is the better contested mark, the better 1v1 player? Tight.

A Bailey Smith-less midfield only demonstrated just how much Gryan Miers generates in his role as a non-clearance-attending mid.

Miers linked up all over the ground and invariably gave those forward of the play a better than even chance of gaining possession.

4 Points.

Sorry to hear about the injuries mate; hope your recovery is going well

And it's good to have you sharing your thoughts, always love reading your insights into our games

I'm a long time fan of Guthrie and agree that this approach doesn't change regardless of score or opponent - I'm not sure we've necessarily seen him at his best, so I hope he takes some confidence from today's game

I thought I detected shades of Greg Williams. I thought Duncan was obviously surplus to requirements, so I suspect he'll be dropped for Smith and Stevens will be the sub. Stengle probably in for OH, though I didn't think Henry was that poor today.
I think we need Stevens against Green and Callaghan.

It's difficult to find a sub. Mullin, if he doesn't have a tagging job? Bowes played pretty well so I'd be trying to let him build consistency.

Huge fan of Ollie Dempsey r32godzilla: but I've gotta 100% agree with your comments and these flaws have been creeping into his game for a while now and he needs to cut it out and get far more serious which includes being harder at the ball but also to concentrate and focus on the far more simpler things cos the guy got way too much talent to be doing what you have accurately described. Ollie has all the talent in the world and I'm sure in time he will fully fulfil those talents.

Unpopular opinion: Dempsey is a big talent, but very, very vanilla.

Needs to go when he has to go. Doesn't always do that. He is clearly a very good player and when on is one of our best, but needs to be more physical when the time comes.

Sorry to hear about the injuries mate; hope your recovery is going well

And it's good to have you sharing your thoughts, always love reading your insights into our games

I'm a long time fan of Guthrie and agree that this approach doesn't change regardless of score or opponent - I'm not sure we've necessarily seen him at his best, so I hope he takes some confidence from today's game

thanks mate - just a dumb accident C09; especially at my advancing age.

Review Cats destroyate Tuggers by 72 points