List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

I like how bold they're being this year.
Good on them, but $4 million in cap space to two players (one a gun, one a B+ ruck when they already have another B+ ruck) will inevitably come back to bite them.

Of those other names, Flanders would be a good pick-up, Ryan's best is in the rear-view mirror, and Aleer and McKenzie are average.

It'll help sell memberships and hope, but still don't see them competing any time soon.

Next minute

Lamb: “Billings is a required player and we will not be entertaining a trade for him”
We've had so much success with St. Kilda rejects under Lamb havent we... Dunstan, Billings, Campbell..

949000.jpeg

To be fair that’s more talent in one off season than we probably have brought in over last 5
No arguments there, but they have a bucketload of cap space, whereas we haven't over that period.

They will have a bit to come out to make all that cap space yet.
They'd have to get Steele off the books, you'd think (which would be a good move). Maybe Marshall goes, too.

Yeah, and tbh I don't mind what they're doing, can't keep finishing in the middle and stay in purgatory, goond on them for having a bit of a wild crack. Starting to feel a little bit scattergun compared to the Crows/Pies/Hawks models, but worth a shot.

They do have a solid core of young players coming through now too. Wouldn't be surprised if they made finals next year.

Good on them, but $4 million in cap space to two players (one a gun, one a B+ ruck when they already have another B+ ruck) will inevitably come back to bite them.

Of those other names, Flanders would be a good pick-up, Ryan's best is in the rear-view mirror, and Aleer and McKenzie are average.

It'll help sell memberships and hope, but still don't see them competing any time soon.
You gotta spend your money somewhere. No idea what TDK's contract structure is like but if they've managed to front end it then they should be okay. I reckon he's a better player than he showed this year and still young for a ruckman. Won't be a dynasty team but could see them being competitive with Lyon's coaching.

I tell you what I'm going to melt if Verral gets axed. I mean what is the point of developing the guy? By all accounts he has been going ok in the VFL.
nah mate don't bother melting, he hasn't really shown much unfortunately. i think his papers were probably stamped about halfway through the year judging by how little rucking he did compared to Campbell.

I tell you what I'm going to melt if Verral gets axed. I mean what is the point of developing the guy? By all accounts he has been going ok in the VFL.
This seems a touch dramatic. He still seems a long way off rucking at senior level and hasn't shown much as a forward either.

Is Heath better than Verall in the VFL? And does he have any forward ability?
Much better and has the ability to play forward similar to Hayden McLean. With the sub rule being scrapped next year and potentially the bench being made to five in total, you could mount a case that a lot of clubs will play two ruckman most weeks.

Kicked a bag of 5 in a VFL game before and can take a strong contested mark.

Much better and has the ability to play forward similar to Hayden McLean. With the sub rule being scrapped next year and potentially the bench being made to five in total, you could mount a case that a lot of clubs will play two ruckman most weeks.

Meh, Fullarton has bags in the VFL too.

nah mate don't bother melting, he hasn't really shown much unfortunately. i think his papers were probably stamped about halfway through the year judging by how little rucking he did compared to Campbell.
Verrall has been better than last year and is developing OK, but as above he’s been doing less and less rucking as the season progresses with the 33 year old Campbell favoured. Not a great sign.

Last year he rested forward often, this year he’s rested mostly on the bench.

He’s not an aerial threat. He can hack clearances out pretty well but that’s about it unfortunately.

Yeah nah, not interested in leek Aleer, or Curnow or Starcevich etc. Let's look at Max Heath.

No wonders we weren't keen on Matt Kennedy. We don't like good players.

But I've maintained that Tim Lamb should've been sacked well before Goodie. Tim Lamb is diabolical.

Yeah nah, not interested in leek Aleer, or Curnow or Starcevich etc. Let's look at Max Heath.

But I've maintained that Tim Lamb should've been sacked well before Goodie. Tim Lamb is diabolical.
I get this is part of the Lamb pile on, but as good as Matt Kennedy has been he’s not what Melbourne need(ed) IMO.

A slow predominantly inside mid. Sure he can go forward and in hindsight he could’ve been useful. Once Bontempelli got back Kennedy was less prominent. If Treloar had been fitter Kennedy probably would’ve had less prominence again.

Carlton have probably got the most similar midfield to Melbourne. Good at contested ball, but on the slow side with poor disposal. They decided Kennedy was surplus.

Kennedy is a nice depth type player. An upgrade on Sparrow but not a difference maker for Melbourne.

On the other names there isn’t the currency at Melbourne or desire I’d imagine from Curnow to make that happen.

Aleer is talked up massively. He’s athletic, but he’s been just OK when I’ve watched him.

Stracevich. Meh. Solid player with concussion history. A back who wants to play midfield. He’d be free and if he wanted to come to Melbourne on a moderate deal great, but he’s not a difference maker.

He's also f*d himself by handing out ridiculous contracts like Clarry and Gus.

It’s a good move IMO. Campbell I assume will be retired or not offered another deal. Verrall isn’t ready yet and Heath gives Gawn the big body to train against also. Won’t cost much. We’ve seen some decent backup rucks move clubs and come good. Meek Cameron Sweet Nank.

I get this is part of the Lamb pile on, but as good as Matt Kennedy has been he’s not what Melbourne need(ed) IMO.

A slow predominantly inside mid. Sure he can go forward and in hindsight he could’ve been useful. Once Bontempelli got back Kennedy was less prominent. If Treloar had been fitter Kennedy probably would’ve had less prominence again.

Carlton have probably got the most similar midfield to Melbourne. Good at contested ball, but on the slow side with poor disposal. They decided Kennedy was surplus.

Kennedy is a nice depth type player. An upgrade on Sparrow but not a difference maker for Melbourne.

On the other names there isn’t the currency at Melbourne or desire I’d imagine from Curnow to make that happen.

Aleer is talked up massively. He’s athletic, but he’s been just OK when I’ve watched him.

Stracevich. Meh. Solid player with concussion history. A back who wants to play midfield. He’d be free and if he wanted to come to Melbourne on a moderate deal great, but he’s not a difference maker.
Dogs had Libba, Treloar, Richards, Bont. Could argue Dogs didnt need that type either. Kennedy could have taken Sparrow's position. Good players are good players. Not that he was on my radar, but he would have been the best recruit we've had since Langdon lol. Thats how bad we've been at bringing blokes in.

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!