Play Nice Bye Bye Brad [v4.0] - IT'S HAPPENING!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Mav

I haven’t seen Hawks play this year but had a conversion tonight with a Crowd man mate:
“After seeing how bad the Hawks were against the Crows Inwon a shit load of cash on The Doggies. Sure Hawks beat us but it was more of case if we lost it”

If we lose to the Hawks the after game media presser should be Crocker telling us all he pushed Scott under a bus.

Given our current circumstances and the current position of our list, in addition to the fact that things can change very quickly in footy (for better and worse), I would implement the following if I was in control of the NMFC:

Assuming we are 0-4 in two weeks, Brad Scott’s new KPI’s for 2019 are

1- main focus on getting games into kids, as long as it’s not detrimental to their development. Particular focus on McKay, Durdin and Watson. And Larkey.

2- do everything possible to have all players ready to go for pre season 2020 day 1. For example, that means not playing ziebell for the last 5 weeks if he is carrying ANYTHING that can be fixed with surgery. Ie not playing Daw with a broken foot etc. on this I’d pull the pin on Daw for 2019, same with Jacobs, Walker. The exception is Garner who should still aim to play in the first half of the year. If he hasn’t been able to, try something different with his rehab (send him somewhere to try a different approach).

3- ensure the club is well positioned to bring in elite young talent via the draft. Maybe look at trading 2020 first rounder for a 2019 first rounder.

4- work on trying to convince a KPD to come across via free agency

5- beating the drug cheats on Good Friday

The above criteria would be Scott and list managements areas of assessment.

In 2020, I would tell Scott his next contract would be based on win/loss at the 2/3 mark of the season. If he hasn’t met the criteria his contract won’t be renewed and we enter the market for a new coach and Scott can start looking for his next job.
If we go 0-4 he should be given goals 1,3 and 5 and told he will never get a new contract.
11 years is plenty

How is there any actual supporters of him? 11 years and we're back to the start of trying to surprise people predicting poor performance by achieving a middling mediocrity finish...

Just googled it. Shaun Atley 178 Brad Scott games for 2 career Brownlow votes.

Blokes who have more? Sam Day. Peter Wright. Mason Cox. Liam Jones (just whilst at Carlton!). Shaun McKernan (just whilst at Essendon!). Oliver Florent in just 34 games (way better than Simpkin to this point). Aliir Aliir in 30. Marley in his 37 North games. Jack Watts in his Port Adelaide career. Adam Cerra in 1 season. Mark Hutchings, a tagger, has the same amount.

Not ragging on all those guys - plenty of footy talent in those, but those who have the talent are also very raw/new, while Jones/McKernan types are similarly limited.

Scott era is represented perfectly by the Macmillan, McDonald, Atley types. It'd be easier to cop still playing Harvey/Wells/Dal Santo/Petrie til their 45 than these blokes week in week out for the last 6 years and the next 5.

Just the vibe hey.

Does 9 years of mid table finishes (I mean, sure we finished top 4 after finals a couple of times - but it takes a once in a generation/lifetime miracle to win a flag from outside the top 4 in the H&A so let's not try to rely on that) not count as enough figures? If the player development is good, why then do the H&A ladder finishes appear as so: 9, 9, 8, 10, 6, 8, 8, 15, 9? Not looking likely to improve to a flag contending position in the 10th season.

A 50.7% winning record.

So he's rebuilding. Again. Why did he have to carry an ageing list of multiple 30+ year olds of Harvey, Petrie, Wells, Dal Santo, Firrito, Gibson, Waite to scrape into 8th and hope for a good finals run and a miracle?

Why have earlier guys like McDonald, Atley, Wood never got past sheer average tier players, and guys like Durdin, Simpkin are lineball to make it as players and no chance to make it as stars. McKenzie, Curran, Harper, Black, Bastinac, Mullet, Wagner, Clarke, Neilsen have all been crossed and spat out.

