Review Cats destroyate Tuggers by 72 points

Yeah nah

Game day thread closed before any posts are made in here , my previous posts before yours was made well after the thread was closed

Happy to be corrected by a mod if needed..don’t really care either way as the point still stands
As done mine. I will post what I want about who I want and not bend that to anyone's will.
Don't like it then read something else. He deserved scorn tonight, and got it.

'twas a slow, fumbly start, but eventually we warmed up and got the machine going.

Thought everyone had their moments, but for mine Stevens was a standout.

His debut game, and allegations of being too slow for seniors, but he was like a tractor in the guts. He mightn't have a lot of speed but boy he has some torque.

We blew out some cobwebs, we got miles in the legs, we got a solid win, and best of all, no injuries.

Congrats to Cameron for his 700th, and to Scott for his 350th.
Agreed. First of all I do not think he is that slow. Secondly his inside game perfectly compliments Holmes, Smith, Miers and Mannagh. Finally, the foot skills are clearly there which adds a lot of depth to the game. Reminded me a bit of Bartel the way he hit the ball.

(Ok I will chill out it was just one 20 touch game against bottom feeders)

Agreed. First of all I do not think he is that slow. Secondly his inside game perfectly compliments Holmes, Smith, Miers and Mannagh. Finally, the foot skills are clearly there which adds a lot of depth to the game. Reminded me a bit of Bartel the way he hit the ball.

(Ok I will chill out it was just one 20 touch game against bottom feeders)

Yeah, it'll be interesting to see how he goes against better quality competition, but then I thought the Tigers had a go with their pressure and tackling so there's that.

There's obviously some history between posters here. I imagine most people would have zero interest in that and just want to discuss the game. I would like the option to put people on ignore on a thread basis.
You can always just skip posts until it becomes too much mate.

Thanks! I always enjoy writing them, and of course I'm always interested in discussing differing opinions because I always call it as I see it, but that doesn't mean I won't change my mind if the facts persuade me. Last thing I'd want is to be the guy that talks up a dud player no matter what, or who decides he hates someone and badmouths them non stop.

I never get the sense that you're adhering to a strict pre-determined narrative which give the posts more cred imo

Was the first time we didn't end up activating our sub?
I reckon it's the first time a sub hasn't been activated full stop

I've got a feeling that when Knevitt came on last year against Adelaide, that it was the latest a sub has been activated and tonight may well be the first time it hasn't been used

What stands out for me with him is the ball use was good. 86% DE when he's got a 1:1 kick to handball, zero clangers, 1 turnover, the 14 score involvements. All very good.

Would like to see him against opposition that provides more of a challenge though

It’s a funny thing to say he needs to play against an opponent who is more challenging. He’s a debutant and the most raw player on the ground. Every opponent he plays would be of greater challenge than the VFL.

Typically, a debutant has a quiet overawed game against any opposition (first or last on the ladder).

He looked very settled at the faster pace of the AFL, he contributed and was integral. He showed his strengths and covered his weaknesses. He definitely looked like he belonged.

Excellent debut for George, looked right at home and I reckon you can never have enough ball-getting inside mids, especially with the Dash brothers out there to hand off to.

Was a bit of a 'roll the arm over' second half, but truthfully I'll always be happy with a 12-goal win and the positive signs shown today. Needed a bit of a booster after the brutal Lions loss. Plus it was after the bye, weren't we the side that couldn't beat an egg after the bye during the 10's?

As an aside, as the unplayed sub, does Duncan still get credited with a game played, and insofar as career stats go, another win participated in? He seemed to have a wry smile when pictured late in the game, still sitting down with his tracksuit on. Get the feeling he probably wasn't all that shocked he wasn't required to go on. maybe Stevens played too well to take off?

I reckon it's the first time a sub hasn't been activated full stop

I've got a feeling that when Knevitt came on last year against Adelaide, that it was the latest a sub has been activated and tonight may well be the first time it hasn't been used
Fyfe last weekend I think too.

It’s a funny thing to say he needs to play against an opponent who is more challenging. He’s a debutant and the most raw player on the ground. Every opponent he plays would be of greater challenge than the VFL.

Typically, a debutant has a quiet overawed game against any opposition (first or last on the ladder).

He looked very settled at the faster pace of the AFL, he contributed and was integral. He showed his strengths and covered his weaknesses. He definitely looked like he belonged.
No doubt he played very well and espically amazing considering it was his debut , I think there needs to be a consideration to see how he goes up against a better midfield and a larger ground like the MCG with more space

But imo he has the traits we have been crying out for regarding an inside bull so it’s exiciting to see how it plays out

OH was poor but why is Dempsey getting a free pass, he was pretty rubbish tonight too imo. I was at the game and it was frustrating watching him miss goals, fumble , not chase hard or go the hard ball. One time there was a high ball into the forward line for Richmond and instead of running hard and going the spoil he just watched the Richmond player mark it without even trying. Really pisspoor. The guy has talent but he needs to put in more and stop mucking around. OH as well.

Yeah, it'll be interesting to see how he goes against better quality competition, but then I thought the Tigers had a go with their pressure and tackling so there's that.
Yeah from memory I saw him shoulder to shoulder with Hopper a fair bit so it's not like he was up against some 80kg teenager

In all the excitement of the game today, Jack Martin kicked his first goal, playing in the Hoops 😻

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/16dyzX1eZL/?mibextid=wwXIfr

Review Cats destroyate Tuggers by 72 points