Unofficial Preview 2025 Hawk's Hypothetical Trade Discussion...now with added DFA spitballing!

• Thread starter Thread starter eldorado

This thread is becoming increasingly popular, and to keep some sort of order, we will have some….

Rules of engagement:

1. Bring valid news or links to Twitter posts from notable sources. Don’t post screenshots or “some bloke just said on SEN” or what some “trade whisperer” has posted on a Facebook page.

2. Ignore what other team boards are putting up as trade offers. Don’t quote or bring them here either.

3. Don’t post “buckle up” for the lols.

4. If you can’t say anything nice about Worpel or CJ, don’t say anything at all. The continued slaps and backhanders are just going to be deleted.

4x first rounders for a 30yr old is just laughable stuff, but not all surprising from Essendon.

They get to puff their chests out now about how great they are 😂
Reckon they sabotaged the deal, they dropped that with 10mins to go full well knowing it wasn't going to be accepted.

A sad fail to only have one deal as a focus. For all what was talked about prior we shirked it by not putting forward a genuine senior player. Petracca as much a miss as Merrett.
How do you convince a senior player to join a club that is an annual laughing stock and who's captain wants to bail?

Impossible task.

The trade team did all they could. We offered more for Merrett than Petracca and Curnow (based on picks back).

The potential disappointment was whether we cut deals with Blues and others trying to satisfy Essendon that we may not have done if we knew this deal wouldn't eventuate.

However, we should have cut our losses way earlier and pursued other opportunities.

Ah well, onwards and upwards and the Hawks youth will get their opportunity.

Reality is we are simply not closing the gap on Brisbane now. We will be top 6, but fck when you tell the world we need mids and end up landing donuts it's a clear failure.

Remember all the talk we'd land two quality mids?

Last edited by a moderator:
Me neither.

1. We chose not to match for a free agent who was entitled to leave for Geelong because he didn’t sign a contract to stay with us.

2. We don’t bring in a guy who was actually not entitled to leave Essendon because he still has two years to run in his current contract.

You sign contracts, don’t be surprised if you’re held to them.

Tom Petroro and Zach Merrett look like the idiots here.

Neither Hawthorn or Essendon have lost anything.
This is a very insightful post.
I posted on your board days ago that you had to understand my mucked up clubs mindset and I thought a trade was unlikely.
The simple fact was merrett was contracted.
Maybe it is not a bad thing that managers and players are shown that contracts are binding contracts.
I just wish my club didn’t have to prove the point.

Just trying to understand

Essendon had a very good player who didnt want to be there and made it known

They were offered 3 first round picks a second and a player and they chose to ask for another 1st on top of that

So they had a chance to really build with draft picks before Tassie come in but chose to keep a 30 year old with no possibility of playing finals in the next 2 years.

They are the.dumbest club in the competition

Long may their reign of incompetence continue

"Time for Zach to front up. Some honest, deep conversations with the playing group to mend some fences. Both in terms of rebuilding some trust in him, but hopefully also addressing some concerns he has about the club. Relinquishes the captaincy and knuckle down and put in the best individual season he can. We revisit next year."

So let's get this straight. After this catastrophe, what they want from their 6 time B&F, is to have his best year. :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy:

Feeling a bit flat to be honest. What’s Billy Hartung up to these days?

Reminds me of trying to settle my divorce, thank god we didn’t, but even if we had offered 4 firsts they would’ve moved the goal posts because you can’t negotiate with campaigners.
Twomey now saying that they wanted 4x 1sts and a future 2nd rounder + Huss.

So essentially, 6 players for a 30yr old.

Michael Jordan Lol GIF

They were offered 3 first round picks a second and a player and they chose to ask for another 1st on top of that

So they had a chance to really build with draft picks before Tassie come in but chose to keep a 30 year old with no possibility of playing finals in the next 2 years.

Tough to fathom.

They've set themselves back up to 5 years, really, given they're not getting much in 2027 and 2028, and they also won't get much for Zach if and when he leaves next year.

IMO most likely scenario is Zach finds sympathy with a flag contender which gives him a flag out of free agency.

This year would be a perfect year to draft the next Tim Kelly or Isaac Smith. Any decent mature agers on the radar?

Where was plan B and C? Would have preferred to get in Steele or Simpkin, then waste time pursuing the unattainable. Our list is now weaker, hope Mitch gives some proper game time next year to Hustwaite and MacKenzie.

Bitter sweat on missing out on Merrett.

More upset we had the cap space and in the premiership window but failed to capitalise add any quality players.
Desperately needed to improve our midfield but somehow managed to weaken it. So we f****d that unfortunately. Worpel's loss will be acutely felt.

Doubt this is the case. They just right royally ****ed up the trade period. Not that they weren't diligent. But they clearly have very poor risk management, if they didn't consider the possibilities of dealing with a bunch of hysterical flogs.

Nah emotions are just high for Hawks right now.

Serong and Jiath were unlikely to stay regardless of a Merrett trade.

Worpel was ready to return home, but we could of matched for him.

We got to a prelim without Day for the most of the year.

Sam and the boys need to go hard on skills training!

A big midfield focus on set plays and skills for Maginness, Mackenzie, MacDonald.C, Nash, Anderson, Ward, Watson, D’Ambriso and Watson.

If Maginness could sort out his kicking he would be very good in the midfield.

Player talent identification Has never been an issue for the Hawks team.

We will regroup, go hard at the draft and over the preseason draft.