Do Collingwood need to enter a rebuild phase?

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Take it to the banter thread sport

There may be a cliff coming someday but there is no evidence to suggest it is here or even close

Still playing well in finals and have the comp's best player, a true generational talent

Plus we're a destination club

Look up and you'll see us šŸ‘
I'll keep it here thanks mate and if you read this thread there is plenty of evidence such as an aging group and plenty of untried youngsters.

Are you referencing experts on "The Front Bar"?
Never watched it mate, the experts all seem to be on the same page though regarding the Pies premiership window.

It’ll be a cold day in hell before anyone takes advice from Carlton supporters on what a good AFL list looks like.
That's Bigfooty gold mate, i suppose you know more and are smarter because you follow the Pies? Absolute gold lol.

That’s the issue the players aren’t of a standard to warrant inclusion. Even when senior players had dips in form they had to remain in the senior team.
Which senior players had dips in form?

We were written off as no good and too old after losing rd0 to GWS. But then after that got in top 4 and stayed their for the remainder of the season in 2025.

Harrison, McInnes and Ed Allan haven't played 25 games yet...if they were at Essendon they probably would have all played way more games to date.

So now they haven't got exposure and are not rated externally. That doesn't guarantee they won't make it.

And again that has nothing to do with the aging veterans and your made up tipping point.

Exactly the point.
Collingwood relies on a number of players who are not going to get any better, they’re either playing their best footy, or have played it.
Nick Daicos the only exception.
I think there are plenty of exceptions and many players, both older than 25 and under 25, who have scope for improvement from what they provided the Pies on field in 2025
Collingwood do not have many if any players in the under 25 brigade to bridge the gap that will come as the over 28’s either decline or leave the list, and have already had 3 trade targets who might have helped in this regard turn their back on them.
That is the brilliance of list management.

You don't solely need kids to mature (as most people know, most 18 yr old draftees don't make it).

We don't need to rely on having 3 draftees be a success every year - you can add mature senior players to the list.

By the way, who were the three trade targets we missed out on?

Which senior players had dips in form?

We were written off as no good and too old after losing rd0 to GWS. But then after that got in top 4 and stayed their for the remainder of the season in 2025.

Harrison, McInnes and Ed Allan haven't played 25 games yet...if they were at Essendon they probably would have all played way more games to date.

So now they haven't got exposure and are not rated externally. That doesn't guarantee they won't make it.

And again that has nothing to do with the aging veterans and your made up tipping point.
Harrison and Allan will be servicable foot soldiers. Mcinnes im not sold on.
Jiath will be a bust i reckon. Are there any others ?

Fox Sports and they're really experts

View attachment 2491006
How good are the fox footy experts.

2021 window

COLLINGWOOD

Leigh Montagna says: ā€œI hope they’re pragmatic and realistic with where they’re at. I think they are in a rebuild for a number of years. They’ve got a long way to go because they’ve got to phase out their stars while theyā€˜re trying to acquire some draft talent. We know they’re going to get Daicos this year, but they’re not getting in a cluster of picks. They’re still a work in progress.ā€

Premiership window: 2026-2030

PIes just entering our window according to the fox experts!!

And good to know that the severe cliff that the experts predicted Geelong would meet in 2021 is now where the Pies find themselves.

Experts 🤣🤣

How good are the fox footy experts.

2021 window

COLLINGWOOD

Leigh Montagna says: ā€œI hope they’re pragmatic and realistic with where they’re at. I think they are in a rebuild for a number of years. They’ve got a long way to go because they’ve got to phase out their stars while theyā€˜re trying to acquire some draft talent. We know they’re going to get Daicos this year, but they’re not getting in a cluster of picks. They’re still a work in progress.ā€

Premiership window: 2026-2030

PIes just entering our window according to the fox experts!!

And good to know that the severe cliff that the experts predicted Geelong would meet in 2021 is now where the Pies find themselves.

Experts 🤣🤣
How old is that artical?

Harrison and Allan will be servicable foot soldiers. Mcinnes im not sold on.
Jiath will be a bust i reckon. Are there any others ?
There are 21 players on our list who are yet to play 25 AFL games.

Happy for you to give your judgement on which are going to come good and which won't. šŸ‘

How old is that artical?
It was the 2021 version of the premiership window, article from the fox footy "experts".

But then in 2022

COLLINGWOOD

Collingwood will have another premiership window later on this decade given the youth that’s starting to emerge, but in terms of their current one, it’s probably open for a maximum of two years. Key to that assessment are the likes of Scott Pendlebury, Steele Sidebottom and Jeremy Howe, who are playing very good football still but could start to break down as they get to their mid-30s. It seems as though 2021 was an outlier season and this side is still right among premiership contention. With a good mix of old and young, the Pies should be aiming high in the next year or two before a more long-term approach begins.

Premiership window: 2023-2024

Do Collingwood need to enter a rebuild phase?