Review Round 2, 2019 vs Carlton

Lycett is a better footballer than I gave him credit for.
Agreed.

I was sceptical about what he would cost us as I incorrectly thought he was a slight Lobbe upgrade. He's been a beast this year

Neutral perspective if you don’t mind
Went along with my other half last night, froze my arse off and got soaked... things you do in marriage hey! 😳

SPP- was very clean and at times was clearly hardest at the contest when a 1v1 or 2v2 contest

Drew- Has fitted in well early into his AFL, being comfortable so early with that ginger hair and hardness = young Cameron Ling

Lycett- gave Carlton rucks a bath, must admit I thought after winning a flag and coming home he’d coast along on a fat contract ala Des Headland but so far signs are good

Rockcliff- vintage Brisbane era Rockcliff, question will be can he sustain it when Wines comes in demanding his share of the inside ball

Duursma, Rozee and Butters - good signs from all, looking like ticks all around so far

Marshall- looked lost at times think he needs to go back and dominate SANFL get some confidence back

Watts - feel for the guy, is he out of contract end of the year? If serious could be a career ending one? :(

Litmus text next 3 weeks think Brisbane at the GABBA will be a ripper battle of young guns

Richmond over here if switched on you can beat them, stretch them down back without Rance

West Coast = loss

That moment in the last when Duursma took the ball and leaned forward into turbo burst speed reminded me of a Port player but I just can't think who.

Bruce Light? Greg Anderson? Craig Bradley? Dunno but it sent the spidey senses tingling.

Separating the man from his current club affiliation, his gait reminds me a bit of Scott Camporeale on the wing.

Also, Mel Michael in a losing team.

Watts - feel for the guy, is he out of contract end of the year? If serious could be a career ending one? :(

A 'neutral' crow... an oxymoron in these parts.
I think Watts has another year on contract after this one.
I agree I think we will go 1-2 over the next 3.
I think we 'should' beat Richmond at home given their injury troubles.
I think Brisbane and West Coast will belt us.

We're gonna get some reality checks real soon. It's pretty clear. Enjoy the two wins because who knows what the next few weeks hold.

A side with this low level of experience will definitely have some shockers.

A 'neutral' crow... an oxymoron in these parts.
I think Watts has another year on contract after this one.
I agree I think we will go 1-2 over the next 3.
I think we 'should' beat Richmond at home given their injury troubles.
I think Brisbane and West Coast will belt us.
Can confirm was neutral 😁 maybe even 60/40 towards PA... Carlton losing as many good for us and happy wife happy life!

Sidenote what was that guy thinking saying no to that girl ! Batting above his average Don Bradman vs Courtney Walsh style.

We're gonna get some reality checks real soon. It's pretty clear. Enjoy the two wins because who knows what the next few weeks hold.

A side with this low level of experience will definitely have some shockers.

To add to that, IMHO probably worth enjoying the ride rather than self-immolating because we didn’t knock off a plucky Carlton side 2 players down in the wet by 50 points.

Completely agree. I thought we did ok.

I have no idea why we /Jonas won toss and kicked into the wind . A few days before the game I said we would win by 8-10 goals. An hour or two before I headed off to the game I said the wind will be a factor, like at Richmond Oval for the Maggies on Friday night but the forecast said it wont rain so it will be a 5 goal game.

The rain came and no surprise it cut my predicted margin in half again. Train in record summer heat, hot game at the MCG and then that shit weather for first home game.

Carlton with the wind
32 inside 50's for 9.3

Carlton into the wind
21 inside 50's for 2.3 inc Hoff smashing the ball right into Simpson's arm with a minute to go and goaled 30m out.

Port with the wind, 2nd time with it plenty of rain
38 Inside 50's 8.5

Port into the wind
32 inside 50's 5.5

We are still too inefficient inside our 50, and our gamestyle is not suited to wet weather footy. We handball too much when the footy is a piece of soap after rain, and we aren't that smart at playing a basic footy, wet weather, territory game.

Unless we improve over winter, we wont go far playing finals if its wet in September.

Don't forget either that we had a 7 day break compared to their 9 day break whilst our game was played last week in 31 degree heat with humidity.

Early in the season, yes. But it was still a solid win given the circumstances.

Maybe it's just me being hopeful because the Crows have their first rounder, but I don't think Carlton are the easybeats they were last year anymore. Don't think they'll make finals or anything just yet but I can see them having a similar year to 2018 Brisbane. And I'm backing them to beat the Swans next week.

Weitering very impressive yesterday. Gave Westhoff a bath. Thought Plowman, Dow and SPS were good too. Brisbane 2018 still finished bottom 4 I think but I agree the trajectory in performance appears positive for them. Keep in mind that Thomas, Murphy, Lobbe and Simpson are probably in their final seasons of decent footy so the future is still a bit murky.

That moment in the last when Duursma took the ball and leaned forward into turbo burst speed reminded me of a Port player but I just can't think who.

Bruce Light? Greg Anderson? Craig Bradley? Dunno but it sent the spidey senses tingling.

I think I have nailed the Duursma comparison. Andrew Embley

I keep seeing Jason Davenport

Yeah but he ain't no Duursma.
FWIW I was a 'Butters boy' last week. But this week I'm a 'Duursma dude'.
It's like the Beatles and all those girls in the 60s in tears because they would fight about which of the Fab 4 was the hottest.

Quoted for first use of “Fab 4” in relation to our four midfield newbies. I prefer “Gang of Four” but that might not sit well with the China marketing folks ;)

————
The map is not the terrain.

