Preview Round 4 - Changes/Prematch Discussion vs Adelaide Crows

• Thread starter Thread starter Chadwiko

Season is legitimately over in terms of finals. No point playing guys who aren't part of our mid to long-term future.

Dunno who out, but Larkey, Taylor and Ahern all HAVE to play next week, and not at the expense of anyone under 23.

How filthy are we going to be when these type of players come in and we start winning games. Wasted opportunity of a year.

In: A forward that is tall. Larkey the most likely, don't care about his size. He knows where to run and if they ignore him he will torch teams whether he has AFL size or not. Need to work on a proper (longterm) structure. Only other option is McKay forward but he looks a touch nervous to me, would rather keep him settled unless he's keen.
In: A proper small forward that actually attacks the goals. Taylor, Wilkinson
In: Ahern, so we can win a centre clearance or two without Ben Cunnington.

Out: Jmac - Time to make a stand and to do it with players that are untouchable but letting us down regularly.
Out: Someone small in the forward line to make room for a proper small. On today you'd be looking at Simpkin or Atley.
Out: Whoever to swap for Jed.

fair call - he adds pace and likes a goal - bad time to miss - we should run you blokes back into form whenever we meet unfortunately - we are in a messy transition stage atm - have the ingrediants all there just need to get the recipe and oven temperature right..........
Happy to supply your needs.

Brad needs to make changes, my hope is it isn't Thomas, Bailey or LDU that get sacrificed, we need these young guys playing to get some AFL games under their belts.

If we look around at some of the other clubs in the comp - they've all been able to blood in some youngsters, who have been able to make an immediate impact.

I'm all for playing them, but not under Scott's "gameplan." They will all suffer and lose confidence as a result.

Not sure what the solution is to be honest..

No one is happy with the club at the moment, and to be honest I have lost faith in the current coaching group. Saying all that, I hope a lot of our members rock up against adelaide, as we are bigger than any coaching group and its in the tough times that it matters most that we are there. I would love it if we could organise a way to tell the club we are not happy

Whats the point. The talent isn't the issue. Form isn't either tbh aside from Tarrant/Simpkin.

Ahern needs to play, Jed too. This may make us better on paper but we will still underperform to the capability of the list.

Back em Brad, they have let you down for three weeks, so why not give them a chance to make it four?

********!!!!!!

Geez, that sounds just like our coach.

We've got three first round picks running around in the SANFL while blokes like Mackay and Jenkins continue to hold gold passes.

You can lock Tarrant in for 10+ marks when we repeatedly bomb it into our forward line.

Simpkin was much better today.

Agree. But it is not players. It is system that wreaks. This role crap is crap when the roles don't work. We play dumb. Young players can't be blamed for trying to adapt to the foolishness of the game plan. The first quarter was well coached until the other three where some simple changes by a team playing their weakest side in years could out position us.

I have credit to the theory that it was new players gelling to an extent but it was not that today.

In: coffee cart and work experience boys, Gary Ayres or Tyler durdin
Out: Tudor, McDonald, Gavin brown, Turner forever, Scotts to Harvard course, Tyson unless there are injuries.

McMillan has heaps of lucky bounces that saved him from turning it over. Turner had heaps of opportunities to hit people who were in the right places of only he could kick more than thirty five metres. Rubbish. Can't spoil a taller man and then runs past them. Need to get some firritos.

Joyce did a good job of drafting and trading. Time for Scott to do the right thing and take the next job that will be offered to him hmmph!

No Jarrad Waite, no Brad Scott

Geez, that sounds just like our coach.

We've got three first round picks running around in the SANFL while blokes like Mackay and Jenkins continue to hold gold passes.

You can lock Tarrant in for 10+ marks when we repeatedly bomb it into our forward line.
Jenkins was horrible. Cost you the game from my view. Should have let him go to Brisbane when you would have got something for a discarded Essendon rookie that is now on a rumoured 700k contact.
That being said. Put him out blindfolded this week and he will kick three

Crows by 32

How do we have 4 games in Tassie this year but none before round 9?

We should be asking to play there early in the season in order to get a really good chance for a win to set up our season.

I cant see any way we beat Ade based on what we have seen in JLT and the season proper. Tassie would have given us a good chance but Marvel wont help us

If we look around at some of the other clubs in the comp - they've all been able to blood in some youngsters, who have been able to make an immediate impact.

I'm all for playing them, but not under Scott's "gameplan
." They will all suffer and lose confidence as a result.

Not sure what the solution is to be honest..

I think the solution is right there in front of you.

This is the part thats so completely ******* demoralising for me. I'm not even angry tbh, just so flat. There was so much optimism pre-season.
Yes, why was that, by the way? We'd lost Waite and Majak and brought in 4 new players. That should've been a hint for us.

Yes, why was that, by the way? We'd lost Waite and Majak. That should've been a hint for us.
Haha you might have missed it, but we recruited 4 100 game players in the off season, including 2 of the best rated wingers in the game.

On a serious note though, we were also sold optimism from the club all pre-season, starting with Brad's speech at the Syd last year. Like many, I bought it.

We can’t develop talent. What a joke this club has begun. Sack Scott and start over. Knowing our board they’d hire Donald McDonald

I remember going to the Nab Cup game against Geelong in 2010. Reigning premiers against a very young side and we won against all odds. We attacked the ball, we pressured Geelong like we never did before that. We took the game on, hit pin point passes. Death taps galore to certain goals, it was all happening. Yeah it was Nab Cup and Geelong did comeback, but we played one hell of a game in Brad's first day.

What did Brad say to the group he had then? That was the first time North was exciting for a long time.

We were so daring with a young list, what happened?

Did Brad change his ways to save a bit of his coaching career?

Did we change because it is un-North like to play exciting take-the-game-on footy?

We are so stale right now.