Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
The melts are entertaining but do you really believe that Carlton can actually pick the right players whether that be by trading or draft.

Our history is dotted with a failure to attract and secure good trades or overpay or make the wrong trade (see Judd where we should have kept Kennedy and let go of the number 1 pick). Apart from the 2015 draft we've failed with the majority of our picks (the last few drafts are still indeterminate).

I personally have no confidence that we will get it right which is a pity because after we thrashed Collingwood in round 3, 2012 I was very optimistic about the future.
If we put the players names on a wheel and throw darts at it, the hit rate would be an improvement. 😅

Not sure I see the logic in this?

If we 'stay the course', keep our cards close to our chest and keep Voss until the end of the year - what exactly would that achieve? Saves us a 15-minute PR disaster?

The way I see it, Voss should've been moved on the second it became clear the odds were against him.

All we've done is create a weird environment where everyone is in limbo and we can't even officially begin a coaching search. If he was moved on 6 weeks ago then the club would at least be able to answer the questions guys like TDK and JSOS are asking - which are likely - who will be coaching us? Who are we speaking to? What changes are being made? This applies also to recruitment - how tf are we supposed to pitch to potential players with so many questions lingering?

Optics wise, sure it looks stable and gives the illusion we're not panicking, but realistically? Absolutely pointless imo.
Staying the course does not mean keeping voss or getting rid of him or getting rid of him now or at the end of year.
I have no idea what X course is.

What I'm saying is if GW has a course/approach, then he should stick to that.
Melbourne moving shouldn't change that.

The course remains the same and moving off that shows a lack of planning, and structured approach that we desperately need. If done correctly they would have taken into consideration external changes in the market.

The Club DID communicate its direction to everyone that bothered to look I reckon.

I'll say it again liek I did in last year's trade period and draft- they ditched Kennedy and Owies rejected Houston and went long draft and youth. Just do the numbers.

The players who reckon that they should have had reinfocements also saw Martin/Cuningham and Marchbank gone.

The players who would have been looking for developed playing help to rise- instead looked at a bunch of high school graduates enter the Club.

Effectively after exits amd injuries- teh Club was DOWN 6 developed players whgo previously played in finals and got to a prelim - replaced by NADA

The coaches had to manage 6 down AND then to top it off- add Newman/Kemp /Cottrell as well as Jagga Smith to LT season ending injury on top of injured as much as playinh Walsh/Silvagni/McGovern/Fanatasia - then add E hollands out all year and H McKay absent for extended periods for one reason or another.

At the same time 19 - half the list started with one year left on their contracts - therefore everyone on notice.

It ain't rocket science.

2025 has been a shyte year big time.
I guess a sliding doors look at it could be:

Say we keep Kennedy, Owies, Martin, Cunningham, Marchbank. Sign Houston. Don't get Haynes, Smith, O'Farrell, Charleson, White, F.Young, don't re-sign Carroll. Newman still does the knee (and Martin probably still spends the first 14 rds on the sidelines like he did at Geelong).

What are the possible outcomes? Obviously our perspective is a bit tainted considering where we are now, but is that enough to win the flag? Teams are still going to know how to beat us and we're relying on week-to-week fitness/availability and the form of all 23 players, particularly the top 5-10, to make the gameplan, just like the 2nd half of '23.

In that timeline if we had the same availability and form of the top tiers of players (ie Cripps, Walsh, Curnow, Weitering, Houston, Saad, TDK, Gov, Acres, Newman, etc) then we're probably still not in the 8, but with an older list profile and dealing with notably more cap pressure.

If we'd gone that way but not lost Newman, and all our players stayed fit, and we got Houston and he actually played like the AA he is (rather than what he's dishing up at Vic Park), but everyone still knows how to beat us.... maybe we're half a chance? But that seems like a lot of 'ifs', and a lot of them going the opposite way to what eventuated this year, albeit in a different scenario.

