List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

this makes the most sense to me for JUH tbh. Get somewhere out of the limelight.
You do appreciate that it is GOLD COAST Suns that they are talking about him going to? The GOLD COAST is not the spot to hide someone who has a problem with nightclubs, partying, drugs and less desirable mates. His best spot would be the Tasmanian Devils, as all is shut and closed by 8.00 pm.

Imagine Chris Scott meeting Rowan at the end of this season. His team just made the grand final again, maybe won another premiership. They need a ruckman. He's telling Rowan "You'll be mostly in the forward line at St Kilda and only pinch hitting in the ruck. We actually need a senior ruckman. You fancy trying to reinvent yourself as a forward? Or how about you do whst you do best, nearer home, living the country life, no loss of salary or security"

What would you say?
What can he say? Even if I want to, I am contracted to St Kilda, Ross and the Cray Twins from Recruiting have said they won't trade anyone who is contracted, unless the trade massively benefits St Kilda. So I suppose its how badly do you want a senior ruckman?

Sounds good.

I would still like to keep Marshall regardless of what Geelong offer. I just think he is versatile enough to fill a number of positions if we have injuries and is our best onfield leader of the older guys. If our cap becomes an issue, then I would move on Jack Steele before Marshall, but we obviously wont get the same return trade wise.

Also you would hope we get something in return if we are giving up pick #7 for Flanders, a pick sufficient to work the Aleer or Ryan trades. I gather if Flanders nominates us we wont push the McKenzie trade, particularly given the current Merrett situation?
Id try and keep Marshall for the 1 year out of the 2. Let's see how he goes with TDK.

I guess you dont HAVE to but the modern environment being what it is, its good practise.
I don't think so. That thrn means every time there is a change in strategy your going to tell the players first?

Im confused by this. We have done no such thing until we started looking at TDK. The only other rucks we brought in was Paddy Ryder specifically to play the forward/ruck role alongside him and Campbell/Hayes/Boyd to provide injury relief. Heath and Dodoson were both young recruits with years of development ahead of them.

Thats 7 years without searching for another no.1 ruck.
Draper, Xerri, Meek?

What can he say? Even if I want to, I am contracted to St Kilda, Ross and the Cray Twins from Recruiting have said they won't trade anyone who is contracted, unless the trade massively benefits St Kilda. So I suppose its how badly do you want a senior ruckman?
Correct. I have a feeling it won't be as impossible as the Wilkie trade though.

Im confused by this. We have done no such thing until we started looking at TDK. The only other rucks we brought in was Paddy Ryder specifically to play the forward/ruck role alongside him and Campbell/Hayes/Boyd to provide injury relief. Heath and Dodoson were both young recruits with years of development ahead of them.

You are forgetting about the 700k offer we had for Draper before he played a game and trying to get Xerri over a year or two later.

Whats this about Caminiti?

ST KILDA

Targets

Tom De Koning (Carlton)
Jack Silvagni (Carlton)
Liam Ryan (West Coast)
Leek Aleer (GWS)
Sam Flanders (Gold Coast)

Who’s Moving?

Rowan Marshall
Callum Wilkie
Anthony Caminiti
Max Heath

Draft Hand

7, 43, 58

Oh also

Callum Wilkie will be the St Kilda captain in 2026

Lock it in - according to a player
Pencil case will blow a zipper
Wilkie thread is a hard read
I had to leave
They're wither trolling or are complete idiots

Whats this about Caminiti?

ST KILDA

Targets

Tom De Koning (Carlton)
Jack Silvagni (Carlton)
Liam Ryan (West Coast)
Leek Aleer (GWS)
Sam Flanders (Gold Coast)

Who’s Moving?

Rowan Marshall
Callum Wilkie
Anthony Caminiti
Max Heath

Draft Hand

7, 43, 58

They just needed to pad the list with players and since Collingwood enquired about him, he made the cut.

The Bulldogs' top choice will have to be on the table if Callum Wilkie pursues a move from St Kilda to take up the Dogs' lucrative four-year offer, however the Saints are not considered likely to budge if their gun defender looked at a move.

