Roast St Kilda in no mans land - Part 2

Premiership player.

How many have saints won?

Rossy destroying another clubs list.
The old super defensive "How many premiership have you won?" war cry. When backed into a corner they whip it out to deflect the valid points being brought up. Weren't Dees supporters talking about a dynasty in 2021, what happened?

While i get that you are happy to keep NWM surely the size of the contract along with what has reportedly been offered for TDK and Aleer is concerning. Now they are trying to get Liam Ryan on a 4 year deal too.

Not sure that any of those players move the needle for the saints being a bottom 6-8 side next year.

It's fine in the short term as has been explained numerous times - the club hasn't paid anywhere near its full salary cap in previous years and there's money banked up. No one at the club is on big money currently.

As for moving the needle, we have played most of this year without a key forward and our savior down back is a rookie in Tauru. If we can actually get reasonable players in to cover the gaps - TDK and Aleer do this - then we're in a far stronger place. And we have put a lot of games into our draft picks these last few years, who have thankfully been mostly good selections as opposed a decade ago where we didn't get much value (in hindsight) from McCartin or Billings etc.

While i get that you are happy to keep NWM surely the size of the contract along with what has reportedly been offered for TDK and Aleer is concerning. Now they are trying to get Liam Ryan on a 4 year deal too.

Not sure that any of those players move the needle for the saints being a bottom 6-8 side next year.
Who says they are trying to get Liam Ryan on a 4 year contract?
Oh, the same ones who said NWM was leaving St Kilda :drunk:

No president
That's not true. We offered Bradley Green a first rounder for Oliver last year with the then CEO Pert trying to offload him. His choice to retain Clayton just like his playing career has ended up being underwhelming.

Dodged a big bullet we did.
We have money banked from previous years.
Okay different question from me. He's had massive offers, some of which were for essentially the rest of his career. You've kept him on unfathomable money for two years. Well done. You had to keep him and you did.

You say you're using banked cap space, which if I'm not mistaken still operates as one year below 95% allows you to spend over 100% the next year correct?

If you get Aleer (sp?) for his reported salary, and TDK for his salary I can't see how in 2026 or 2027 you'll be able to bank cap space again, you'd surely have to be much closer to the cap limit with that level of investment.

So isn't it then reasonable to wonder how you'll fend off the massive offers that will likely resurface in two years time?

Personally I think NWM is your 'must keep' Dusty style player and it will cost a lot. I think your blunder will be TDK. No ruck is worth over $1m a year. And he'll be far higher than that number.

It's fine in the short term as has been explained numerous times - the club hasn't paid anywhere near its full salary cap in previous years and there's money banked up. No one at the club is on big money currently.

As for moving the needle, we have played most of this year without a key forward and our savior down back is a rookie in Tauru. If we can actually get reasonable players in to cover the gaps - TDK and Aleer do this - then we're in a far stronger place. And we have put a lot of games into our draft picks these last few years, who have thankfully been mostly good selections as opposed a decade ago where we didn't get much value (in hindsight) from McCartin or Billings etc.
Which gap does TDK fill for you?

Well honestly I'm not sold on him fully but presumably the club are keen on it to release Marshall to play more forward and fill the King sized hole. Yes King will come back next year fingers crossed but we need someone there as a decent backup as this year showed.

It always amuses me when supporters of lowly clubs assume that because they have been poor for 10 years they have a huge bank of saved money to suddenly spend on players when the reality is most of the money just never got spent and never will

Is it assuming when our coach confirmed it on TV earlier in the week?

Wouldn't be surprised if St Kilda finish around the 4th-6th mark next year.
For how we held onto Nas & for the speculated money going around that we’ve offered TDK & Aleer, we’d want to finish around the 4th-6th mark next year, otherwise shit will hit the fan.

I reckon Saints supporters will take an 8th spot finish and a competitive elimination final loss next year.
Are they capable of a 15-8 season and 1 to 2 finals win? Time will tell.

I reckon Saints supporters will take an 8th spot finish and a competitive elimination final loss next year.
Are they capable of a 15-8 season and 1 to 2 finals win? Time will tell.

They've played 2 patches of good footy this season - one over the last month when their season was well and truly in the toilet.

Not convinced personally that addIng a middling collection of players will see them level up significantly.

It amuses me that supporters of other clubs think they know more than us.

It’s been referenced multiple times by both the president and coach that we have more than enough money to retain and recruit any player we targeted.

But to educate, and this can easily be found in the media, we have banked cap for multiple years, last year we added to senior players wages just to meet that cap saving floor. Along with the salary cap increase in 26 and the ability for clubs to spend 105%. We potentially have as much a $3.5m to spend in the short-term. This is including current players we have signed who were front loaded. We also don’t include the cap increases into players contracts.

If as I suspect that TDK is heavily front loaded, and the president said in the last few days that TDK $ are well wide of the mark.

Which gap does TDK fill for you?

Our fit key forwards are Mitch Owens and that's it and obviously Owens is not a key forward build although he competes like a madman so he punches above his weight. King's knees are made of paper and even when he is fit his efforts are close to pathetic too often.

If TDK allows Marshall to play forward full time, or means the club can play 2 rucks if Marshall leaves, with one of them resting forward to provide a contest, that's a big improvement on what we currently have.

TDK is also younger than Marshall so in theory he enters his prime when the club is ready to make a tilt rather than relying on a too old Marshall.

Keeler I don't think will make it unfortunately and Sharman is a 3rd tall type rather than a key.

It amuses me that supporters of other clubs think they know more than us.

It’s been referenced multiple times by both the president and coach that we have more than enough money to retain and recruit any player we targeted.

But to educate, and this can easily be found in the media, we have banked cap for multiple years, last year we added to senior players wages just to meet that cap saving floor. Along with the salary cap increase in 26 and the ability for clubs to spend 105%. We potentially have as much a $3.5m to spend in the short-term. This is including current players we have signed who were front loaded. We also don’t include the cap increases into players contracts.

If as I suspect that TDK is heavily front loaded, and the president said in the last few days that TDK $ are well wide of the mark.

Lol mate who you support makes no difference to what I said. It applies to any club. There isn't some big 7 year war chest at disposal from banked up funds after numerous average years. There is short term manoeuvring that can be done but otherwise excess cap space is used to give average players a bump or just never used

Kind of sums up the thread.

Nasiah is gone Saints are stuffed.
Nasiah is staying on huge money, Saints salary cap is stuffed.
People just want any excuse to sink the boots in.

I've said it before but this thread is just a glorified troll thread.

They've played 2 patches of good footy this season - one over the last month when their season was well and truly in the toilet.

Not convinced personally that addIng a middling collection of players will see them level up significantly.
Having nas as a full time midfielder for a whole season instantly improves us , his the midfield gun we haven’t had since the Hayes and Goddard days

Roast St Kilda in no mans land - Part 2