Quoted for first use of “Fab 4” in relation to our four midfield newbies. I prefer “Gang of Four” .....
See I want 'The Three Musketeers'* because that story was actually about four men with one having a slight difference in his back story to the others. But to come off it requires everyone here to have read the book or seen one of the many film or TV versions to understand the relevance.

* I know I've made a 'Three Musketeers' reference somewhere else on here recently, can't remember where. Have to limit myself doing it once a week.

One positive is that even with Carlton coming back in the 3rd, last couple of seasons we would have capitulated and would have been a 2-3 goal loss even with us kicking a couple of late ones.

First home games are the best.

There's a buzz in the crowd; fans are bursting with enthusiasm and optimism for the year to come; fresh faces and fresh ideas bring fresh hope. I mean, yeah, it nearly always turns to shit. But we should enjoy the moment while we can.

Caught up on some BigFooty on the train ride in. Two of my fave things on this board: when finbarr tees off on Tex and when Power Girl arks up at some unsuspecting poster (but especially thundercloud.) I was sitting there on the strangely empty Gawler Central giggling my ass off.

Had some time to kill before the first bounce so I swung by the comic book store and picked up the epic Detective Comics #1000 issue. Also nabbed a sweet reprint of The Incredible Hulk #181 (oh hai, Wolverine!) Old school Marvel title design, hnnnnnng.

The Kids Are All Right.

Duursma is much bigger than I thought. A pretty solid unit for an 18yo. Looks like keeping the fine tradition of #21 in my lifetime started with Craig Bradley, my favourite player of all-time and for all eternity.

Butters is a smart little player. That goal in the third term to put us back in front was pretty clutch. So calm and composed for a young player, he kinda reminds me of [AFTER MUCHO BEDWETTING THIS OFF-SEASON I NEVER WANNA READ HIS NAME ON THIS BOARD EVER AGAIN AND THE SAME GOES FOR HIS MATE.]

The whiplash he got to win the free was vintage Wangas. The free was definitely there and he made sure the ump definitely saw it. That he didn't play the rest of the game wearing a neckbrace is testament to his toughness.

Every time someone in the crowd yells out some dumb shit, I wonder "which campaigner from BigFooty is that?"

Every time someone in the crowd yells out "Man up, Port!" I see Janus, sitting in the row behind them, tapping them on the shoulder and dressing down the tactically illiterate shitgibbon with a dissertation on zones and structure and strategy and analytics and heat-maps and shit.

Beer. Flavoured. Water.

The evil geniuses at the SMA might've stumbled onto something there. This crazy concoction could revolutionise the cold beverage industry. Seriously, how watered down is the beer? What size is that shit? Is it even a schooner? And they be nine-fiddy farken.

Who the hell wears #3? Legit have nfi who it is. Don't tell me, I'll work it out. Eventually. Damn good player but they're as faceless as an office worker in a check shirt 'n' chinos. Bomber Clifford will always be #3 for me anyway.

Boak is back, bitches!

Tom Rockliff baffles me. Hardly see him for the whole day. Then I find out he's had a million touches.

Jack Watts, you poor bastard. Here's hoping for the best worst case scenario. Fingers crossed.

FYI, the sixty-something, barrel-shaped silver fox who wore sneans with the same silver Port jacket I be pimpin? It wasn't me.

TBH, the game held less interest for me than the drama of my niece being outed in a couple of online articles. Actually, my niece didn't give a shit. She likes boys and girls, that ain't in question. Except by her Mum, my sister. My sister has long opined with her big fat ignorant mouth that bisexuals don't exist and anyone who claims to be one is full of shit and just "greedy."

My sister is a f@%king imbecile.

Anyway, she's in complete denial rn, clinging desperately to my niece identifying as queer who doesn't 100% fit in with any sexuality. Did lol when her other daughter said to her:

MUM, YOU HAVE TO ACCEPT, THAT AT ONE POINT, [YOUR DAUGHTER] HAS F@%KED AT LEAST ONE GIRL!!!

At no point did I ever think we were gonna lose that game. Even in the third quarter when Carlton got a run-on. Our blokes are really playing together and for each other. Are they just teasing us with what they're capable of? Dunno. I don't think so. Already such a vastly different side from last year.

Goddamn this club. No matter how much it pisses me off, I just can't stay away. The club is greater than the individual and all that (still have the massive shits with the media/marketing team, tho.)

The swanky new bar at my local was pumping on the way home. Was gonna pop in and put out my aura and get dragged to the toilets by some skank glamour/MILF/cougar within fifteen minutes but eh, I'm too old for that pick up then sneak out first thing in the morning shit. So I just did that swipe on Tinder, get a few matches to boost the fragile male ego then delete my account first thing in the morning shit.

Barracked against the Blues at Adelaide Oval yesterday. Today I'll barrack for the Blues at Adelaide Oval. lol, not really, I really don't give a shit about the AFLW. But still.

CARN BLUES!!!

I was thinking Duursma looked like a little Brad Ebert . Made me sing the old Elvis song Little Egypt .
Had me singing 🎤 Little Ebert came a strutting, through the middle kicked a very long goa o woo o woo o l “

giphy.gif
Reckon he checks himself on the big screen. Mint.

What the **** was with that goal review?

Did they just chicken out and go with umpires original call?

It’s not a Port hole game without a review of one of our goals. We don’t get anywhere near as many in our away games. It’s baffling.

Everyone at the ground thought it was a goal