Play Nice Bye Bye Brad [v4.0] - IT'S HAPPENING!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Mav

Precisely. He went on to talk about rule changes and then admitted how poor we were at center bounce clearances. Admitted we got too far ahead ourselves which was good to see, but jeez mate, stop getting your sums wrong beforehand.

It was basically a complete 360 pardon the pun from the presser after the game.

Tried to say that Brisbane scored more than us from centre bounces after the game. Then tonight says that those last three goals didn’t actually influence the outcome, albeit direct from centre clearances.

This bloke has ****ing statistically m9’d himself - like I’ve posted previously. Sports science and statistics are great but gee you better be flexible at comprehension of them otherwise you get too ingrained and focussed on one aspect.

There’s only one stat that’s telling atm

21 wins from our last 60 games

Been a reserve seat member for 16 years. Did not renew this year. BS is a fraud. As long he is around I am not.
And I think there are lot more like me in this situation. I actually enjoy watching other teams now. NM are a joke at the moment.
Ben Buckley sends out an email about connecting with supporters, etc. I wanted to reply to him but email address is from membership dept.
We have been infiltrated, We need to be shipped off to Tassie. Goodbye and shut the door on the way out, thanks.

Been a reserve seat member for 16 years. Did not renew this year. BS is a fraud. As long he is around I am not.
And I think there are lot more like me in this situation. I actually enjoy watching other teams now. NM are a joke at the moment.
Ben Buckley sends out an email about connecting with supporters, etc. I wanted to reply to him but email address is from membership dept.
We have been infiltrated, We need to be shipped off to Tassie. Goodbye and shut the door on the way out, thanks.
Pretty sure its ben.buckley@nmfc.com.au but guessing his PA plays gatekeeper.

A few of us on here used to email Dean Laidley back in the day until the day one of us got this response

“Stop emailing this address”

Do you really think Ben Buckley gives a sh't about North? Comes across as a corporate type sent in to kill the club.

Hang on, I can cop us giving Bon a swing cause he ****ing sucks but Ben is good at his shit.

He is connected and has the club at a business level in working order. And to say he doesn't give a shit is frankly just untrue.

Hang on, I can cop us giving Bon a swing cause he ****ing sucks but Ben is good at his shit.

He is connected and has the club at a business level in working order. And to say he doesn't give a shit is frankly just untrue.

He loves the club. That’s a fact Jack! Time will tell if he’s the right man to lead us through the inevitable changes coming in the next couple of years.

No wonder Heath bailed on us. :stern look

Some embarrassing comments leveled at people who are doing everything in their power to make the club a successful one. Yeah, our membership department is diabolic, whatever we are trying to do on-field is an abject failure, sure Brad doesn't seem to look like he knows what he is doing, sure you can be upset at where we are at. I know footy is a passionate game, however, you need to take the emotion out of the evaluation and posting and stop with the abuse of people who deserve better. If you bumped into Buckley at the club or a game and he engaged with you and asked you what you thought I doubt you would carry on and be abusive to his face, he doesn't deserve that. Brad doesn't deserve that.

I honestly wish Brad turns things around and whatever his gameplan is clicks and we at least can be proud of what we achieve on-field, I didn't think he was the right man for the job and I wished we went with a different person but I wish I am wrong whenever I make what is a negative call about anything associated with the club. Some comments here make us collectively look like campaigners and it drags everyone down associated with BF.

Some embarrassing comments leveled at people who are doing everything in their power to make the club a successful one. Yeah, our membership department is diabolic, whatever we are trying to do on-field is an abject failure, sure Brad doesn't seem to look like he knows what he is doing, sure you can be upset at where we are at. I know footy is a passionate game, however, you need to take the emotion out of the evaluation and posting and stop with the abuse of people who deserve better. If you bumped into Buckley at the club or a game and he engaged with you and asked you what you thought I doubt you would carry on and be abusive to his face, he doesn't deserve that. Brad doesn't deserve that.

I honestly wish Brad turns things around and whatever his gameplan is clicks and we at least can be proud of what we achieve on-field, I didn't think he was the right man for the job and I wished we went with a different person but I wish I am wrong whenever I make what is a negative call about anything associated with the club. Some comments here make us collectively look like campaigners and it drags everyone down associated with BF.

These first 2 weeks have been an embarrassment on field and off and plenty of posters on here have followed that example to the letter.

Good god spin central on 360.

Nearly spat out my tea when he said the last three goals in the game weren't the deciders.

