Review Qualifying Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Geelong?

I'm so glad I made the decision straight after this game to stay away from the footy shows both radio and TV this week, just reading the reaction from the pundits on here is making me exasperated.

Hypocritical, clickbaiting, double standard pushing imbeciles nearly all of them.

For those putting themselves through the ordeal of listening/watching this tripe, is there any measured response to Raynergate?
Nathan Buckley was a voice of reason as usual. He basically highlighted that Rayner was clearly reacting to what O’Connor was doing.

Dwayne Russell on the other hand had a couple of Geelong callers say they saw O’Connor pinching Rayner. Dwayne then shut them down saying it didn't happen, there's no proof, it would have shown up on the vision.
For a bloke who's the ultimate fence sitter on pretty much every issue, he lets his Geelong blindness to the fore pretty regularly.

Talk about no feel for the game.... ;)

FWIW in that circumstance I think common sense says that you let the players reset and the player who marked it take the kick. I would hate an AFL grand final to be decided like that. But the free kick was 100% there.
Not enough real information to make a good judgment.
For arguments sake i don't think spectators going on to the ground is a 50-meter penalty
However, if the interchange players did that, thinking the game was over, than that's a 50-meter penalty. but still harsh under the circumstances"

Mentioned in the link but was this the case:- "Coorparoo fans and players stormed the field"

The other is multiple players on the mark. That's when the "feel for the game " should apply. No 50 in that case.

I want Kingies assessment and first thoughts

Talk about no feel for the game.... ;)

FWIW in that circumstance I think common sense says that you let the players reset and the player who marked it take the kick. I would hate an AFL grand final to be decided like that. But the free kick was 100% there.
The coaches of our U11 (last year) team rammed home to the team that they weren't allowed on the field in a one score game on the final siren because of the rules.

If an U11 team can manage it with attention spans of goldfish, I don't have a lot of concern about other teams getting pinged for it.

I'm so glad I made the decision straight after this game to stay away from the footy shows both radio and TV this week, just reading the reaction from the pundits on here is making me exasperated.

Hypocritical, clickbaiting, double standard pushing imbeciles nearly all of them.

For those putting themselves through the ordeal of listening/watching this tripe, is there any measured response to Raynergate?

Eddie McChins on his podcast with Jimmy Bartel believe it or not.

Kingy's hatred for our club fauled our last flag. Let's hope it does this time. I want a Kingy cam when we win the second flag, but you might need to draw the camera back a bit given his eyes have drifted almost to his ears

Finally some sensibility in this Rayner discussion. Leigh Matthews on 360 the voice of reason re the Rayner free kick. Queries why a player is shoving someone 50 metres off the ball and why is the AFL throwing their umpires under a bus. Great work Leigh. #freecamrayner

Nathan Buckley was a voice of reason as usual. He basically highlighted that Rayner was clearly reacting to what O’Connor was doing.

Dwayne Russell on the other hand had a couple of Geelong callers say they saw O’Connor pinching Rayner. Dwayne then shut them down saying it didn't happen, there's no proof, it would have shown up on the vision.
For a bloke who's the ultimate fence sitter on pretty much every issue, he lets his Geelong blindness to the fore pretty regularly.
We were at the game Friday, row 5 directly behind goals next to the Lions cheer squad. I can confirm that O’Connor was pinching Rayner at every opportunity. It happened at every single centre bounce when O’Connor and Rayner were in the goal square for the one on one.
Just before the free kick was paid Rayner went up to the umpire at our end of the ground to point out what was occurring.
The umpire in question then did not take his eyes off the two of them for the next 1-2 minutes until he paid the free kick.
I also noticed at one stage prior to the free kick, the goal umpire signalled the field umpire to keep an eye on things.
It’s a bit disappointing that there has been very little little mention of this pinching in the media. This a dog tactic by O’Connor (probably instructed by Chris Scott) as there is not a lot Rayner could do.
I know it’s not Chris Fagan’s style but I’m suprised that he did not bring it up at the press conference. Hopefully something has since been mentioned in confidentiality to the AFL.

We were at the game Friday, row 5 directly behind goals next to the Lions cheer squad. I can confirm that O’Connor was pinching Rayner at every opportunity. It happened at every single centre bounce when O’Connor and Rayner were in the goal square for the one on one.
Just before the free kick was paid Rayner went up to the umpire at our end of the ground to point out what was occurring.
The umpire in question then did not take his eyes off the two of them for the next 1-2 minutes until he paid the free kick.
I also noticed at one stage prior to the free kick, the goal umpire signalled the field umpire to keep an eye on things.
It’s a bit disappointing that there has been very little little mention of this pinching in the media. This a dog tactic by O’Connor (probably instructed by Chris Scott) as there is not a lot Rayner could do.
I know it’s not Chris Fagan’s style but I’m suprised that he did not bring it up at the press conference. Hopefully something has since been mentioned in confidentiality to the AFL.
I reckon Fages would be taking the higher moral ground - and really read the room that we were well and truly defeated by a better team on the day, regardless of what happened between Rayner and O'Connor. Behind closed doors, He'd be backing Rayner to the hilt.

Smart by Fages. Cam having a sook to the umps about someone pinching him looks a bit precious to me.

Pinch him back or work out some other way of physically intimidating him.

Smart by Fages. Cam having a sook to the umps about someone pinching him looks a bit precious to me.

Pinch him back or work out some other way of physically intimidating him.

You can be suspended for pinching, so I wouldn’t encourage Cam to do it.

There's so much that goes on and is said on a footy field that never sees the light of day but as soon as you get a little incident like this all the guys that used to belt people off the park inflame the public who really have no idea of the physical competitiveness of the game.

Suspended for pinching ? You wouldn't want that on your CV would you. Shameful.

I was just behind the cheersquad. I will check as some people who went with me may have video of OConnor pinching him from the get go. Once goalumpire came in the middle of the 2 to stop the stupidity.

Finally some sensibility in this Rayner discussion. Leigh Matthews on 360 the voice of reason re the Rayner free kick. Queries why a player is shoving someone 50 metres off the ball and why is the AFL throwing their umpires under a bus. Great work Leigh. #freecamrayner

There's so much that goes on and is said on a footy field that never sees the light of day but as soon as you get a little incident like this all the guys that used to belt people off the park inflame the public who really have no idea of the physical competitiveness of the game.

Suspended for pinching ? You wouldn't want that on your CV would you. Shameful.

What sort of a player pinches someone?

Someone who wants you to punch them and get suspended

He did the right thing

The media reaction is typical #VICBIAS

What sort of a player pinches someone?

Someone who wants you to punch them and get suspended

He did the right thing

The media reaction is typical #VICBIAS

Psychological tactic to prevent a player from focusing.

Club should have stitched Geelong up with a bad medical report. You can argue whether ordinary tagging tactics are within the spirit of the game (IMO they’re not) but pinching is so far outside of the rules and spirit of the game.

Review Qualifying Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions