List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Well, our small forward stocks are officially terrible.

Plenty of opportunity for Champion, Newton, Long and anybody else to lock down regular playing time in the senior side. Hell, even Owies could do it if he remembers how to play footy again!

It was very average anyway. With improvement comes more inside 50 entries and more opportunities for small forwards. We will be ok.

Well, our small forward stocks are officially terrible.

Plenty of opportunity for Champion, Newton, Long and anybody else to lock down regular playing time in the senior side. Hell, even Owies could do it if he remembers how to play footy again!

Hutchinson should be playing the flying Ryan role next season.

This was the sort of role he was playing well in when we drafted him in '24.

Would have rather kept Ryan as our small/medium stocks are fairly weak or unproven. Owies will be happy though

Good trade. Ryan looked pretty disinterested at times this year and was always quick to point the finger or blame a team mate when it didn’t go to plan. Think he’s an awesome player when he’s inspired but just not the player we need for rebuild. Does leave a pretty big void though so hopefully Long, Brockman, or Owies are able to step up this year.
Forgot about Long and Brockman...I don't even think about Owies, he's an enigma that could go either way next season...but there's also Newton and Champion.
A reasonable outcome for the Ryan trade, another plum pick for next year. He was looking lethargic and uninspired (winning 1 game can do that along with a few years of tough times). Good change for him and us. Will miss those sweet diagonal kicks inside 50.

I'm no draft expert, but all i hear it is a weaker draft than normal.

Given how poor we are, and have been, why in hell would we want to give up one of the top two picks, why would we just not pick the two best players available, god knows we need talent.
It all depends on who we actually rate at 1 & 2, and where we think our 2 is likely to fall on the night.

For example, we take Duursma at 1 and rate Sharp second...but we know Sharp will fall a few places below that. It would be negligence on our part not to try and exploit that, trade down from 2, reap the benefits of that and still get our man in Sharp at a lower pick.

Kinda feel like Ryan was worth more but also that's fine, not sure he has much left in him anyway.

Silver lining to getting rid of Barrass, Darling, Allen and Ryan is they all played 100 games with us, so we have access to their father/son/daughter picks.

Although that may no longer be a thing by the those kids are old enough

Just catching up on the day.

Ryan deal is a good piece of business. I was hoping for just the F2, nothing back, but backing ourselves in with the future-future-third gives us time to climb the ladder. Tassie draft means it’s borderline worthless. Would have preferred to keep for vibes sake, but no bother.

Second rounders will be worth their weight in gold next year, with lots of teams needing high point totals to match bids and clubs only allowed to use two picks to match.

Go well Liam. Another bit of business done. Moving well this offseason.