Recommitted Rowan Marshall [OOC 2027] - Requested Trade to Geelong, didn't get done

Well I can’t imagine we are going to trade him for your current pick 17.

It’s going to need to be improved. I think a top 12 pick as that will beat essendons DVI offering with their 2 second round picks and we can flip it to GC for Flanders

If thats the case we would likely walk away. We wont have such a pick and if we did have we would do other things with it i suspect. We will make our best offer and let st kilda decide.

You have identical articles from Ralph and Ryan in the last hour about how you are going to bridge the gap to Brisbane next year. Marshall is centre to that according to both as Curnow looks unlikely.

Looks like it’s been club fed. I think you are going to come hard.

How is not getting an instant improvement in your weakest area of the ground a win for Geelong?
Yep , only a yr after cats fans couldn’t stop waxing lyrical about how good their club is coz they fleeced the bulldogs for smiff(which they did) it’s looking very likely what goes around comes around this trade period for the Geelong

Cats fans can talk up the classic
“We ll just walk away “ all they like but Chris Scott and co will be dead set desperate to get Marshall in this year after the absolute pantsing they took in yesterdays GF, with a major part of that being the deplorable effort from their ruck combo which saw brions torch them at the stoppages
Scott won’t be having any “gap” year, -absolution laughable suggestion and nothing but cope from supporters.

Stanley was finished 2 yrs ago Blicaz is nearly finished and only part timer anyway.
With danger just about done outside bit parts now their susceptible midfield is looking even more shaky(worpels merely a sideways move)
Not too mention Stewart’s what 33?.
Can’t be relying on him to save the defence from midfield smashings that are only going to become more frequent if the ruck position isn’t addressed urgently

And while They were still close this yr ,just to maintain that level of performance they need to get in Marshall other wise can easily see a dip from a contending team to finals also ran at best next season.

Mackie might think he’s king dick but watch for grubby Allen and sos to make him their quiver at the trade table this year as the desperado cats and himself get a healthy dose of the karma train

Yep , only a yr after cats fans couldn’t stop waxing lyrical about how good their club is coz they fleeced the bulldogs for smiff(which they did) it’s looking very likely what goes around comes around this trade period for the Geelong

Cats fans can talk up the classic
“We ll just walk away “ all they like but Chris Scott and co will be dead set desperate to get Marshall in this year after the absolute pantsing they took in yesterdays GF, with a major part of that being the deplorable effort from their ruck combo which saw brions torch them at the stoppages
Scott won’t be having any “gap” year, -absolution laughable suggestion and nothing but cope from supporters.

Stanley was finished 2 yrs ago Blicaz is nearly finished and only part timer anyway.
With danger just about done outside bit parts now their susceptible midfield is looking even more shaky(worpels merely a sideways move)
Not too mention Stewart’s what 33?.
Can’t be relying on him to save the defence from midfield smashing that are only going to become more frequent if the ruck position isn’t addressed urgently

They were still close this yr and just to maintain that level of performance they need to get in Marshall other wise can easily see a dip from contending to finals also ran at best next season.

Mackie might think he’s king dick but watch for grubby Allen and sos to make him their bitch at the trade table this year as the desperado cats and himself get a healthy dose of the karma train
Geez mate, you got Clark from us for well unders as it turned out, why are you so pissy and sooky about us?

Might need some tinkering but something similar could be an option

Saints give
Marshall, 7
Saints receive
Flanders, 13, F2

Geelong give
17, F2
Geelong receive
Marshall

GC give
13, Flanders
GC receive
7, 17

Looks pretty reasonable for all clubs to me.

Geez mate, you got Clark from us for well unders as it turned out, why are you so pissy and sooky about us?
Actually I was in the camp that happy enough to get clark in for that price .
Plenty on our board complained but I ve always been confident Jordy would be gun do it didn’t bother me

It’s more the posturing of your list manager at trade time on basically every single trade he does.(the ratogalea trade the biggest example)

I mean every clubs recruiter could theoretically do it but don’t , for the simple reason what goes around comes around at the draft table , eventually,
(Remember dodoro and the bombers towards the end of his tenure?)

Geelong been lucky that they’ve had the leverage in a lot of deals recently and taken full advantage and that’s great but eventually the wheel turns and it looks very much like happening here with regards to Marshall .

Your club should and I’d be pretty confident Scott would be anyway,desperate to bring him in after yesterday but it’s going to take Mackie giving up a fair bit more than he’d like to.

Otherwise it’s the saints that will walk away .

SOS , Allen and Lyon with all the leverage is who he s going to be dealing with .

Good luck

He’s got sweet **** all chance of getting a deal done here without genuinely overpaying

Sure he and the cats could walk away too but as I said it’s hard to see Scott accepting the status quo after being demolished in the ruck department- by one good/average ruck and journey man no less

Your midfield is and i know alot of Geelong supporters feel the same ,and has been for sometime ,the teams weakest link and improving that area is their most pressing need if they still want to compete (top 4) next yr

Anyway, first need the Marshall camp to request a trade to begin with b4 anything happens

Actually I was in the camp that happy enough to get clark in for that price .
Plenty on our board complained but I ve always been confident Jordy would be gun do it didn’t bother me

It’s more the posturing of your list manager at trade time on basically every single trade he does.(the ratogalea trade the biggest example)

I mean every clubs recruiter could theoretically do it but don’t , for the simple reason what goes around comes around at the draft table , eventually,
(Remember dodoro and the bombers towards the end of his tenure?)

Geelong been lucky that they’ve had the leverage in a lot of deals recently and taken full advantage and that’s great but eventually the wheel turns and it looks very much like happening here with regards to Marshall .

Your club should and I’d be pretty confident Scott would be anyway,desperate to bring him in after yesterday but it’s going to take Mackie giving up a fair bit more than he’d like to.

Otherwise it’s the saints that will walk away .

SOS , Allen and Lyon with all the leverage is who he s going to be dealing with .

Good luck

He’s got sweet **** all chance of getting a deal done here without genuinely overpaying

Sure he and the cats could walk away too but as I said it’s hard to see Scott accepting the status quo after being demolished in the ruck department- by one good/average ruck and journey man no less

Your midfield is and i know alot of Geelong supporters feel the same ,and has been for sometime ,the teams weakest link and improving that area is their most pressing need if they still want to compete (top 4) next yr

Anyway, first need the Marshall camp to request a trade to begin with b4 anything happens
Marshall has already requested a trade. The club has knocked it back.

All posturing.

Geelong just needs to meet our asking price and it gets done. If they pull sniffy smith type of dealings it won’t happen.

Marshall has already requested a trade. The club has knocked it back.

All posturing.

Geelong just needs to meet our asking price and it gets done. If they pull sniffy smith type of dealings it won’t happen.
Ah ok
I did not know this
But yep 💯

The cats will definitely have to pay up and handsomely other wise it’s another yr of the their geriatric combo in the ruck for them

You have identical articles from Ralph and Ryan in the last hour about how you are going to bridge the gap to Brisbane next year. Marshall is centre to that according to both as Curnow looks unlikely.

Looks like it’s been club fed. I think you are going to come hard.

No chance. Ryans article is hot air it has no correlation to how the club operates. It will be like Oliver etc last year. We will make our best offer and then walk away if st kilda aren't happy with the price. He will either be traded for a reasonable price or not at all (more likely at all).

Its just one of those things where he is worth way more to us than what Geelong is prepared to offer and that's ok.
He is contracted which matters.

Ah ok
I did not know this
But yep 💯

The cats will definitely have to pay up and handsomely other wise it’s another yr of the their geriatric combo in the ruck for them

That wont happen. Geelong will just take the 3rd option and move on and solve the ruck issue in a cheaper way. It's up to st kilda if they would like to deal for the price Geelong offer or if they would like to pay marshall to play full forward (which is entirely their right).

Its just one of those things where he is worth way more to us than what Geelong is prepared to offer and that's ok.
He is contracted which matters.

