Review Round 18 vs Collingwood @ People First Stadium - Fri 11 July 7:40pm

3 wins in a row
that 3 loss streak doesn't seem that long ago, but we've turned it around nicely.

To do that without Collins, Ballard and effectively without Miller - 7 players with less than 50 games experience. -top notch boys. Only getting better.
People also forgetting Will Graham who was holding down a midfield role until injured.

3 wins in a row
that 3 loss streak doesn't seem that long ago, but we've turned it around nicely.

To do that without Collins, Ballard and effectively without Miller - 7 players with less than 50 games experience. -top notch boys. Only getting better.
not to mention Graham

Key position / tall players last night
Crazy the experience difference.

Witts 32 years - Cameron 29 years
King 25 years - Moore 29 years
Andrew 21 years - Mcstay 30 years
Adams 21 years - Cox 34 years
Uwland 21 years - Membrey 31 years
Read 20 years. - Howe 35 years
Walter 20 years - Maynard 28 years

Relatively even between the 2 groups. Youn guys are doing alright!

Key position / tall players last night
Crazy the experience difference.

Witts 32 years - Cameron 29 years
King 25 years - Moore 29 years
Andrew 21 years - Mcstay 30 years
Adams 21 years - Cox 34 years
Uwland 21 years - Membrey 31 years
Read 20 years. - Howe 35 years
Walter 20 years - Maynard 28 years

Relatively even between the 2 groups. Youn guys are doing alright!
Great when we win, they get questioned when we lost

BIG shoutout to all the Suns fans that made noise during the game last night. We definitely contributed to Collingwood missing all those shots on goal in the first half and the noise our fans made when we hit the lead late with the Ben Long and Noah Anderson goals was awesome to hear + came through really well on the TV broadcast. Just gotta keep that up for every home game and it'll be really difficult for any team to beat us at PFS.

not to mention Graham
Surely Graham will move into the 1-3 week category on the injury list this week. Seems like he's been 4-6 weeks for the longest time. Getting him and Touk back in a few weeks from now will be huge boosts for us late in the season.

Can someone confirm something for me.
Did some inbred entitled Mexican in the Collingwood Cheer Squad last night wack on a Gold Jacket when they were up by 3 points last night.

If so, find him. I want to thank him so much for putting the curse on the Collywobbles.

Can someone confirm something for me.
Did some inbred entitled Mexican in the Collingwood Cheer Squad last night wack on a Gold Jacket when they were up by 3 points last night.

If so, find him. I want to thank him so much for putting the curse on the Collywobbles.

Attachments

• IMG_5092.jpeg
    IMG_5092.jpeg
    494.3 KB · Views: 31
Same here, he's been super the last month. Some players need to be in a good team to perform maybe?

I lean toward positivity and last night was great, especially holding them off at the end, but if their poor goal kicking saved us last night. On another day Collingwood win that game by 5 goals.

Think we're still a level below the best teams.
Probably true but we’ve also got the most upside/ improvement of all the top eight sides. Exciting times ahead.
Noah and Rowelly you stars!!

The ball movement in the first half was really exciting to watch, but I was nervous that it wasn't reflecting on the scoreboard.
With them being goalless and us up by 40 points halfway through the third, I still felt uncomfortable and was shitting as that margin evaporated.

HOWEVER, for us to weather the comeback, re-take the lead, and come away with the win was character building. I hope that, this close to the finals, this is the game that our boys look back on with the belief that they can overcome anything.

I also hope that those black and white fans that penciled in this game as the perfect school holiday vacation where they could enjoy the Gold Coast and a Collingwood win at least enjoy the rest of their vacation.

I keep reading how the crowd was mostly Collingwood supporters but watching the game back and focusing on crowd and reactions (I have mentioned this before) a lot of people celebrating after suns goals are wearing black puffer jackets

Obviously lot of Collingwood supporters not going to deny it but the gap between opposition supporters and home supporters isn’t as big as it used to be.

Still, a lot of new/casual fans were burnt by coming to games.
And after so many false starts so hopefully
1. Winning
2. Playing an attractive game style
3. Not rolling over when the chips are down

So hopefully they can come back for a much better experience

I still think Saturday twilight/Sunday afternoon is the best time slot for home games crowd wise

I keep reading how the crowd was mostly Collingwood supporters but watching the game back and focusing on crowd and reactions (I have mentioned this before) a lot of people celebrating after suns goals are wearing black puffer jackets

Obviously lot of Collingwood supporters not going to deny it but the gap between opposition supporters and home supporters isn’t as big as it used to be.