Wtf is this **** on about. I spin bs for a living and jesus that was too cute by half.
I do remember a game a few years ago when North lost and either Turner or Simpkin did nothing for 3/4 and 20 minutes; their possesions were in single figures. In the last 10-minutes of the game when the opposition put the que in the rack, up bobbed either Turner or Simpkin to kick 2 goals that were meaningless for the result, but Brad in the after game interview held them up as BOG for us! FFS if doing nothing for most of the game, having single possession figures and kicking a few goals in the dying minutes of a game is considered BOG for North, then we are f***ed! As a matter of fact, i'd be willing to put on a jumper at 3/4 time if the wife held my beer, kick a few goals and get a pat on the back from BS!

Last edited by a moderator:

They can keep on trying hard, but they are simply not good enough. We are on a death spiral and need change. These hard working people have had their chance. The club is going backwards. Times up,

Like, all of them? Literally everyone working at the club?

Apologies up front on the length of this post.

Scott comes from the Malthouse school of coaches who have been about as successful as Eddy the Eagle. One of his cohorts in Buckley has reached a grand final but it took the Pies to completely stack their midfield with quality ball users to carry out the high possession game style the Malthouse Apprentices adopt. Even then, the Clarkson Apprentice, Simpson beat the Pies in the granny.

On one side you have the high possession game with handball utilised across half back to transition the ball versus the kicking to contests and getting numbers around the ball to continue move the ball game plan. On the defensive side of things, the Malthouse clan generally use zoning while Clarko's crew are more one on one but get a man lose in defence to re-bound. Brisbane are now adopting this strategy being a disciple of Clarkson. I will give Buckly some credit, he has adapted his game plan defensively recently to be more man focus by adding pressure around the contest with quick role players.

Right now, I do not even know what our defenisve strategy is. I think it is supposed to be zoning but in today's game with precision dispisal skills, the zoning strategy is for the tip. Right now, I think defensively we are constantly caught in no mans land when we turn it over, only Brisabne's sloppiness kept us in it in the first half but once they tidied that up, they dominated. It also doesn't help that we only laid 38 tackles meaning Brisbane had time to dispose and picked us apart with loose players everywhere in transition. This is our single biggest issue as opposition teams know they just need to pressure us and regain the ball and they will have easy access to goals becuase defensivly we offer no resistance.

My support for Scott over the past 2 years was based on improvement I started to see in the defensive space but that has completely fallen away and that could be a change in focus from Scott, players inability to carry it out or the fact the players have lost faith in what Scott is preaching. Either way, a change has to be made because sometimes you just need a circuit breaker and moving on the coach is that circuit breaker.

Our club reeks of mediocrity across the board right now so it is incumbant on Ben Buckley and Carl Dilena to make some tough decisions on Scott and if they're not capable then they can also clean their desks out as far as im concerned because they are not thinkiing about the impact this is having on the club and it's members. 10 years is enough and if they do not act, they are being grossly irresponsible as the current guardians of our club.

It's not just we're caught out in bad positions when we lose the ball - I notice so many players get sucked up to the ball carrier, leaving space behind for a handpass or short kick over the top for the next opposition player in the chain.

Our low tackle count isn't just 'effort', there is a clear directive in some instances to just commit to pressure for the sake of it, rather than sticking a tackle or keeping defensive shape.

It's wildly infuriating.

Apologies up front on the length of this post.

Scott comes from the Malthouse school of coaches who have been about as successful as Eddy the Eagle. One of his cohorts in Buckley has reached a grand final but it took the Pies to completely stack their midfield with quality ball users to carry out the high possession game style the Malthouse Apprentices adopt. Even then, the Clarkson Apprentice, Simpson beat the Pies in the granny.

On one side you have the high possession game with handball utilised across half back to transition the ball versus the kicking to contests and getting numbers around the ball to continue move the ball game plan. On the defensive side of things, the Malthouse clan generally use zoning while Clarko's crew are more one on one but get a man lose in defence to re-bound. Brisbane are now adopting this strategy being a disciple of Clarkson. I will give Buckly some credit, he has adapted his game plan defensively recently to be more man focus by adding pressure around the contest with quick role players.

Right now, I do not even know what our defenisve strategy is. I think it is supposed to be zoning but in today's game with precision dispisal skills, the zoning strategy is for the tip. Right now, I think defensively we are constantly caught in no mans land when we turn it over, only Brisabne's sloppiness kept us in it in the first half but once they tidied that up, they dominated. It also doesn't help that we only laid 38 tackles meaning Brisbane had time to dispose and picked us apart with loose players everywhere in transition. This is our single biggest issue as opposition teams know they just need to pressure us and regain the ball and they will have easy access to goals becuase defensivly we offer no resistance.

