Review R23: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood

I wonder if a rematch might be a massacre. It feels like Collingwood played their grand final today, and lost.
Haven't seen them that desperately manic all season...and we beat them.

They were in overdrive and I reckon we've got a couple of gears more to come. It'll be interesting to see if we play them again.

Kinda funny to see the Pies fans calling us the "Adelaide Throws" given the way their team plays.
Was it against Collingwood milera got called for a throw earlier in the year that wasn’t a throw?

Hey Port flogs reading this.

Talk all you want about injuries or umpires or whatever copium that you try to justify why we’re just getting lucky.

Fact is we support a team that turns up and fights to the death. You, on the other hand, support a club that preaches never giving in yet routinely lets teams have their way with them.

You hang your hopes on a coach who has been there for years now, who supposedly is going to upend the tea table and get you back to where you want to go. But until you weed out the masses of players who are conditional and flakey, things won’t truly change.

Enjoy getting 30k to the Gold Coast game. You talk about history and the bars and the creed, but your 60k plus members don’t turn up the moment things go south.
You're being way too kind.

One of the joys of Bigfooty is shooting across to read the Crows' game day commentary on the Port board after any Crows win.

Dear God, it's Deliverance country over there.

You can literally smell the pig grease and hear the banjos.

On the umpiring I definitely think we had the best of it aside from the first quarter. Umpires missed at least 2-3 pretty clear throws including one resulting in a crucial goal, and a few other marginal calls went our way.

Not like we haven't been due though after recent games against Collingwood that have gone the other way. Just variance.

GOOD
We win that kind of game now. We don’t get way down, throw caution to the wind, and fight our way back to a two goal loss. We win, often enough
Defence - esp Worrell and Keane
Fog early
TT late

BAD
Inside 50 count. We shouldn’t win many with that much ground conceded
Our ball movement - two weeks in row we were hack-kicking out of defence and conceding tons of intercept marks - something has gone wrong, or we’ve been worked out
Minor premiers, probably

UGLY
Commentary
Umpiring
The game generally, not much beautiful footy in that one

It was bloody obvious to anyone at the match that understands football. We stopped Josh Daicos getting uncontested possessions and Collingwood just blasted the ball into their F50 and our boys mopped it up.

I’m not sure if we will use Murphy again in this type of role. It made things very difficult for Taylor who usually plays the defensive forward role. It wouldn’t surprise me if Murphy isn’t in the 23 next week but the Murphy Derangement Syndrome over the last few days has been ridiculous.

He did his job tonight, end of story.

But, but, but everyone checked the stats so he must have been garbage.
Daicos had a few chain handballs and some easy kicks but Murphy was by his side continually.

7/10 job done. Daicos didn't affect the game as he could have.

Love seeing all the salty posts from Fox Footy on the socials this morning highlighting some of the dodgy umpiring calls in our favour. After all the times we have been screwed over it is nice to be on the right side this time.

Also, I haven't seen any posts about Nick Daicos staging for that free when Smith pushed him in the chest... that was a shocker.

Was it against Collingwood milera got called for a throw earlier in the year that wasn’t a throw?
I don't recall that, sounds about right though, I think Laird got done for a bs throw recently too. I remember that dubious 50 against fog that killed us before 3qt and htb against worral in the square in the last when we played collingwood.

Love seeing all the salty posts from Fox Footy on the socials this morning highlighting some of the dodgy umpiring calls in our favour. After all the times we have been screwed over it is nice to be on the right side this time.

Also, I haven't seen any posts about Nick Daicos staging for that free when Smith pushed him in the chest... that was a shocker.

Was at the game and was wondering what happened there couldn't really see but bloody hell. Must be nice to cry to umps and get frees when you feel like it.

On the umpiring I definitely think we had the best of it aside from the first quarter. Umpires missed at least 2-3 pretty clear throws including one resulting in a crucial goal, and a few other marginal calls went our way.

Not like we haven't been due though after recent games against Collingwood that have gone the other way. Just variance.
I think the AFL will say we're even for the GCS match. There had been a risk that match was going to prevent a top 2 finish.

Good:

Grinding out a defensive win against an opponent who was desperate and has supreme talent. Getting Collingwood week 1 of finals would be annoying, hopefully its Pies and Hawks to knock one of them out.

Worrell and Keane were insanely good, Murray was doing a bit more ground work and used his size to move through contest.
Fogarty getting back to his best, he was covering the ground well.

Nobody played poorly, but nobody played very well. The ethos of our season, we don't rely on 2 or 3 guys dominating to win

Top 2 locked in, the GC vs Hawthorn vs Collingwood percentage battle will be fascinating for a top 4 spot. If we end up first, having GC would be preferable over Hawks or Pies.

Bad:
The first quarter, I don't us being down 5 to 1 in a final of any variety.
The skills were really off, Collingwoods were much better in the wet. So many miss kicks and OOF.

Ugly:
The umpiring was bad for both sides, 0-0 draw.
Crouchs career might be done with us.

Saw the Keays throw in a highlights package along with the Thilthorpe kick after the ball was dead. This is Rutten holding Anthony level stupidity that could/will cost a final if we're not careful.
I think Thilthorpe was absent mindedly trying to chip kick it to umpire 32. That's what it looked like from where I was sitting.

Review R23: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood