Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

I'd say it's the club's words, just not sure why the club would take a stance of not taking any enquires at all.

He shouldn't be viewed as untouchable or irreplaceable.
It's just posturing atm I reckon..

Club won't take any enquiries until (and if) an offer that's too juicy to refuse is made.

There'll be PLENTY happening behind closed doors atm..

On Hardwick, in 2014-15 (I forget which) Dusty shopped himself around, trying to see what he could get. Hardwick and Richmond refused to budge from their offer for him, trusting in their relationship with him to keep him in house and basically telling him if he wants to leave go for it. Rance was also allowed to leave.

I don't know if Hardwick at least should be promoted as a guru of player relationships. Geelong is a weird little fishbowl - once in, people don't want to leave; you cannot credit Scott for geography - and Fagan has his own issues when it comes to player relationships.

I dunno. Are we close enough to really judge this kind of thing?

Hardwick also sat down Riewoldt and told him his role is now pure 100% team based and his days of striving for AA’s and Coleman’s were over.

Every chance similar words have been said to Curnow, which he may not like.

If Charlie nets us Gulden + Warner a first round and a second round this year and a future first round next year then we should think about it, love Charlie but yeah he has made it clear he does not want to be at Carlton so yeah.

Mate I’m all for driving a hard bargain but this is…a little out there

The club has always maintained Charlie isn’t going anywhere.

Won’t stop media talking heads like Caroline Wilson from trying to make his position at Carlton untenable by most likely lying through her teeth.
The only lies being told on this are from Charlie and his manager.

The media are accurately reporting on it.

He wants out, has wanted out for a while, and the sleazy player manager approach in these situations is to tell their player to deny it publicly while they try and sort it out behind the scenes, while at the same time leaking to media to put pressure on the club.

Then the club comes out with its position and the whole thing quickly looks like a sh*t show.

At the very least, the decent and transparent approach from Charlie was to come out and say I’m contracted for several more years and will see out my contract if required but let’s see what happens in trade period, no one can predict the future etc etc.

To me the way it’s being handled is at the very least disrespectful to the supporters, but that isn’t necessarily the media’s doing.

On Hardwick, in 2014-15 (I forget which) Dusty shopped himself around, trying to see what he could get. Hardwick and Richmond refused to budge from their offer for him, trusting in their relationship with him to keep him in house and basically telling him if he wants to leave go for it. Rance was also allowed to leave.

I don't know if Hardwick at least should be promoted as a guru of player relationships. Geelong is a weird little fishbowl - once in, people don't want to leave; you cannot credit Scott for geography - and Fagan has his own issues when it comes to player relationships.

I dunno. Are we close enough to really judge this kind of thing?
Fagan where he is now, with his players at Brisbane.
Chris Scott..to say it's the luck of geography is to greatly undermine the astute and modern attitude Chris has toward his playing group. We hear feedback from players that they love the freedom and mature philosophy in play down there. A different coach and the coastal opportunities may not be so appealing. I credit Chris with the destination club Geelong has become. It doesn't sound like spin when his players talk about him.
Hardwick...again...talking about what he's done and is doing with the Suns. A place no one wanted to go and which was used as a breeding hatchery is becoming a go'to destination for players. It wasn't so under less capable coaches.

He didnt lie, he provided truthful answers updates on the situations, now you want to crucify him?

He let the wider community know about Elijah’s issues. It was almost as bad as that spray he gave that kid when our senior players went invisible.

He has been afforded the luxury of having another go at it, after a dismal season.

He should reflect on what he could do better and prepare for what could be his last gig as a senior coach.

It is common sense. And your questions were answered... only, you didn't like the answers... were you really expecting me to say I had detailed inside knowledge? How stupid is that... I make assumptions based on common sense... and they have more merit than your "assumptions" based on "I'm in the shits with the club" vendetta...
You didn't answer the questions though.
So if he was still injured... why the hell was he cycling to the game in slippers fmd...

