Games that left you shell shocked?

• Thread starter Thread starter Macpotata

Specific Match: Richmond vs Suns in Cairns (2015?) where they kick 3 in the last minute including one after the siren and we lose by a point, and as a result miss the finals. Died a little that day.

Port vs Hawthorn at AO, 2015. Probably the best half of footy I've ever seen against the reigning premier.

Most people remember the Port - Richmond final but I think that game tops it.

Hawks came back hard and nearly wrestled it back too.

Sent from mTalk

Actaully for me the one game that did it was Melbounre Vs Richmond when McMahon Kicked the goal on the siren (or after, take ya pick. Still contentious call imo. Check it out your self if you have any doubts he marked that before the siren.)

I was at that game sitting right behind the goals as he kicked the Final nail in us post siren. (Amazingly) I cried because we were oh so close to finally winning (I was sitting with a supporter base of mates that was pro Richmond, very anti Melbourne)
Then within about 10 seconds, my feelings of utter jubilation turned to Head in hands in my lap (Spectacularly we lost a game we quite easily could of won, if only we didn't have an agenda. Don't deny we didn't tanked that game. Doesn't help when our FB is played out of FF. Cheers Paul Johnson)

186 was one of those things you appreciate more the longer ago it was. That was a complete and utter annihilation like none else I’ve ever seen in any sport at professional level.

Brazil 1-7 Germany has it covered easily. Two supposedly even teams, with Brazil getting obliterated in their home world cup. Several orders of magnitude more shocking than 186, and I'd say a bigger thrashing. The biggest sporting shock in my lifetime.

186 was a GOAT team up against a very mediocre side who completely fell apart on the day.

Brazil 1-7 Germany has it covered easily. Two supposedly even teams, with Brazil getting obliterated in their home world cup. Several orders of magnitude more shocking than 186, and I'd say a bigger thrashing. The biggest sporting shock in my lifetime.

186 was a GOAT team up against a very mediocre side who completely fell apart on the day.

Agree on that call, i was completely floored that first half mate absolutely mental.

Liverpool V Milan Istanbul another game I will never forget.

On a more fun note, Lewandowski's 5 goals in 8 minutes was incredible.

In the sense that you didn't see it coming. It could even be a season of a club{s}

A few games spring to mind. Sydney's opening quarter against us in 2016 where we conceded 7 goals in the opening term in the preliminary final. I did not foresee that, simply blown off the park. Conversely I thought we were going to cop it a year later in the semi final, but this time we gave them a flogging.

Doggies against West Coast in 2016 in that famous final that kicked off their brilliant finals run was a bolt out of the blue. Destroyed WCE in Perth, then going on to beat the rest of the teams in their way and capture an unlikely flag. Ditto Richmond in 2017 and West Coast in 2018.

Collingwood in 2018 were a huge surprise to me and once again the way they bobbed up in the finals, but the manner in which they responded after losing a hard fought, close one in Perth. That opening half against the Tigers was mesmerising.

Hawks against Sydney in 2015, in Sydney. My oh my. Beat them by about 15 goals.

Carlton's Prelim in 99 and the Crows triumphs in 97 then the 98 come back also tremendous. Our season in 2007 was also mind blowing.

Gold Coast beating Sydney in Sydney last year was also a major shock.

I am noticing an annoying trend of Sydney being involved in shocking defeats. That is what happens when we have a coach that has the same killer instinct and tactical ability as a lamb.

****en hell lol.

quality.

Agree on that call, i was completely floored that first half mate absolutely mental.

Liverpool V Milan Istanbul another game I will never forget.

On a more fun note, Lewandowski's 5 goals in 8 minutes was incredible.
5-0 after 30 mins. Was like wtf and pissing myself laughing at the same time.

phenomenal shit

The dumbest thing about the 7-1 is it could have been double digits if Germany didn’t put the cue in the rack at 30 minutes.

End of 2017 against the Pies was a shocker for me.

We’d won the last 4 against them and had everything to play for. They had sent guys off for surgery and played a very young side.

We didn’t lay a tackle in the first 15 minutes and I have never been more disgusted at Melbourne in my life, and that’s saying something! I could cop the loss but the fact that we started so poorly with everything to play for was infuriating.

End of 2017 against the Pies was a shocker for me.

We’d won the last 4 against them and had everything to play for. They had sent guys off for surgery and played a very young side.

We didn’t lay a tackle in the first 15 minutes and I have never been more disgusted at Melbourne in my life, and that’s saying something! I could cop the loss but the fact that we started so poorly with everything to play for was infuriating.
I reckon you might have been up in your own heads a bit with how much was on the line. Think you didn’t have the right mindset to approach the game.

It corrected later and you rallied but that poor start killed you.

In Round 12 1993 Melbourne easily beat top team and eventual premier Essendon, but the next week they crashed to a 40-point loss to the bottom placed Sydney Swans who were winless since Round 8 1992 and had copped many heavy defeats early in the season, although they were showing some improvement in the lead up to their first and only win of 1993.

I was also pretty shell-shocked after the 2003 Grand Final. I was pretty wary of the wounded Brisbane Lions and knew the Magpies winning would not be easy, but nonetheless Collingwood were favorites and Brisbane did have a lot of injuries. But while in 1992 Vanessa Williams sang about saving the best to last, Collingwood saved the worst to last 11 years later. Everything went wrong for the Magpies from the opening bounce and the GF turned into something of a replay of the 1980 premiership decider, the Lions substituted for the Tigers.

Also, not trying to put the boot in, but if I was a Port supporter, i would be pretty shell-shocked after the Eagles kicked 2 goals in the final 80 seconds last year.
Yep, that was ****ed.
To make matters worse we were up the sth east end on the concourse & as McGovern gets his kick off it swings right. We all think he’s shanked it only for, well you know the rest…