List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

It's concerning to me that some contract calls haven't been made earlier in the season.

It's all well and good to justify offering TDK 1.7 by saying we have extra money that needs to be spent, but how about we make sure the likes of Windy and Hall are locked away. Their stocks are rising. We need to recognise the talent we have and develop it.

What is Hugo's contract status?

I have been saying this for a month re Dodson. It’s not one week. Anyone who knows about football and wat he’s him for more then a quarter can see. Also this his first game as the only ruck.
There are players who look ready after a handful of games. I've been watching Dodson all year and his improvement has been a highlight. Get him in and see what he can do. We're not playing finals, so less pressure bringing him in this year. Not a knock on Heath but IMO Dodson has far more upside.

I don’t think he is the piece that pushes us anywhere.

I see it as simple as. At worst he is Marshall and at best he is the best ruck in the league.

Where our thinking needs to change is what happens with Marshall. I was all for him going back to being a ruck forward. But now? I want as many frp as possible to feed dimple.

The kids we have are good. Our talent id has been great.
Dalrymple has been pretty successful over the journey and has started well at the Saints.
I agree we need to give him as many opportunities as possible before Tassie.

We will have to trade as we dontvhaveca second and we need capital for Aleer.

What ever happened to buying draft picks?

Could be a smokey for next week given Butts out and Henry not setting the world on fire for the 3rd week running
I reckon Henry's close to have a big game. He did a lot of unrewarded running yesterday, where he was open and in the right spot up but we either fluffed the kick or chose the worse option.

Tidy a few things up and Henry will be the in right spots to capitalise.

It's concerning to me that some contract calls haven't been made earlier in the season.

It's all well and good to justify offering TDK 1.7 by saying we have extra money that needs to be spent, but how about we make sure the likes of Windy and Hall are locked away. Their stocks are rising. We need to recognise the talent we have and develop it.

What is Hugo's contract status?

He and Hastie re-signed earlier this year to 2027

I don’t think he is the piece that pushes us anywhere.

I see it as simple as. At worst he is Marshall and at best he is the best ruck in the league.

Where our thinking needs to change is what happens with Marshall. I was all for him going back to being a ruck forward. But now? I want as many frp as possible to feed dimple.

The kids we have are good. Our talent id has been great.
Thats fair, i worry some are over valuing what hes gonna do. Were not paying him 1.7 because hes a player worth 1.7 were doing it because hes the first remotely good FA who has shown any interest and weve got money burning a hole in our pockets.

Tend to agree on Marshall, hes not a forward and has never been one. Marshall, TDK, Heath and Dodson (plus Keeler as a KPP/Ruck and Boyd who i assume wont be there next year) is way too much to have on the books. I really doubt we get a first (even if it is a Geelong or Collingwood pick in the 20s) for him but it might still be worth the salary and a second for our academy kid or mini Pou etc.

Good footy players are good footy players, people get too hyper-fixated on labels (position, height etc).

Can’t see why we wouldn’t be happy with more standout players on the list.

We can run with 2 rucks, and Marshall (30) TDK (26), Dodson (20) means two out of three can be playing across the next span on time, and we may even trade Marshall, Dodson isn’t a sure thing, TDK hasn’t signed a contract.

Really doesn’t seem like anything to lose sleep over.

Thats fair, i worry some are over valuing what hes gonna do. Were not paying him 1.7 because hes a player worth 1.7 were doing it because hes the first remotely good FA who has shown any interest and weve got money burning a hole in our pockets.

Tend to agree on Marshall, hes not a forward and has never been one. Marshall, TDK, Heath and Dodson (plus Keeler as a KPP/Ruck and Boyd who i assume wont be there next year) is way too much to have on the books. I really doubt we get a first (even if it is a Geelong or Collingwood pick in the 20s) for him but it might still be worth the salary and a second for our academy kid or mini Pou etc.
I would be concerned if any genuine stkilda supporter didn’t understand why we are paying the reported figure.

Similar in my opinion to the report that we threw nearly $2m at Rowell.

Ultimately our fortunes will change based on the culmination of our moves, not a single particular addition to our list.

I would be concerned if any genuine stkilda supporter didn’t understand why we are paying the reported figure.

Similar in my opinion to the report that we threw nearly $2m at Rowell.

Ultimately our fortunes will change based on the culmination of our moves, not a single particular addition to our list.
Everyone understands the offer, but have all alternatives been explored?

What ever happened to buying draft picks?
The AFL are stalling. Wait until one of their darlings is in a position to gain an advantage of it, and watch it get introduced immediately.

It possibly makes the comp even more unfair. Imagine Brisbane selling their first round pick for cap space this year, sign Oscar Allen as a FA with that space, then take a couple of academy kids in the first round with junk 2nd and 3rd rounders?

I reckon Henry's close to have a big game. He did a lot of unrewarded running yesterday, where he was open and in the right spot up but we either fluffed the kick or chose the worse option.

Tidy a few things up and Henry will be the in right spots to capitalise.
There was one play where we ended up kicking it to Sharman who marked over a player and kicked the goal.