And by the way, where's your proof that he wasn't ready? I thought you needed that to state something on here... or are you allowed to make assumptions because you think you're smarter than everyone else...
Go and ask the club that.

The proof was right in front of you during match-day.

Not sure why you're making things personal here just because I think the club fudged up on his recovery.
wtf would his team mates have to do with his text to Voss? That's player to coach conversation...
Team meetings exist. You think they don't talk about player availability behind closed doors?
And your point about the club handling him poorly numerous times has very little merit. He missed a year and a half of footy, because he reinjured himself numerous times... outside the control of anyone at the club... yet his rehab saw him come back and win 2 Coleman's and was on his way to a third... you've got nothing to back up that statement.
Nonsense. He was clearly struggling with his ankle prior to the Hawthorn game... the rest is history. Go watch the game again. He should not have played, period. And that was one example. Why are you ignoring it and Brad Lloyd's incompetence?

And as I already told you, it's not just Charlie either, if multiple players are struggling... for years, then there's a clear problem with our recovery and rehab problems. How many times do I have to spell it out for you?
I'm glad people like you aren't making any decisions at the club at all... short sighted and nothing but excuses for underperforming and entitled players... we'd continue to go nowhere...
Excuses? Such as the club not doing their job competently?

Fagan where he is now, with his players at Brisbane.
I don't think you can on one hand spruik a coach as a player management/relationships person whilst with the other point blank ignoring the counterexamples. I don't think that's fair, or good analysis.
Chris Scott..to say it's the luck of geography is to greatly undermine the astute and modern attitude Chris has toward his playing group. We hear feedback from players that they love the freedom and mature philosophy in play down there. A different coach and the coastal opportunities may not be so appealing. I credit Chris with the destination club Geelong has become. It doesn't sound like spin when his players talk about him.
I don't know about you, MBR, but I lived in Geelong for a bit. It's a weird place; there are three subjects under discussion down there: the Geelong football club, surfing, and Jesus. If you cannot offer anything to do with those three things, you're not worth conversing with, and this comes out in how they treat players down there: conversation doesn't happen, there isn't any shaking of hands deals, but the players are treated to the first drink, the finest wine, the first look at a property development or a meat raffle. It's country football's attitude towards local guns extrapolated to AFL financials; they genuinely do not need to break the salary cap when the whole town offers it to them.

So, when I hear of how wonderful it is down there from their players, I cannot help but think of the perks their players get without anyone saying anything. It'd be lovely to get all that free shit and to be treated like a king, I'm sure.
Hardwick...again...talking about what he's done and is doing with the Suns. A place no one wanted to go and which was used as a breeding hatchery is becoming a go'to destination for players. It wasn't so under less capable coaches.
Same thing as I said for Fagan.

Like I said, I don't know. I question whether or not enough information - genuine, credible information that is true and not utter spin - is distributed from inside clubs to make the case from out here whether so and so is a good or bad player manager as a coach, or who is a relationships person. I do not in any way think relying in what any given club or player puts out there is worth very much, as any public statement is vetted through PR and managers alike; it's why the Charlie rumblings aren't actually coming from other clubs or players, but entirely through the media as neither club nor manager wants this to be irreparable.

And because I don't know what I don't know, I try and withhold judgement on something I don't know about. You don't have to, but I take leave to question it on that basis.

Always feel for talented young Stars who don't fit in with the disciplines of AFL footy.
I get that AFL isn't for everybody but can't help thinking how much of a blown opportunity it is to make it to that level and give it away, when so many others can only dream of being in the same position.

EH only 23 ... and still a kid. When they mature and reflect on past decisions, I wonder how many regret giving up such an incredible gift from the Footy Gods..?

As previously mentioned ... I'd love to hear from past players about the decisions they made when an AFL footballer some 20-30 years down the track.
Eddie McGuire quoted in the past, "..you them as many chances as they need". Big believer Footy clubs have a role to play to helping people.

Wonder if collingwood pick him up?