Review Dees v the Pies - 6 months respite: the Good and Bad, Fugly

I got my hopes up you would win. It seems Melbourne and Carlton aren’t so dissimilar. Cussing out your players made me feel like I was back watching the dark DARK navy blues.
Are you familiar with the Hell sub-forum?

The Melbourne football club in a nutshell. Hunt may be gone but did he ever really leave us?
Fun fact. This was the last game we were allowed to attend in 2021.

That last quarter was pretty concise summary of everything wrong with this team over the past few seasons.

• No composure, leading us to bomb it aimlessly to the square every damn time, after actually decently hitting up targets in the 50 prior to that.
  • 1.5 and 2 on the full.
  • Battling hard for repeat entries then just getting absolutely sliced open on the rebound.
  • Losing by a goal or less.

And on that last point, we're now 1-12 in our last 13 games decided by a goal or less. The new coach is going to have his work cut out turning this team around, because right now it's mentally cooked. As I said in the gameday thread, there is no team I've ever seen that is so predictably and dependably unclutch as this one.

Gifting them top 4? If suns win their last two games and Brisbane win pies won't make the 4.
We win they are zero chance. Yes, they could miss if results don't go their way but we gifted them with a top 4 opportunity and they currently sit 3rd. I'm sure that's where they'd rather be.

Suns currently level with port so that win isn't guaranteed. Lions don't have a walk over either.

Sucks to lose, but bit of cold logic says that game was a positive for us IMO. Challenged a top 4 (possibly) side who are a good team and recent flag winners, and did it with some (albeit messy) exciting, fast footy. Make that more natural to us and sort out the defensive structures and we might actually be ok to watch next year. That's the hope anyway.

Just need Bucks to come in now and tell them they can forget the summer of love and soccer balls, time to bring the footys and the mouth guards and make that attack second nature.

I reckon we lose that last quarter 100 times out of 100, this group is that broken. Blame Goodwin all you want, and you’d be mostly right, but this team has failed in tense moments for years now.

I don’t think this club we will be decent again until most of this list is turned over, definitely my most disliked dees side in my lifetime.

We win they are zero chance. Yes, they could miss if results don't go their way but we gifted them with a top 4 opportunity and they currently sit 3rd. I'm sure that's where they'd rather be.

Suns currently level with port so that win isn't guaranteed. Lions don't have a walk over either.

We eroded their percentage a bit, which I think is more than the other teams battling it out for top 4 could have expected on the night. Gold Coast should overtake them if they can beat Port tonight, Brisbane will overtake them if they win, Hawthorn will overtake them if they can win by about 25+ points, and even GWS could overtake them if they beat the Saints by 90-odd. It sucks we couldn't knock them out of the top 4 definitively, but we've done enough to give other teams a chance.

That last quarter was pretty concise summary of everything wrong with this team over the past few seasons.

• No composure, leading us to bomb it aimlessly to the square every damn time, after actually decently hitting up targets in the 50 prior to that.
  • 1.5 and 2 on the full.
  • Battling hard for repeat entries then just getting absolutely sliced open on the rebound.
  • Losing by a goal or less.

And on that last point, we're now 1-12 in our last 13 games decided by a goal or less. The new coach is going to have his work cut out turning this team around, because right now it's mentally cooked. As I said in the gameday thread, there is no team I've ever seen that is so predictably and dependably unclutch as this one.
Well said.

Without looking at score worms it feels like almost all of those 13 games have had a similar cadence (wxept the saints game). A horrible 10-15 patch at some time in the first 2 qrts, a few dirty goals to get closer. A comeback in the 3rd where we look decent and capitulation in the 4th to make it feel all so much worse.

Hope to hear about some delistings this week. **** waiting around for a new coach to decide if we need them. Chaplin bring the broom mate.

Nothing against him, doing a good job. But the last thing i'd want to see after a loss to the pies is Eddie's son