Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

Really like Chesser. Think he has a huge ceiling
He seems alright but you'd think with Voss coaching for he's job next year and possibly having 2 first round draft picks with out trading curnow we would be going after a big fish to make a immediate impact

The very definition of a swingman. Would be a great option if he is gettable.

Likely to get squeezed out at Richmond as the kids mature. Watched him closely (picked up as a cheapie in fantasy footy)
No insight on professionalism aspects, but a goer on the field. Started back, did some ruck support and kicked a couple of snags going forward. If asked to assess his ceiling and type, would suggest a defensive leaning Levi, but less ruck output. Capable support/relief ruck, not full time option.

With his versatility going forward, I would love him as at least a short term Silvagni replacement while the kids develop. Wouldn’t put a ceiling on his possible development at either end as well. Quite raw still, but ready IMO.
I like him for some reason. Won't cost much

Not sure, but we wanted a fair bit for a contracted player back then. We knocked Adelaide’s first offer back and Gibbs played another 12 months for Carlton.

A year later it took two first round picks to get Gibbs across. And a 29 y.o. Gibbs was nowhere near the class and value of Curnow.

As mentioned in my previous post - for reasons I have no idea - Charlie don’t like Vossy. They’ve had relationship break down. I see Caro reported this last night too.

Heard from a close associate of Charlie’s when I asked what’s going on with Charlie, he said “mate Vossy doesn’t even talk to him”.

From my perspective Charlie’s attitude has stunk this year and not sure what started it.

Will be interesting to see how this dynamic works in 2026.

He seems alright but you'd think with Voss coaching for he's job next year and possibly having 2 first round draft picks with out trading curnow we would be going after a big fish to make a immediate impact
I think we’d be casting the net far and wide this trade period imo
Wouldn’t be surprised behind the scenes that we’d be chasing some bigger name players. The only difference now is, that the ship is fairly air tight so it seems not a lot leaking out atm.

Voss went on Sen; discussed players contracts and confirmed rumours about players.

How is this putting the club first?
So, if he goes on and lies, we trash him. He's clear about what's happening, we trash him? I haven't seen anything to suggest he's put the club anywhere but first.

As mentioned in my previous post - for reasons I have no idea - Charlie don’t like Vossy. They’ve had relationship break down. I see Caro reported this last night too.

Heard from a close associate of Charlie’s when I asked what’s going on with Charlie, he said “mate Vossy doesn’t even talk to him”.

From my perspective Charlie’s attitude has stunk this year and not sure what started it.

Maybe Charlie could put his big boy pants on and sort it out.

I'm just passing on what I said. Specifically got it's all media BS. He won't be going anywhere.

Now putting on my personal supporter hat. If the deal is right I would pull the trigger.
The whole thing is like some type of bizarre pantomime driven by his manager and spoon fed to the media.

So first of all, Charlie's linked to a move to GCS, so the move is for 'lifestyle reasons'.

And then all of a sudden, the Swans come to the party, so then the story changes to 'he wants a fresh start' and 'play in a city where he's not in a bubble'

So then he obviously gets wind that Carlton have no intention to trade Charlie, so the story changes to 'he's had a falling out with the coach'.

And the media just lap it up....

We dont need a big fish. Everyone is always enamoured with landing a big fish or big name. Its perplexing.

Oh wow, on holidays, no internet in the states i forgot my bad......you're in massive denial.
About what ? I don't support what he's doing. But it's not bad for him if his goal is to leave, in fact it's forcing the club to respond. It's a brute force method but it is a method.... Why the **** do you expect him to come out and deny what he's told his manager specifically to do. Lmfao

The whole thing is like some type of bizarre pantomime driven by his manager and spoon fed to the media.

So first of all, Charlie's linked to a move to GCS, so the move is for 'lifestyle reasons'.

And then all of a sudden, the Swans come to the party, so then the story changes to 'he wants a fresh start' and 'play in a city where he's not in a bubble'

So then he obviously gets wind that Carlton have no intention to trade Charlie, so the story changes to 'he's had a falling out with the coach'.

And the media just lap it up....
I really don't understand how he walks back into the club next year if we don't trade him after this. he's manager has spun so much dribble how does he look the rest of the leadership group in the eyes and say he's all in

It’s so weird.

I’d love to know the reason for their fallout. Seems to not be a recent thing too.

A breakdown between the coach and his most damaging goal kicker is a crazy situation and I hope to hell it’s not because the coach is too stubborn/arrogant.

I hope it’s not irretrievable because Charlie at his peak makes us very hard to beat, and I think some folks here have forgotten that.

We dont need a big fish. Everyone is always enamoured with landing a big fish or big name. Its perplexing.
I tend to agree. The main issue we faced was having an unbalanced list. What we really need is to bring in enough decent-quality players to support a modern game plan and provide depth when injuries hit. One big-name recruit alone won’t move the needle enough—what matters is having multiple quality contributors across the ground. It’s no surprise that when we made the prelim, we had everyone fit at the same time. We haven’t had a stronger bottom five since then.

How much influence would he now have over future list decisions?
His tenure would be pretty shakey, even the clubs statement at the time didn't use words of a promise to fullfill his contract in it's entirety.
Wright and Austin would be pulling all the strings for the next 3 months.