Review Round 2, 2019 vs Carlton

Duursma doesn't do it for me at the moment. Needs to stop second guessing himself, couple of times he just shut down and let himself be tackled. He's good in open space but so is every other player.

Give me Butters and Rozee over Walsh any day.

He covers the ground like Bradley and similar look - but he has nothing of the poise and balance - I like the kid but he he’s no Bradley

Got some real wheels though!
That 1st qtr rundown of a Carlton player, when he came from 40 metres back to almost get there, had the hairs on the back of my neck standing up. Crowd starting going "whoaaa".
Looked like a blond haired Usain Bolt. :p

I had low expectations at the start of the season. Thought we'd finish well out of the top 8. Now I'm feeling a bit more optimistic. Think we'll finish just outside the 8 but there's a chance we could sneak in. We look like a better side than last year. The new players and new coaches have made a difference.

I think our weakpoint is our defence. I can see it leaking goals. It could come down to whether our more attacking style of football can compensate by kicking enough goals
I agree - we’re playing a better style, but historically our results early in the season tend to be strong and then we start to come back to the pack between rounds 3-5. Last year’s round 3 fixture was the narrow win against Brisbane and the first sign really that we just weren’t that good.

I’m not convinced about us finishing with a better win-loss record this year but I like what we’re trying to do. We keep our shape around the ground well and use it by spreading the footy around.

The things that still get me are our forward 50 entries, forward 50 congestion and lack of a reliable tall forward post-Schulz.

Dixon may have made a difference yesterday - certainly would have offered more than Marshall - while Westhoff just had one of those days. We could really do with more of Westhoff from last week. Direct leading, clean marking, accurate goal kicking.

I agree - we’re playing a better style, but historically our results early in the season tend to be strong and then we start to come back to the pack between rounds 3-5. Last year’s round 3 fixture was the narrow win against Brisbane and the first sign really that we just weren’t that good.

I’m not convinced about us finishing with a better win-loss record this year but I like what we’re trying to do. We keep our shape around the ground well and use it by spreading the footy around.

The things that still get me are our forward 50 entries, forward 50 congestion and lack of a reliable tall forward post-Schulz.

Dixon may have made a difference yesterday - certainly would have offered more than Marshall - while Westhoff just had one of those days. We could really do with more of Westhoff from last week. Direct leading, clean marking, accurate goal kicking.

Agree, 2nd half yesterday would have helped having Dixon there throwing his weight around when it got congested inside 50.

Hopefully we get Charlie back for some of the mid-winter slog.

Well I only saw it on the Fox coverage at the time.

There’s no Port tax. Don’t you know that all of the biases reported by every club’s supporters multiply together and cancel each other out? Einstein came up with a formula for it: flog(n)^n=0.
True, but portflog(n)^n=hanging.

That moment in the last when Duursma took the ball and leaned forward into turbo burst speed reminded me of a Port player but I just can't think who.

Bruce Light? Greg Anderson? Craig Bradley? Dunno but it sent the spidey senses tingling.

Our talls struggled yesterday. Only one goal from them, and that was Lycett. Our ball movement into the 50 looks better than last year, but that's not hard coming off such a low base.

Yesterday Ebert and Rozee kicked 5 between them. New goal scoring avenues that we didn't have last year.

Better scoring options up forward and better ball movement I hope will translate into more goals.

Our talls struggled yesterday. Only one goal from them, and that was Lycett. Our ball movement into the 50 looks better than last year, but that's not hard coming off such a low base.

Yesterday Ebert and Rozee kicked 5 between them. New goal scoring avenues that we didn't have last year.

Better scoring options up forward and better ball movement I hope will translate into more goals.

There was just no space for those guys to move. We had control of the ball so much and a lot of the time it was played in our half so we were constantly trying to navigate through heavy traffic.

300 games OK. 250, nah.
Next they'd be staying out for players having birthdays that week, though if there's cake involved perhaps OK after all.

I did see Cripps go see if Watts was ok on the stretcher though.
I was on banner duty for Blues and had some great chats with your banner people. Good bunch of men and women.
I hope you guys keep playing the young fellas. We had to last year when we probably didn't want to because of all of our injuries. But I think it had more benefits than negatives on their careers.

Anyway I don't want to outstay a welcome so good luck for the rest of the season.

giphy.gif
RIFOM. Loved it.

There was just no space for those guys to move. We had control of the ball so much and a lot of the time it was played in our half so we were constantly trying to navigate through heavy traffic.
Agree with this. Carlton flooded so hard and just played counter attack footy. Nightmare for our talk forwards.

That moment in the last when Duursma took the ball and leaned forward into turbo burst speed reminded me of a Port player but I just can't think who.

Bruce Light? Greg Anderson? Craig Bradley? Dunno but it sent the spidey senses tingling.
Simon Tregenza

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

I think I was at a different game?

Why do people feel the need to constantly whine and focus on negatives?
I agree, a really good win in tough windy wet conditions. Do people just think it's always going to be clean pretty footy..

Also I haven't enjoyed watching us play for like that for a few years. Entertaining style of footy.

I did see Cripps go see if Watts was ok on the stretcher though.
I was on banner duty for Blues and has some great chats with your banner people. Good bunch of men and women.
I hope you guys keep playing the young fellas. We had to last year when we probably didn't want to because of all of our injuries. But I think it had more benefits than negatives on their careers.

Anyway I don't want to outstay a welcome so good luck for the rest of the season.
Good on Cripps. Would love to have him in our team.
Gee you have accumulated some good young talent and pushed us all the way yesterday, as I expected.
.Start winning mate. We are behind you in your quest.

Also, SMA get your shit together.

Used a transferred pass for my son (thank you Wind Power ) and the barcode (square Q code type) wouldn't scan at the turnstile.

So after going back to every ticketing booth window it turned out the only fix was via the membership tent which had a thousand people signing up.

We were about to go buy a GA ticket when some champion fella gave us one extra. Got there just in time for the start but what a stressful 20 minutes.

Secondly, the bars and food stalls seemed grossly undermanned.
A lot of the independent food stalls have disappeared from the members side. What was it like in other parts of the ground? Squeezed out by the SMA no doubt.

Trigger

He was another one who came to mind. Maybe my first thought. Those are supposed to be the ones you back. Still he looks more Lighty in appearance.

Good on Cripps. Would love to have him in our team.
Gee you have accumulated some good young talent and pushed us all the way yesterday, as I expected.
.Start winning mate. We are behind you in your quest.

Also another highlight for me was the Cheersquad singing the Saints song when we heard they beat Essendon. A lot of the Power supporters joined in. It was pretty funny. Good night out. I find the Power supporters much more friendly than the Crows ones, just between you and me.

On the talls, as the game got on conditions made it harder for them, if you look across the board, besides lycett, who looked amazing, hoff, Ryder, Marshall, Phillips, Mckay, McGovern all had quieter second halves. Tough conditions for the taller blokes as the rain set in and it got very slippery.

He was another one who came to mind. Maybe my first thought. Those are supposed to be the ones you back. Still he looks more Lighty in appearance.

Actually he looks and runs like Mark Warton a bit