There are some good players still available. Serong would be a good get for someone.

Pencil case will blow a zipper

I had to leave
They're wither trolling or are complete idiots

That thread is a cesspool.

Dogs supports want to talk a big game then shrivel up and cry when someone responds to them in the same manner.

Liam Ryan for me. New club, rejuvenated enthusiasm. If we can get him through a full pre-season unscathed I reckon he's going to be so much fun to watch.

You need a few small scoring options modern footy. King dropping the ball at the feet of Snags, Hall and Ryan and or maybe Butler and Collard is going to be a pretty fun set up.

I don’t get the narrative around Rowan not being informed of the clubs TDK pursuit.

Since when does list management report to players? How is it a story that Rowan wasn’t consulted about recruiting targets and plans on how they will play him next season. Most ridiculous thing I have ever heard.

Would be very hard for recruiting discretion if this is an expectation of the exisiting players

Actually pretty ordinary IMO. You should communicate the plan to your senior leaders at least. Selling the dream is part of keeping the list together these days. The best coaches are the best communicators and bring the players along on the journey.

It's not Supercoach. It's trying to designing a game plan to maximise what you have available and the players are then the ones having to implement it. The senior guys should go back to the younger ones and keep the rest on the path.

I'm hoping that the journalist is wrong.

He's been close enough to elite for years. He's had a down year but I reckon he's similar to English or Nank who is adequate at tap work but more a break even who is very good around the ground as a mobile utility. He's one of our few that has consistently stepped up at crunch times in matches.

I don't rate rucks that highly. There are very few times in a match when a ruck spoon feeds mids and they directly lead to goals. When we had a below average midfield and an adequate ruckman it wasn't ideal but to me it has never been a huge issue.

If TDK gets relaxed ruck rules he could absolutely be a weapon and may actually be a massive advantage but we are paying him the money that a superstar mid would have cost.

There's positives and negatives to either. If we keep Ro another season and one of Keels or Dodson take a big step up there’s better continuity of performance. Also if King doesn't get up there is at least someone who can be a mature tall forward.

Yeah, I'm happy for the club to make the call. I'd think that trading him makes sense but if Lyon thinks that we need him he's the one with the plan.

I am in the surplus to needs camp, but agree it needs to be more than that

Everyone is focusing on the Cats but I also wonder if Essendon are sniffing around. Lost Draper, delisted Goldstein, Bryan coming off an ACL, Visentini still a long way off, Blakiston handy but not a world-beater... surely they will look for some help. Yes they are in the mire but Ro was an Essendon supporter as a kid, they were keen to get him across a few years ago, and they will be flush with cash to top up his front-loaded contract

They have an enviable draft hand even if Merrett stays... even Draper compo (band 2) + their 2nd would carry the points equivalent of pick 10 which would be enough to get Flanders done you'd think

Blakiston was playing as a key defender and looked better than McKay. They'd be crazy to move him out of the backline.

what will Flanders add to our team? I have not seen a lot of him.

He was elite off HBF last year with small patches of midfield but more as the defensive minded mid. He apparently wants more midfield time. He was playing as a bit of a utility/ high HF this year. Had a bad back and was a bit off his best in 2025.

Was drafted as an impact HF and has scope to play anywhere. I think the ideal would be to rotate him and Nas between on-ball and HB.

With regard to Ro, Id say the club only trades him if it makes us better in the short term, or at least break even in the short term, and better in the medium term. So if it's for a player, that player has to bring more to the team than Ro can in 2026 and beyond. If it's for picks, those picks have to net us said player. Effectively, if trading Ro gets us the picks to bring in Flanders, then we do it, if it doesn't, we don't.

I'm also not against just seeing how he goes with TDK for a year, and if it doesn't work, trading him at the end of next year. We will undoubtedly get less for him, but I think it's worth the gamble, as it could work really well, and at the very least Ro provides decent backup for King.

The fact that Heath seems almost certain to join the Dees suggests to me that we have very little intentions of trading him though, so this may be a moot point.