My support for Scott over the past 2 years was based on improvement I started to see in the defensive space but that has completely fallen away and that could be a change in focus from Scott, players inability to carry it out or the fact the players have lost faith in what Scott is preaching. Either way, a change has to be made because sometimes you just need a circuit breaker and moving on the coach is that circuit breaker.

Our club reeks of mediocrity across the board right now so it is incumbant on Ben Buckley and Carl Dilena to make some tough decisions on Scott and if they're not capable then they can also clean their desks out as far as im concerned because they are not thinkiing about the impact this is having on the club and it's members. 10 years is enough and if they do not act, they are being grossly irresponsible as the current guardians of our club.

Fantastic summary. I hope the people in charge take their roles seriously, they are potentially hurting the greater club out of perhaps well-founded sensitivity towards some individual(s).

Bit of a Tuesday morning cheer up for the board!

'Going to make you proud'
Mar 7, 2019 10:27AM

070319_ScottLarge.jpg

North Melbourne's much-hyped recruiting drive has had the added bonus of allowing the club's established and emerging stars to fly under the radar, coach Brad Scott says.
At an upbeat Kangaroos' season launch at the Melbourne Pavilion on Wednesday night, Scott also issued a warning to the football world: underestimate the Kangaroos at your peril.
The Roos confounded the critics last year to finish ninth after being just outside the top four at the halfway point, and their coach is buoyed by what he has hailed as the "best character group" he has ever coached.
North's busy off-season netted ex-Port Adelaide duo Jared Polec and Jasper Pittard, former Sun Aaron Hall and ex-Demon Dom Tyson, a quartet that will add further quality and depth to the club's running brigade – and remove pressure from some of their new teammates.
"All the talk about North has been about our new recruits – Aaron Hall, Jared Polec, Jasper Pittard, Dom Tyson, Tom Campbell – and then that flowed on to our draft recruits (with) a lot of talk about Bailey Scott and Tarryn Thomas," Scott told the Kangaroos faithful.
"I think that's great for a number of reasons. Firstly because these players add some serious capability to our list, they've been fantastic players to coach and I know they're going to have a huge impact on our football club. So that's attracted a lot of attention and I think rightly so.
"But there's another reason I'm really glad these guys have attracted a lot of attention from the experts: there hasn't been a lot of talk about Jack Ziebell, Ben Cunnington, Ben Brown, Shaun Higgins, Robbie Tarrant, Jamie Macmillan, Todd Goldstein, and the list goes on."
North's list was in "really good shape", said Scott, who highlighted that most experts would be "blissfully unaware" of the impressive progress of rising stars such as midfielder Jy Simpkin, second-year young gun Luke Davies-Uniacke, defender Ed Vickers-Willis and tall backman Ben McKay.
"It's going to be, hopefully, quite a task to pick a team for round one, but what a great position we would be in if we have to make some really tough calls. We made some tough calls last week and we're still working out what that best combination looks like," Scott said.
The event started with a stirring video highlighting the naysayers who had derided North's hopes leading into 2018, only for the Roos to shock everyone for the bulk of the season. Scott continued this theme.
"As the video earlier shows, you write North Melbourne off at your peril," he declared.
"So let them gloss over our list, let them underestimate us again, let them play down expectations on our team, let them call us outside chances, because that's what we thrive on.
"Talk, at the end of the day, is cheap. So I would stress to everyone, no point in getting into arguments, no point arguing with people who question our list (and) our chances.
"I am coaching a group that, as a whole, is the best character group I have ever coached. They are a fantastic group of men and I know they're going to make you proud in 2019.
"Some might say it's about proving people wrong, but really it's just about executing what we've been working on in the pre-season. And I know that if we can (do that), season 2019 looks fantastic for us."

The Kangaroos play their final JLT Community Series game against Port Adelaide – the former club of both Polec and Pittard – at Alberton on Saturday.
In round one they face Fremantle in Perth on Sunday March 24.

Some embarrassing comments leveled at people who are doing everything in their power to make the club a successful one.

.............and here I was thinking they got paid to do it.

I remember watching tackle after tackle being one handed, low effort, easily broken and just wishing someone would get a solid one in. Seconds later someone in the backline, too far to see and i buried my head in my hands right after, goes way over the top and dumps a guy who doesnt have the ball, free kick against.

Almost felt like one of those comedy sports movies.

I don't mind people coming to that conclusion or having that opinion and wanting to see change, however, we can articulate it in a way that isn't insulting or disrespectful. At the end of the day I think results matter, if you have been chugging along at around 50% W/L for quite some time and have already been through one rebuild then I am not sure what possible ground anyone has to believe you are anything more than average. Average is a lot better than shithouse and there have been a lot of shithouse coaches over the years so I don't think he should be treated like he has been shithouse.