In hindsight, doing it last year (reset: coaching/leadership/list) would have been a much better move, but if it has to happen then surely doing it now is better than 12-24 months later with a notably worse hand?

Or in that timeline we somehow win the flag this year before it all blows up and then we don't really care for a bit because we finally got one...

I really couldn't give two stuffs about any player who wants to leave, leaving. I get that little kids will be devastated if their favorite player goes, but this club can't succeed if it's all about coddling our 'important' players at the expense of fostering an absolutely team-first culture.

But what has me utterly deflated right now is seeing kids like Jagger and HOF, who genuinely want to be here and are a big part of our future, going down with ACLs.

Has a club ever had their first two draft picks in any draft go down with season-ending knees at the beginning of their careers?
maybe not, but Brisbne had 4 or 5 in a season including Will Ashcroft

Just had coffee with a mate where I work (QLD Uni) who's colleague visited Ikon a few days after the bad Port loss in Round 16 (graffiti-gate). Said he had no idea (not a footy person) but the whole place was like a funeral. Very sombre.

Can't imagine it will have got much better. Not a good environment to be in, which makes me 100% believe any rumours of players exploring a move. Doesn't mean they would go, but if I've worked in places with that vibe and I got the F out of dodge. Kills your mood and confidence.

Totally agree. I can only imagine the club wants to wait until GW is in place before making the announcement. That may indirectly add to the uncertainty among the playing group, leading to some looking elsewhere. Either way I think if a decision has been made then holding off announcing it can only lead to problems.
GW has been in place for months...

Michael Voss

Angry Monday Night Raw GIF by WWE

Just hope the board makes the right descision its been 30 years of anarchy at this club.....The fans have suffered enough and this year was one of worst. We come in with high expectations and instead total capitulation watching some of the players not play for the jumper for what ever reason thats been painful. It's good to see the Dee's pull the trigger early obviously they have been proactive and have put a plan B in place or a move like this would not have been actioned.....

Brad Greene call here. Incoming CEO not a fan either!

Would assume if Voss is out, that's already been decided and we've been talking to potential coaches already.

I'd be surprised (and disappointed) if this Dees news has changed anything for us.

If Cripps wants to get back to WA I am all for it and would still love the bloke. Has been an absolute champion of our club.
I think we made a misstep focusing on a perfect spine for the team, I like Adelaide’s approach, just get in the best forward group possible and a premium mid to kick it to them (Dawson). The rest of the side is hoping for the best draft and trade wise. But it seems getting the forward mix right was their priority and it looks to be paying off for them
We tried that too. Fevola, Betts, Walker, Garlett, Yarran.

If Melbourne thinks sacking Goodwin today gets them first crack at a coach they're forgetting the fact they have no CEO, no President and thus not a thimble lens of vision.

We have a CEO, one with strong credentials, pedigree and record. We also have a President who I don't know too much about, but....well they probably don't prefer the snowfields to the playing one.

Goodwin's sacking will start a domino effect I reckon.

Voss will be gone before the season finishes.

Think the only thing that has helped him so far is the fact that no other club has been on the market for a new coach.

We won't want to risk losing a quality candidate to another club, the club will move and move quickly.

waiting for us to pick the third best candidate in a two-horse race

The melts are entertaining but do you really believe that Carlton can actually pick the right players whether that be by trading or draft.

Our history is dotted with a failure to attract and secure good trades or overpay or make the wrong trade (see Judd where we should have kept Kennedy and let go of the number 1 pick). Apart from the 2015 draft we've failed with the majority of our picks (the last few drafts are still indeterminate).

I personally have no confidence that we will get it right which is a pity because after we thrashed Collingwood in round 3, 2012 I was very optimistic about the future.
I share the same concerns.

Although Austin seems to be doing ok, with limited draft capital.

Lord, HOF, Carroll, Hollands, Cowan, Moir & Smith

Add to that players with potential
HOK, Wilson, Charleson, White, Young & Lemmey