Henry was 40 out by himself on the other flank for a minute. It was ridiculous we didn't hit him up. He was there for an eternity. Incredibly poor vision by whoever had it, can't remember who.

To his credit he didn't sook it up afterwards.

Nas: “I need to see the club is trying everything to improve if I am to sign on again”.

Saints: “Well we have a FA, who was dominating early in the season, keen to come onboard. However some of our fans think he’s not worth the money we’ve offered so we probably won’t go in that direction. Unfortunately no one else wants to come to us. Anyway we’ve got to use it or lose it so I suppose we’ll just give Byrnesy and Cords each a 300% salary increase. They are a couple of our brightest stars and that should stop them being poached.

Anything else you need?

Nas: “Yeah. Can you order me an Uber to Tullamarine?
I like this idea. But instead of Byrnes and Cordy, how about Nas, Phillipou, Hall, Windhager and Tauru?

Like we did with Billings, Dunstan, Acres, Gresham and co? Their payday will come if they earn it but paying them too much, too early blows your cap to pieces later down the track when they’re improved and ask for more, or regress and don’t want a pay cut.

Seriously? You think TDK has been going well? He has been terrible for 12 weeks. Contributes little around the ground.

Marshall.is also on half the money of that. So if you want to use stats, he would have to be twice as good as Marshall.
Do you think TDK is twice the player Marshall.is?
For 1.7 million he will be expected to win games for us on his own. The money is ludicrous when we have players who can do the job, but we don't have midfielders of top quality.

You can reply to this but I am not continuing this with you, have seen you and Phantom going on and on for pages. My opinion has changed and blindly defending the club when it is obvious that circumstances are changing is fine for some, but I am entitled to my opinion especially when the evidence is in front of us.
As I said previously, I doubt we withdraw the offer and if we do get him, I hope he goes as well as you think. I also hope that some on here don't get their panties in a twist when he stinks up games ( as all players do) and gets bagged out on here, and Marshall is winning games at Geelong or where ever.
It was crazy day 1 and it’s still crazy if it’s just about the impact of Marshall v TDK.

Paying $1.7 for a ruck and just shrugging and saying oh well we need to spend it anyway is so lazy. What appears to be going on here imo is more along the lines of st Kilda replacing Marshall with a younger model and effectively buying a first round pick by trading Marshall out and overpaying for TDK.

Marshall spent plenty of time forward last night when Moose rucked, more than enough to remind people he’s no key forward. I’m ok with the TDK strategy maybe we’ll get the mid we need or another piece with the Marshall pick. On the flip side I’d be just as happy if the deal falls over and Marshall stays. Marshall, Moose, Dodson and Keeler is more than enough.

Nothing against Boyd but please can we move on now from the mature backup clogging up the works in the Vfl, hopefully the last in a long line.

Seriously? You think TDK has been going well? He has been terrible for 12 weeks. Contributes little around the ground.

Marshall.is also on half the money of that. So if you want to use stats, he would have to be twice as good as Marshall.
Do you think TDK is twice the player Marshall.is?
For 1.7 million he will be expected to win games for us on his own. The money is ludicrous when we have players who can do the job, but we don't have midfielders of top quality.

You can reply to this but I am not continuing this with you, have seen you and Phantom going on and on for pages. My opinion has changed and blindly defending the club when it is obvious that circumstances are changing is fine for some, but I am entitled to my opinion especially when the evidence is in front of us.
As I said previously, I doubt we withdraw the offer and if we do get him, I hope he goes as well as you think. I also hope that some on here don't get their panties in a twist when he stinks up games ( as all players do) and gets bagged out on here, and Marshall is winning games at Geelong or where ever.
Hows the ****ing drive by i copped here.

Outrageous.

It was crazy day 1 and it’s still crazy if it’s just about the impact of Marshall v TDK.

Paying $1.7 for a ruck and just shrugging and saying oh well we need to spend it anyway is so lazy. What appears to be going on here imo is more along the lines of st Kilda replacing Marshall with a younger model and effectively buying a first round pick by trading Marshall out and overpaying for TDK.

Marshall spend plenty of time forward last night when Moose rucked, more than enough to remind people he’s no key forward. I’m ok with the TDK strategy maybe we’ll get the mid we need or another piece with the Marshall pick. On the flip side I’d be just as happy if the deal falls over and Marshall stays. Marshall, Moose, Dodson and Keeler is more than enough.

Nothing against Boyd but please can we move on now from the mature backup clogging up the works in the Vfl, hopefully the last in a long line.

You have to wonder how much of it is just a Sos obsession.

Well, you don't... but I do.

Like we did with Billings, Dunstan, Acres, Gresham and co? Their payday will come if they earn it but paying them too much, too early blows your cap to pieces later down the track when they’re improved and ask for more, or regress and don’t want a pay cut.
Have you watched TDK this year? Nas and Hall have been much more influential than him. I would argue Windhager has been as well. And they are all about 3 years younger than TDK.
I would say that making a ruck the highest paid player in the league is much more likely to blow up the salary cap than front ending the contracts of a few young players who have shown a lot.