Who are wins? Brown, whose story shows it's more his sheer work ethic than it is any coach development. Jacobs, Daw. Anderson (although fits into the Daw category of no long-term success as a player yet - just short-term). Tarrant a win. Dumont another Anderson/Daw. Williams.

Even then going forward - are they really a core flag list of players? Considering Tarrant is going to be gone/phased out in the short-term future. Brown, a chronically injured Jacobs, Daw, Anderson, Dumont, Williams.

It's outweighed by the volume of failure to either fulfil potential or to make it at all. Actually, no, it's not outweighed - they cancel each other out. Because why would Scott be anything more than middling, average, mediocre.

Do yourselves a favour and search the closed thread from May 2012 that Funky started and titled “10 years of mediocrity and counting”

Its so relevant 8 years on!

I would’ve bumped it but like i said its locked, lots of good posts in there, but this is what I said back then..

Yes totally agree and over the past couple of years we are being handed the '9th team' mantle from Richmond it's far from over.

We are floating aimlessly in the middle of the ladder once again because over the past 10 years we haven't been allowed to completely bottom out whereas the richer teams i.e. Eagles, Pies, Cats, Hawks, Blues of the AFL world could do this simply because they could afford to.

What this means is that when they bottom out they get the cream of the crop; ala Pendlebury, Murphy, Bartel, Buddy, Hodge, Natinui (in years to come), etc..
These are usually the players that when the game is in the balance their incredible will power and footy smarts (that defines them as the cream) gets their team over the line and the media tag them as 'match winners". We don't have any match winners..

To state the obvious if we keep finishing 9th we will keeping get the 9th best player as our first pick in the draft. Other teams around us will be doing the natural cycle of bottoming out and picking up the best kids in the land before reaching the highest of highs a few years later, meanwhile we tread water not necessarily getting worse yet not improving either.

Our current crop of kids will improve no doubt but teams that are bottoming out now will have their D. Swallows, Bennells and Coniglios firing and beating us by the time our group are expected to peak and then Geelong, Western Bulldogs and Saint Kilda would be expected to bottom out, meanwhile we are stuck mid table without any consistent 'match winners'.

I feel we are in a serious trouble of becoming the most insignificant club in the league.

In years to come we will over inflate the true ability of our teams, the media will expect us to battle in their future preseason summaries and the good sides will expect to belt us during the season... the sad thing is, this has already been happening for a couple of years now, the only difference now is the crap teams are expecting to beat us and they are..

The only bit I take exception to Shermanator is this:

We are floating aimlessly in the middle of the ladder once again because over the past 10 years we haven't been allowed to completely bottom out whereas the richer teams i.e. Eagles, Pies, Cats, Hawks, Blues of the AFL world could do this simply because they could afford to.

This has always struck me as myth having never seen any confirmation North coaches were told not to go with full bore youth policies.

I think it's more a case of coaches starting to overrate their chances or get impatient and start signing off some desperate trade moves at the cost of draft position.

To be fair one thing Brad hasn't done that both Denis AND Dean sinned at badly was repeatedly butchering our draft picks for ultimately failed trades.

The only bit I take exception to Shermanator is this:

This has always struck me as myth having never seen any confirmation North coaches were told not to go with full bore youth policies.

I think it's more a case of coaches starting to overrate their chances or get impatient and start signing off some desperate trade moves at the cost of draft position.

To be fair one thing Brad hasn't done that both Denis AND Dean sinned at badly was repeatedly butchering our draft picks for ultimately failed trades.

Came to type almost word for word the same thing. Do not agree with this “theory” and never have. IMHO it is a copout to allow certain parties to justify average performances over and over. We may or may not need to bottom out but using the fear of it as an excuse for why we can’t finish top 4 is exactly that – an excuse.

Does 9 years of mid table finishes (I mean, sure we finished top 4 after finals a couple of times - but it takes a once in a generation/lifetime miracle to win a flag from outside the top 4 in the H&A so let's not try to rely on that) not count as enough figures? If the player development is good, why then do the H&A ladder finishes appear as so: 9, 9, 8, 10, 6, 8, 8, 15, 9? Not looking likely to improve to a flag contending position in the 10th season.