Yeah thats fair. Look if he was still 26 id pay a huge amount for the player he is. But his age means thats a no to that price. But I agree theres a difference in his value to both sides and I dont see that gap being bridged to do a trade.
It's unfortunate for marshall as I doubt he wants to play FF for the next 2 years but thats the way life is.

Might need some tinkering but something similar could be an option

Saints give
Marshall, 7
Saints receive
Flanders, 13, F2

Geelong give
17, F2
Geelong receive
Marshall

GC give
13, Flanders
GC receive
7, 17

Thats not out of the question for us (give or take swapping some late picks) but I would expect gc want more and I'm not sure st kilda would like the deal.

Yeah thats fair. Look if he was still 26 id pay a huge amount for the player he is. But his age means thats a no to that price. But I agree theres a difference in his value to both sides and I dont see that gap being bridged to do a trade.
It's unfortunate for marshall as I doubt he wants to play FF for the next 2 years but thats the way life is.
With Marshall its more a logistical thing from what I understand.
Family all that jazz
Would he love to get to Geelong if a deal can get done sure. I'm fairly sure he has conveyed that.
But he likes it at the Saints so isn't desperate to leave.

With sub more than likely getting scrapped and going to a 5 man bench, the ability to play both Marshall and TDK is quite intriguing.

With Marshall its more a logistical thing from what I understand.
Family all that jazz
Would he love to get to Geelong if a deal can get done sure. I'm fairly sure he has conveyed that.
But he likes it at the Saints so isn't desperate to leave.

With sub more than likely getting scrapped and going to a 5 man bench, the ability to play both Marshall and TDK is quite intriguing.

That was my understanding too.
He loves st kilda the club-hes not desperate to run away (unlike curnow) but he would like to be closer to the family in Portland and he would prefer to be a starting ruck (which he will get with us and wont get with you). But I think his age makes it a very hard trade to value.
FYI I dont think most clubs will play 2 rucks on a 5 man bench but we will see.

That was my understanding too.
He loves st kilda the club-hes not desperate to run away (unlike curnow) but he would like to be closer to the family in Portland and he would prefer to be a starting ruck (which he will get with us and wont get with you). But I think his age makes it a very hard trade to value.
FYI I dont think most clubs will play 2 rucks on a 5 man bench but we will see.
I agree but I wouldn't consider TDK and Roma as big lumbering ruckmen per say in the mould of Meek/Darcy/ Witts ect.

Totally agree 100 %.
I just think the way the game is going and clubs innovating i dont think every club will play 2 rucks when the sub is gone.
St kilda might try to if they are paying 2.6 mil between them and dont want one in the vfl and a couple of clubs with 2 super rucks now but I dont think the majority will they will go for more run.

Totally agree 100 %.
I just think the way the game is going and clubs innovating i dont think every club will play 2 rucks when the sub is gone.
St kilda might try to if they are paying 2.6 mil between them and dont want one in the vfl and a couple of clubs with 2 super rucks now but I dont think the majority will they will go for more run.
We will just have to wait and see it all plays out I guess.

I also think Marshall could be an absolute weapon at Geelong.
Especially on the smaller GMHBA stadium.

Personally I feel we should move away from this now.

I'd prefer a "Gap Year" or mini-rebuild where we focus on bringing in more youth and seeing what our VFL/fringe guys have, than topping up again with a 30 year old.

We're constantly contending with a bunch of late picks, rookies, and rejects....but the gap in pure unadulterated talent that you get from multiple top young draft picks was very evident yesterday.

This seems a bit of an overreaction. You guys still made the GF easily. Geelong has a competitive longevity that most of the rest of the comp is jealous of.

We will just have to wait and see it all plays out I guess.

I also think Marshall could be an absolute weapon at Geelong.
Especially on the smaller GMHBA stadium.

He's very agile.
Not the tallest but I think this gives him an advantage once the ball hits the deck. I reckon he has 2-3 years of top flight footy left before the natural decline.

This seems a bit of an overreaction. You guys still made the GF easily. Geelong has a competitive longevity that most of the rest of the comp is jealous of.

I think its more an observation on how brisbane will dominate the next 2-3 years than anything to do with us to be fair.