Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

If Charlie nets us Gulden + Warner a first round and a second round this year and a future first round next year then we should think about it, love Charlie but yeah he has made it clear he does not want to be at Carlton so yeah.
Gulden is comfortably one of the best players in the league, and is 23 years old. Sydney are not going to offer him up for Charlie Curnow. Sydney are not going to offer him up alongside another gun and two first round draft picks for Charlie Curnow. This place is an insane asylum

Please tell me you didn't take that post seriously...

It’s so weird.

I’d love to know the reason for their fallout. Seems to not be a recent thing too.

A breakdown between the coach and his most damaging goal kicker is a crazy situation and I hope to hell it’s not because the coach is too stubborn/arrogant.

I hope it’s not irretrievable because Charlie at his peak makes us very hard to beat, and I think some folks here have forgotten that.
I don't claim to know anything about the situation, but it always intrigues me that the overwhelming majority infer that the coach is the problem referring to attitude and arrogance. When in actuality, the most plausible person to have an overstated ego and arrogance is the young, brash "star" player, who has had the wind blown up their proverbial until this point in their life. Most of the previous generational footballers who have that humility issue, have not reached maturity until late in their career or in most cases, post it. Some never get there.

How much influence would he now have over future list decisions?
His tenure would be pretty shakey, even the clubs statement at the time didn't use words of a promise to fullfill his contract in it's entirety.
Wright and Austin would be pulling all the strings for the next 3 months.
Atleast give him a chance, get a ready made kdp that is actually gonna hold down a spot not just a quick fix and another player with some xfactor, with Harry Dean and our academy players this year and walker next year you have first go at these players you just need points surely as a good list manager you can be getting some genuine trades done that are going to make us better while getting these young players in

Now putting on my personal supporter hat. If the deal is right I would pull the trigger.

Disagree.

Started the year underdone, played under duress, had 5 games without a goal.

His best is elite, he’s a bums on seats player & I reckon he can still match his heights of a couple of years ago.

Don’t forget, we invested years into him during his injury phase.

He had a bad year, he gets a pass.

But it’s all opinion I suppose.

We dont need a big fish. Everyone is always enamoured with landing a big fish or big name. Its perplexing.

What’s so perplexing about landing a superstar player to your footy club?

Geelong landed Danger & Jezza. Probably netted them a flag.

Richmond landed Lynch probably helped them win in 2019.

Brisbane landed Daniher he was the difference in that Prelim. Resulted in winning a flag.

Adelaide got Rankine. He’s been a difference maker to them climbing up so rapidly this year.

Cleverly working the Free Agency / Trade period is as, if not more, important to drafting when your in the window. Landing a big fish isn’t everything but good lord they help!

Brisbane landed Daniher he was the difference in that Prelim. Resulted in winning a flag.

Adelaide got Rankine. He’s been a difference maker to them climbing up so rapidly this year.

Cleverly working the Free Agency / Trade period is as, if not more, important to drafting when your in the window. Landing a big fish isn’t everything but good lord they help!
Couldn't of said it any better

If I was running the joint then I would be happy with a deal that looks like this:

All of Sydney's draft picks for this year, next year (as it stands), Justin McInerney and Papley for Charlie, pick 34 and F2.

If we do a deal with the Suns then all of their picks for next year, pick 15 for this year (as it stands), Bailey Humphrey and Sam Flanders for Charlie and the pick we get for Jsos.

I wouldn't budge from that. Use the picks we get in return for Charlie to get an A grade talent that actually suites our playing group and hit 2026 with a revamped roster.

He can stop short of telling the truth in defence of his players in a public forum.

It’s builds trust.
Why do they need defending? He isn't trashing them, just being clear about where things sit

I don't claim to know anything about the situation, but it always intrigues me that the overwhelming majority infer that the coach is the problem referring to attitude and arrogance. When in actuality, the most plausible person to have an overstated ego and arrogance is the young, brash "star" player, who has had the wind blown up their proverbial until this point in their life. Most of the previous generational footballers who have that humility issue, have not reached maturity until late in their career or in most cases, post it. Some never get there.
Good point leeway.

If you think about it how many other contracted players have had a falling out with Voss and want to be traded out?

One Head Coach looking after 40 players, and only one contracted player to my knowledge not happy about the coach and wanting to leave…hmmm :think:

I don't think you can on one hand spruik a coach as a player management/relationships person whilst with the other point blank ignoring the counterexamples. I don't think that's fair, or good analysis.

I don't know about you, MBR, but I lived in Geelong for a bit. It's a weird place; there are three subjects under discussion down there: the Geelong football club, surfing, and Jesus. If you cannot offer anything to do with those three things, you're not worth conversing with, and this comes out in how they treat players down there: conversation doesn't happen, there isn't any shaking of hands deals, but the players are treated to the first drink, the finest wine, the first look at a property development or a meat raffle. It's country football's attitude towards local guns extrapolated to AFL financials; they genuinely do not need to break the salary cap when the whole town offers it to them.

So, when I hear of how wonderful it is down there from their players, I cannot help but think of the perks their players get without anyone saying anything. It'd be lovely to get all that free shit and to be treated like a king, I'm sure.

Same thing as I said for Fagan.

Like I said, I don't know. I question whether or not enough information - genuine, credible information that is true and not utter spin - is distributed from inside clubs to make the case from out here whether so and so is a good or bad player manager as a coach, or who is a relationships person. I do not in any way think relying in what any given club or player puts out there is worth very much, as any public statement is vetted through PR and managers alike; it's why the Charlie rumblings aren't actually coming from other clubs or players, but entirely through the media as neither club nor manager wants this to be irreparable.

And because I don't know what I don't know, I try and withhold judgement on something I don't know about. You don't have to, but I take leave to question it on that basis.
All good points, all I know is, lots of people want to go play under Scott, Fagan and Hardwick.

Not just when they were good in the case of Brisbane and GC.

That says quite a bit about how they are rated.

So Saints fans should prepare for premiership glory no 2?

Good point leeway.

If you think about it how many other contracted players have had a falling out with Voss and want to be traded out?

One Head Coach looking after 40 players, and only one contracted player to my knowledge not happy about the coach and wanting to leave…hmmm :think:

The only thing that gets a coach sacked is the Board.

When they turn up at the AGM, it shows that they are pro-active.

After the sane and logical Board meeting 6 weeks ago, the Board & coach are on the same page.

You could throw banana’s at deaf & blind monkeys & hope they can juggle.

But this is where we are.

Disagree.

Started the year underdone, played under duress, had 5 games without a goal.

His best is elite, he’s a bums on seats player & I reckon he can still match his heights of a couple of years ago.

Don’t forget, we invested years into him during his injury phase.

He had a bad year, he gets a pass.

But it’s all opinion I suppose.
Agree.

But if they offer Gulden and Heeney I'm saying yes.

It has to be a monster offer for me.

some of the trades people are sprouting are off the charts … I assume trolls or some people might need to seek some help … dillusional is an understatement
We're not talking about any player right now... he's been the best forward half player in the comp 2 of the last 4 seasons. You could say 3 of the last 4 seasons before his ankle blew up. He still looks so threatening when he's healthy. You don't just let go of a player like that under contract for 4 more season for anything but a haul.