Funny thing when you average out our ladder H&A finish under BS we are sitting at 9.1, makes me regret referring to Richmond as Ninethmond for all these years, well almost :)

In his presser today he said Jy got to the right spots last week but the ball just didn’t bounce the right way. So its all fine, once the ball starts bouncing our way we’re set!

We'll probably win narrowly this week and he will get another 5 year extension, goodbye North, welcome Tassie.
Mission will be accomplished. The club will be dead, Ben Buckly and BS will get a bonus.

BREAKING NEWS!

"Forensic examination" reveals "a couple of small tweaks"!

1554368044457.png

Stand by for updates!

I don’t know if anyone heard the Peter Sumich interview with Flog Cornes this morning , but a couple of things left me impressed with this guy

Stepped away from being an assistant, to coach his OWN team

Has a burning desire to coach an afl club

Understands the pressures and demands of young draftees entering the system, has overseen the development of some young guns, namely Jordan Clarke, Oscar Allen, Aaron Naughton

Went into full detail about the rough upbringing of Sydney Stack. The kid went off the rails big time, lived in many homes throughout his youth...and with Sumich’s nurturing, and tough love approach, he will debut tomorrow which seemed almost unrealistic even 6 months ago

He went on to say that if an AFL coach CANT produce a flag within 6/7 years, he should walk away with dignity and grace , he’s had more than enough time
(“ARE YOU LISTENING MALAKA SCOTTS?”)

I was never really a fan of sumich ( maybe because I didn’t know much about his coaching records/ abilities) but I must say he spoke very well, very authoritatively and clearly. No sales pitches, no ambiguity

Must be interviewed post Scotts era

I don’t know if anyone heard the Peter Sumich interview with Flog Cornes this morning , but a couple of things left me impressed with this guy

Understands the pressures and demands of young draftees entering the system, has overseen the development of some young guns, namely Jordan Clarke, Oscar Allen, Aaron Naughton

Went into full detail about the rough upbringing of Sydney Stack. The kid went off the rails big time, lived in many homes throughout his youth...and with Sumich’s nurturing, and tough love approach, he will debut tomorrow which seemed almost unrealistic even 6 months ago

He went on to say that if an AFL coach CANT produce a flag within 6/7 years, he should walk away with dignity and grace , he’s had more than enough time

I was never really a fan of sumich ( maybe because I didn’t know much about his coaching records/ abilities) but I must say he spoke very well, very authoritatively and clearly. No sales pitches, no ambiguity

Ordinarily I'd say 6/7 years is a bit much, 3-4 years usually uncover the flag coaches.

But based on our current predicament, sure he can have 7 years. Hell take 8 years to get there, that'd still be considered a fast track to success at Arden Street.

People keep repeating 21 or 22 wins from 60 games so i counted back 60 games.

In the 22 games before that 60 point game (so to 60 - 82 games ago) we won 19 games and lost 3.

Then we had a complete list turn around or very close to it.

We've had what people would consider a "rebuilt list" for only 2 games really. The people we thought could do the job last year are gone. De listed.

After we won 19 of 22 games we then won 9 of 36 games. In the season since then we won 12 games last year, (with a list we culled hard again). We won most of those 22 games last year. It was something like 10 out of 40 before that. So like it or not he's improved significantly in one season since we "bottomed out" as much as we have done in years.

Using those numbers makes it sound worse than it is. Its verging on propaganda.

No doubt you're all rapt to read that so here's my position

If Scott doesn't improve on his career w/l ratio significantly for this year he shouldn't be re-signed (obviously, unless we play in a GF the next year i spose.)

Which means we need to win 13 or 14 games this year (from here.) At least. That's my position fwiw. I think we can all agree he's got the cattle and the core group to play a few finals this year.

Is he capable of putting together a decent PowerPoint presentation?