1. Winning

I still think Saturday twilight/Sunday afternoon is the best time slot for home games crowd wise
I was over analyzing every person I walked past haha. Heaps of dark jackets and coats, plus heaps of gold coasters not wearing any merch at all.

Crowd noise was near 50/50 imo

1. Winning

I noticed this too
People in black clothes cheering for us

1. Winning

I was over analyzing every person I walked past haha. Heaps of dark jackets and coats, plus heaps of gold coasters not wearing any merch at all.

Crowd noise was near 50/50 imo
I noticed this too
People in black clothes cheering for us
I also noticed people in dark/black clothing cheering us on. I suspect it's partly people not owning merch (yet) and partly casual GC sports fans showing up for a big game and choosing to get behind us. I think we gave them a great reason to come back with the way we played against Collingwood and hopefully they buy some merch to wear at the next home game so it's a little more obvious that we do have good support in our own stadium. No doubt the next home game against Brisbane will also pull a big crowd so we'll certainly need them cheering loudly in the stands again!

As for the noise our fans were making, it definitely sounded louder than it has in the past when we've played Collingwood so that's likely an indication of more Suns supporters being in the crowd. The noise we produced after the more exciting goals felt close to the noise the Pies supporters were making after their goals and it translated that way on TV as well when I watched it back (check out the video below to hear it when Noz nailed the winning goal @ 7:30 mark). It was such a cool moment when Noah kicked the winning goal in the fourth quarter and the crowd went ballistic.

I think this is worth mentioning as well - we did a pretty good job of making noise to distract the Pies players while they were lining up for goal and I think that showed on the scoreboard by keeping them goalless for over a half of footy. Again watch the video below to see the noise being made when Collingwood were lining up for goal. It was noticeably louder than it has been in the past. If we could just bottle that noise both ways and bring it each week then we'll be VERY hard to beat at home.

I also noticed people in dark/black clothing cheering us on. I suspect it's partly people not owning merch (yet) and partly casual GC sports fans showing up for a big game and choosing to get behind us. I think we gave them a great reason to come back with the way we played against Collingwood and hopefully they buy some merch to wear at the next home game so it's a little more obvious that we do have good support in our own stadium. No doubt the next home game against Brisbane will also pull a big crowd so we'll certainly need them cheering loudly in the stands again!

As for the noise our fans were making, it definitely sounded louder than it has in the past when we've played Collingwood so that's likely an indication of more Suns supporters being in the crowd. The noise we produced after the more exciting goals felt close to the noise the Pies supporters were making after their goals and it translated that way on TV as well when I watched it back (check out the video below to hear it when Noz nailed the winning goal @ 7:30 mark). It was such a cool moment when Noah kicked the winning goal in the fourth quarter and the crowd went ballistic.

I think this is worth mentioning as well - we did a pretty good job of making noise to distract the Pies players while they were lining up for goal and I think that showed on the scoreboard by keeping them goalless for over a half of footy. Again watch the video below to see the noise being made when Collingwood were lining up for goal. It was noticeably louder than it has been in the past. If we could just bottle that noise both ways and bring it each week then we'll be VERY hard to beat at home.

It was freezing last night
We don't play night games
Unless you have a Suns puffer or coat you're wearing your ski jacket or windbreaker the vast majority of which are navy/black
I had no visible merch on last night
I couldnt find my heritage beanie:mad:

robo_1 lommy Mini GF Just to really illustrate the point, you can see in the gif below when they cut to the shot of the second tier after Noah kicks the winning goal there's lots of people wearing predominately black/dark clothing who are applauding. Purely looking at the colour of clothing that people wear to a footy game can obviously be very deceiving and we probably had a lot more support at that game than people think - hence the loud reactions when we kicked goals.

02da8800691e49b987b5cb7e92c35fb9.gif

It was freezing last night
We don't play night games
Unless you have a Suns puffer or coat you're wearing your ski jacket or windbreaker the vast majority of which are navy/black
I had no visible merch on last night
I couldnt find my heritage beanie:mad:
Fair to say you weren't the only one based on the above evidence. We might need the club to release a winter collection of merch!

One thing that's always baffled me was people that show up wearing stylish clothes but it's fine you slapped a Suns scarf on - At the bare minimum colour coordinate. Might just be a weird me thing.

Need the American style jacket I have it’s a beauty
Well you can't dangle that in front of us and then not post it mate!

I for one think that the colab hoodie with Elite Eleven is the best bit of merch the club has put out since the Suns baseball script hoodie from years ago - Came in clutch on Friday it was nippy as.

1752418099588.png