Training Pre-season 2019

Transferring our defensive pressure issues in the middle to further increasing our defensive pressure issues up forward.

That's where Rohan, Dahlhaus and Fogarty come in. The club has clearly realised we have had an issue there and they have recruited accordingly to address the issue.

Just throw out a bunch of random sports with no data and assume they are worse than AFLW for ACLs.

I already posted how much worse AFLW stats are on ACLs compared to netball.

The truth isn't sexist.

Not high volume sports in Australia.
Just throw out a bunch of random sports with no data and assume they are worse than AFLW for ACLs.

I already posted how much worse AFLW stats are on ACLs compared to netball.

The truth isn't sexist.

No but your being sexist a bit like brain Taylor wowee look at me. Women are 2-10 times more likely to do an acl compared to men. We know this from you know all the other sports lol. Soccer, Basketball where female pro leagues are a big business.

Are we going to stop women playing these sports ? Like AFLw ? Because of the increased risk of injury ban these sports for women?

It's a boom in womens sport with that comes injuries and better preventative measure and much more research. Melbourne university, monash etc all currently running studies. The initial stats on AFLW say exactly what we already knew!!!! It's just someone wrote an article on AFL.com and boom now it's this incredible issue that came from nowhere.

Australia has the highest rate of ACL surgery in the world why becaus we created ridiculous games where we tackle each other off balance, jump pivot and have contact.

The number of young people having acl surgery has risen 70% in the last 15 years.

50-80% of acls are preventable through agility and strength training.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/amp.abc.net.au/article/10364518

The studies on AFLW are revolving around how much contact or physical sports female have played before taking up AFLW. Are they used to landing playing the game, preventative training methods etc. This is the major stepping stone to lowering the statistics training methods etc.

https://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2017-05-11/womens-football-acl-injury-prevention/8465100

So the stats you having been harping on is
Acl injuries
Women 6.47% per 1000 hours
Men 0.7% per 1000 hours

None of this is new evidence it's old as previously stated we already have this data from the huge amount of data coming from other professional female sport soccer, basketball. It's extremely likely on sample size data in growing sports with not refined programs to get higher numbers especially in AFL.

Netball is the no.1 contact sport for women in australia

The 5th most popular outside of school hours

38% of ACLS were sustained in netball

20% of meniscal injuries came from netball.

But yeah let's ignore other sports where majority of these injuries are happening. All these injuries are coming in netball lets stop women playing netball while we are at it to.
---------------------------------------------------------------------

https://www.google.com.au/amp/www.thefemaleacl.com/blog/female-acl-injury-statistics.amp

Females across all sports 3.5 times more likely injure ACL.

So in summary other than 4 - 5 years of data on AFLW

Tell me something new

Transferring our defensive pressure issues in the middle to further increasing our defensive pressure issues up forward.

Well somebodies sour today lol have some lunch

Equality is not equity.

e7c75abd3a4f4597f58798982540bf36.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I never said it was. It is more about being seen to do the right thing and ticking a box with most organizations with outcomes not generally the focus.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Joel will probably end up spending some time playing as a loose/7th defender off half back ala Hodgey as he gets older. They tried it a little bit last season.
Will there even be a 7th defender with the new rules? Players have said that this will be unlikely

That is both interesting and surprising. Have you watched much training with him in that role? What are your thoughts on how it was going?
GDay Landgraft, I try to get to training weekly unless they are at GMHBA which is a lock out. I have observed Gary playing either full forward or forward pocket in most of the match sim this off season. Big Sav will alternate with Tommy in the key forward posts most of the time this season with G Rohan, Menengola, Cockatoo as Mid sized forwards, Gary will be part of the smaller forward/mid-field group.

Not sure how playing Ablett up forward meshes with our desire to increase forward pressure but we will see.
I'm not sure that is what they will ask of him at his age,I could see him playing the old Mathew Stokes role,getting to dangerous positions sagging off packs and attacking the goal front,others will do the bulk of chasing.He will still have a run on the ball role but reduced from last year.30 to 35 goals provided he doesn't stand in the forward line sooking about free kicks not paid.

Given some of the stuff posted here frankly it was almost a compliment!!

Btw, being new and all doesn't mean a thing...unless your saying there is a probationary period on bigfooty before you can insult?..

There'll be no "insulting" anyone.....expect a harder line on insult and abuse this season....

You have said your piece ....now back to football and posting relevant to the thread topic.

I'm not sure that is what they will ask of him at his age,I could see him playing the old Mathew Stokes role,getting to dangerous positions sagging off packs and attacking the goal front,others will do the bulk of chasing.He will still have a run on the ball role but reduced from last year.30 to 35 goals provided he doesn't stand in the forward line sooking about free kicks not paid.

I wouldn’t want to see us bombing it on top of him. He’ll have no chance.

think the best role for him would be to play him like port use Robbie Gray

Whilst I also think Gaz could play back like he did in the 3rdQ V Eagles am very excited about him spending time forward.
Should definitely kick a few but could also do a SJ and rack up plenty of goal assists - good move by the Club :thumbsup:

That is just staggering. How can Wells have known this guy was cursed so he doesn't make this mistake again when drafting?
Well, he did only play a handful of games in his draft year....

Will there even be a 7th defender with the new rules? Players have said that this will be unlikely
I would be shocked if this is the end of numbers behind the ball. Once it's in play the structure will almost definitely begin shifting to a modern one instead of 'traditional' positions.

ffs can we all ****ing move on?
This pointless discussion irrelevant to the topic was going on about 7 pages ago.

Ugh! This board posts a lot of irrelevant shit in Summer. Bring back footy!

The views on women’s footy are far and wide and I think there’s many aspects to it that extend beyond the actual AFLW matches themselves.

It’s the smartest thing the AFL have done as it will get many young girls interested in footy, and thus secures them future members.

But alas let’s get back to discussing preseason 2019 I think.

Last edited by a moderator:
The views on women’s footy are far and wide and I think there’s many aspects to it that extend beyond the actual AFLW matches themselves.

It’s the smartest thing the AFL have done as it will get many young girls interested in footy, and thus secures them future members.

But alas let’s get back to discussing preseason 2019 I think.
Oh I agree, I'm just not interested in it apart from watching Geelong. Most aren't interested at all.

Anyway, Gary Hocking's son is joining the Falcons in a week from SA. Is that pre-season enough?

Of course there will be. Just not at center bounces.
It won't change much. What happens when there's another stoppage directly after the centre bounce? Natural order restored.

Not sure how playing Ablett up forward meshes with our desire to increase forward pressure but we will see.
Making him accountable for his defensive efforts would be a good start...

I'm not sure Ablett will be that valuable as a forward given he struggles to get his arms above his head. Time will tell.

Oh I agree, I'm just not interested in it apart from watching Geelong. Most aren't interested at all.

Anyway, Gary Hocking's son is joining the Falcons in a week from SA. Is that pre-season enough?
Cool. I'd already thought he missed the draft. Didn't know he had another year to go.